Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Board & Brew logo

Board & Brew Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsCAFranchising since 2012
BAbove averageAbove average69/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$697K – $1.1M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (7)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00341FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent86%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Board & Brew is a sandwich restaurant franchise known for deli sandwiches and its signature sauces. Franchisees run the shops, managing food prep, staffing, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Board & Brew franchise requires a total initial investment of $697K – $1.1M, including a $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$697K – $1.1M
29th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
8th pct Service Resta…
Units
31
23rd pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$697K – $1.1M
Median $678K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$35K – $35K
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$45K – $45K
Median $43K
near median
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
6.0% of rev
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (7)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 7 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
31 units
Median 20 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $697K – $1.1M including a $35K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 69/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +2 franchised outlets in the latest year (2 opened, 0 closed); 4 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 31.6% CAGR over 3 years with 31 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
BBRG, LLC
Ultimate parent
JJ&N Enterprises, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
President and Manager
Tom Powers
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
CA
HQ
1212 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, California 92014
Auditor
Schild & Co., Inc.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$2.5M
vs $2.1M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Tom Powers
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2012
FDD year
2025
States available
2

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 35% above the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$697K – $1.1MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$35,000Verified — printed on page 9 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$45K – $45K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Item 7 total vs its own lines

The filing's Item 7 TOTAL row prints $697,000 to $1,131,000. Its own line items add to $727,000 to $1,131,000. The total is shown as the franchisor printed it; the lines are listed as printed. FILING ARITHMETIC: the HIGH column foots exactly ($1,131,000).

Full Item 7 breakdown14 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$35K$35K
Travel/Living Expenses for Initial Training$4K$15K
Architectural drawings and layouts$20K$25K
Lease for Outlet premises$30K$36K
Construction and leasehold Improvements - net of landlord contribution$250K$600K
Equipment, furniture and fixtures$270K$276K
Point of Sale system (including cash register, two EMV terminals, and 1st year support and maintenance)$22K$34K
Initial Inventory and Supplies$25K$25K
Interior/Exterior Signs and Graphics$15K$24K
Initial Advertising (including Grand Opening Expenses)$3K$3K
Business Licenses and Permits$3K$3K
Professional fees - legal and accounting$2K$7K
Business Insurance (including workers' compensation)$3K$3K
Additional funds for first 3 months$45K$45K
Total initial investment$727K$1.1M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$697K – $1.1M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$45K – $45K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$35K – $35K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
6.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Board & Brew: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$500
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$2K
Inventory (initial)$25K – $25K
Total fee load6.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Board & Brew makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Board & Brew unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $697K–$1.1M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $45K–$45K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$959K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.0% (near the Full-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 31.6% CAGR over 3 years across 31 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Multi-unit rate

Only 9% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How Board & Brew Compares

Metric
Board & Brew
Category median
vs median
Investment
$914K
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
31
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units31Verified — printed on page 37 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+31.6% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
31
Opened
2
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
6
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
81%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
9.1%
Net growth (3-yr)
+31.6%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+31.6%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
4
0.13 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
19
Franchised units
2023
23+4
Franchised units
2024
25+2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 2 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

2

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

23 current owners across 2 states.

  • CA 22
  • AZ 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 7 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
7
Loan volume
$4.3M
Median loan
$620K
average
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (7)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 7 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (7)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (7)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
0
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (7)
Verdict score69/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases · none name the franchisor
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average69Verdict score 69/100

Board & Brew presents meaningful investment risk due to absent financial disclosure (Item 19), modest unit growth, prior regulatory violation, and high capital requirements relative to unproven unit economics.

High confidence±6 pts
6375

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

One concluded action: JJ&N (affiliate) filed a Notice of Violation with California Department of Corporations on April 30, 2012, relating to an unregistered franchise offering to a California-based licensee. The franchisor was not directly involved.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Schild & Co., Inc.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $2.5MYr 2: $2.1MNon-royalty: $0.3M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Total revenues for FY2024 of $2,534,787 comprise franchise fees ($61,562), royalty fees ($2,390,456), and creative fund fees ($82,769). Vendor rebate ($296,362) and legal settlement ($41,800) are reported as other income, totaling $338,162.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 69 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDSlow unit growth of only 8.7% YoY with just 31 units suggests limited brand momentum and market traction
  2. 02MINOR2012 California franchise registration violation by affiliate JJ&N indicates compliance/governance issues within franchise organization
  3. 03MINORNo 'Going Concern' flag is positive, but combined with opaque financials increases execution risk for franchisees

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training144 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationSan Diego County, California
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawCA
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

One concluded action: JJ&N (affiliate) filed a Notice of Violation with California Department of Corporations on April 30, 2012, relating to an unregistered franchise offering to a California-based licensee. The franchisor was not directly involved.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
24 hrs
On-the-job training
120 hrs
Training location
Tustin, California and San Clemente, California
Ongoing training
Optional
Time to open
12 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects, franchisor must approve
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Focus POS
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Focus POS

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

23 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 23 contacts · $49
Free preview
951-791-••••CA
Unlock all 23 contacts
480-781-••••AZ
760-331-••••CA
949-207-••••CA
949-215-••••CA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Board & Brew franchise?

The total investment to open a Board & Brew franchise ranges from $697K – $1.1M, with an initial franchise fee of $35K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Board & Brew franchise owners earn?

Board & Brew makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Board & Brew?

Board & Brew is franchised by BBRG, LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is JJ&N Enterprises, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Board & Brew FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Board & Brew FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Board & Brew's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Board & Brew (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Board & Brew franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Board & Brew has 31 total units in the United States, including 25 franchised units and 6 company-owned units. 2 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Board & Brew a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Board & Brew as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 69 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Board & Brew, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.