Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
CHEER ATHLETICS logo

Cheer Athletics Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Health & FitnessTXFranchising since 2020
CAverageAverage44/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$607K – $1.3M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00506FDD 2026Data QualityExcellent86%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Cheer Athletics is a youth sports franchise operating competitive cheerleading and tumbling gyms. Franchisees run the facilities, managing coaches, teams, classes, and competitions.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A CHEER ATHLETICS franchise requires a total initial investment of $607K – $1.3M, including a $75K franchise fee and an ongoing 10.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$607K – $1.3M
90th pct Health & Fitn…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
10.0%
88th pct Health & Fitn…
Units
20
53rd pct Health & Fitn…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Health & Fitness · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$607K – $1.3M
Median $392K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$75K – $75K
Median $50K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$140K – $160K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
10.0%
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
13.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
20 units
Median 17 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
3 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Health & Fitness median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $607K – $1.3M including a $75K franchise fee, 10.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 44/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +1 franchised outlets in the latest year (1 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAGBankruptcy history disclosed in the FDD. Review Item 4 for details before proceeding.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Cheer Athletics Holdings, LLC
Parent company
Cheer Athletics Brands, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2026 FDD
Predecessor
Cheer Athletics Brands, LLC (previously sold CA franchises, assigned to franchisor in 2020)
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Manager
Joseph K. Melton
CEO experience
1994 yrs
Years in role or industry
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
TX
HQ
3712 E. Plano Parkway, Bldg B, Suite 100, Plano, Texas 75074
Auditor
Still Burton
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.5M
vs $1.3M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Joseph K. Melton
Headquarters
TX
Founded
2020
FDD year
2026
States available
12

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 140% above the typical health & fitness franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$607K – $1.3MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$75,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty10.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund0.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$140K – $160K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

CHEER ATHLETICS: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$75K$75K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$140K$160K
Equipment, build-out, other$393K$1.0M
Total initial investment$607K$1.3M

Source: CHEER ATHLETICS 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$607K – $1.3M
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$140K – $160K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$75K – $75K
Bottom third — review vs category
Royalty
10.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
13.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

CHEER ATHLETICS: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty10.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Training fee$3K
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$25K
Total fee load13.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

CHEER ATHLETICS makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one CHEER ATHLETICS unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $607K–$1.3M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $140K–$160K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$1.1M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 145 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 13.0% — above the Health & Fitness median of 9.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 46.2% CAGR over 3 years across 20 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Health & Fitness medians

How Cheer Athletics Compares

Metric
Cheer Athletics
Category median
vs median
Investment
$942K
$392Kmiddle half $226K–$620K · n=172
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$477Kmiddle half $316K–$739K · n=65
N/A
Unit Count
20
17middle half 5–70 · n=171
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Health & Fitness brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units20Verified — printed on page 40 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+46.2% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
20
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
95%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+46.2%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+46.2%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2023
13
Franchised units
2024
18+5
Franchised units
2025
19+1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 12 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 12 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

18 current owners across 12 states.

  • TX 5
  • CO 2
  • PA 2
  • FL 1
  • IL 1
  • KY 1
  • ME 1
  • MO 1
  • NC 1
  • NE 1
  • NY 1
  • OH 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score44/100 (higher is better)
Litigation3 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage44Verdict score 44/100

Youth-serving sports franchise with active abuse litigation, minimal unit growth, zero financial transparency, and systemic liability concerns presents material operational and reputational risk.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
3157

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

3 cases, all involving sexual abuse allegations by former athletes against employees/affiliates: (1) Gerlacher v. Cheer Athletics et al. (2021, stayed due to affiliate bankruptcy); (2) Jane Doe 1 & 2 v. Cheer Athletics et al. (2021, dismissed 12/21/2023 via confidential settlement); (3) Jane HK Doe v. USASF et al. (2020, dismissed 10/13/2022 via confidential settlement).

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

Subject: the company or an affiliate. Disclosed (Item 4 covers the last 10 years)

Affiliate Cheer Athletics-Plano, Inc. filed Chapter 11 bankruptcy on November 2, 2025 (Case No. 25-43320, Eastern District of Texas). No plan for reorganization filed as of FDD issuance. Did not involve franchisor or franchise system directly.

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Still Burton

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.5MYr 2: $1.3M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

FY2025 total revenue of $1,483,112 comprises royalties $1,397,181 and initial franchise fees $85,931; prior-year (FY2023) figures include a one-time $131,958 gain on sale classified as other revenue.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 44 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGHActive sexual abuse and negligence litigation across multiple affiliates with vicarious liability claims indicates systemic supervision/hiring vulnerabilities in a youth-serving business
  2. 02MINORSlow unit growth (5.6% YoY on only 20 locations) suggests market saturation, franchisee struggles, or brand weakness despite 10-year terms
  3. 03MED10% royalty on undisclosed revenues creates unpredictable cost structure; franchisees cannot benchmark performance against system average
  4. 04HIGHAffiliate bankruptcy and stayed litigation indicate financial fragility within the franchise system itself

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 145 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 13.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training34 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius10 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ50 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ6
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationPlano, Texas (county where franchisor's principal place of business is located)
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawTX
Litigation count3
View Item 3 litigation summary

3 cases, all involving sexual abuse allegations by former athletes against employees/affiliates: (1) Gerlacher v. Cheer Athletics et al. (2021, stayed due to affiliate bankruptcy); (2) Jane Doe 1 & 2 v. Cheer Athletics et al. (2021, dismissed 12/21/2023 via confidential settlement); (3) Jane HK Doe v. USASF et al. (2020, dismissed 10/13/2022 via confidential settlement).

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
12 hrs
On-the-job training
22 hrs
Training location
Plano, Texas affiliate location or other designated location
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
40 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
9 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
iClass Pro
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: iClass Pro

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

18 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 18 contacts · $49
Free preview
(724) 265-••••PA
Unlock all 18 contacts
(207) 309-••••ME
(469) 486-••••TX
(512) 553-••••TX
(806) 441-••••TX

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a CHEER ATHLETICS franchise?

The total investment to open a CHEER ATHLETICS franchise ranges from $607K – $1.3M, with an initial franchise fee of $75K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do CHEER ATHLETICS franchise owners earn?

CHEER ATHLETICS makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns CHEER ATHLETICS?

CHEER ATHLETICS is franchised by Cheer Athletics Holdings, LLC. Its parent company is Cheer Athletics Brands, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the CHEER ATHLETICS FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the CHEER ATHLETICS FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is CHEER ATHLETICS's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for CHEER ATHLETICS (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many CHEER ATHLETICS franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, CHEER ATHLETICS has 20 total units in the United States, including 19 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is CHEER ATHLETICS a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates CHEER ATHLETICS as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 44 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent CHEER ATHLETICS, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Health & Fitness franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Health & Fitness category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.