Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices logo

Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Real EstateCAFranchising since 2013
BAbove averageAbove average69/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$45K – $90K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00282Data QualityStandard71%FDD 2023 · 3yr old
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2023 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices is a residential real-estate brokerage franchise trading on the Berkshire Hathaway name. Franchisees run full-service offices recruiting and supporting agents, earning from commissions.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices franchise requires a total initial investment of $45K – $90K, including a $25K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored2 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$45K – $90K
28th pct Real Estate
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
24th pct Real Estate
Units
293
71st pct Real Estate
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Real Estate · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$45K – $90K
Median $133K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $30K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$30 – $525
Median $22K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 6.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
7.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
293 units
Median 70 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
5.8%
Median 7.5%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
4 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Real Estate median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $45K – $90K including a $25K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 69/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +7 franchised outlets in the latest year (24 opened, 17 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
BHH Affiliates, LLC
Parent company
HSF Affiliates LLC
FDD Item 1, page 10 of the 2023 FDD
Ultimate parent
Berkshire Hathaway Energy Company
FDD Item 1, page 10 of the 2023 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer and President
Christy Budnick
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
18500 Von Karman Avenue, Suite 400, Irvine, California 92612
Auditor
Marcum LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$102.8M
vs $122.1M prior year

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 10

1 other brand on this site name Berkshire Hathaway Energy Company as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2023 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Christy Budnick
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2012
FDD year
2023
States available
47

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 49% below the typical real estate franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$45K – $90KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 25 of the 2023 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty6.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$30 – $525

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 5–7

Item 7 total vs its own lines

The filing's Item 7 TOTAL row prints $45,300 to $90,375. Its own line items add to $43,300 to $90,375. The total is shown as the franchisor printed it; the lines are listed as printed. The only Item 7 table (pp.24-25; BHHS FDD 5012023). TOTAL $45,300 to $90,375 = headline.

Full Item 7 breakdown15 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Franchise Fee$25K$25K
Launch and Post Launch Training$100$3K
Exterior Signs$1K$20K
Stationery and Related Supplies$2K$5K
Yard Signs$5K$10K
Grand Opening Advertising$5K$5K
Computer Hardware$1K$4K
Approved Broker Management System (computer software)$3K$5K
Approved Software Support Expenses$100$1K
Business Class Telephone Service$20$50
Business Class Internet Access$50$300
Real Property, whether Purchased or Leased$0$6K
Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment$0$5K
Business Insurance$1K$1K
Additional Funds – 3 Months$30$525
Total initial investment$43K$90K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$45K – $90K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$30 – $525
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
Declining percentage of Gross Revenue: 1% (0-$1M), 0.75% …
Total fee load
7.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$1K
Total fee load7.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $45K–$90K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $30–$525

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$68K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2023 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 133 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.0% (near the Real Estate median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (+1.2% 3-year CAGR) with 293 units.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Real Estate medians

How Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices Compares

Metric
Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices
Category median
vs median
Investment
$68K
$133Kmiddle half $78K–$190K · n=89
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$384Kmiddle half $254K–$616K · n=12
N/A
Unit Count
293
70middle half 27–191 · n=89
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Real Estate brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units293Verified — printed on page 64 of the 2023 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it one way.
3-yr growth+1.2% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate5.8% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2023 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
293
Opened
24
Last reporting year
Closed
17
Terminated
4
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
5.8%
Company-owned
20
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
93%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+1.2%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+1.2%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
4
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
29
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
1.0%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Continuity rate
93.8%
Units that stayed open
Termination rate
1.4%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
4.4%
Units that stopped operating
2020
253
Franchised units
2021
249-4
Franchised units
2022
256+7
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 5 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 5 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

6 current owners across 5 states.

  • MA 2
  • CA 1
  • TX 1
  • VA 1
  • WA 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 9 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score69/100 (higher is better)
Litigation4 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average69Verdict score 69/100

Material antitrust litigation targeting the real estate industry's compensation structure, combined with undisclosed financials and unprotected territory, creates substantial regulatory and competitive risk for franchisees.

Low confidence±19 pts
5088

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Four putative class action lawsuits challenging the practice of requiring selling brokers to offer uniform compensation to buyer brokers (Moehrl, Burnett/Sitzer, Nosalek, and Leeder/Batton cases)

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Marcum LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $102.8MYr 2: $122.1MNon-royalty: $4.3M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Audited consolidated financials of parent HSF Affiliates LLC, fiscal year ended December 31, 2022 (in thousands; converted to dollars). Total revenues comprise royalty fees-net ($61,772K), revenue from related parties ($36,762K), and other revenue-net ($4,313K). Prior year (2021) total revenues were $122,127K.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 69 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORFour active putative class action lawsuits challenging core business model (buyer broker compensation practices) create existential regulatory risk
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 financial disclosure means prospective franchisees cannot verify claimed profitability or validate $45k-$90k investment ROI
  3. 03MINORSlow unit growth (3.0% YoY) with 293 total units suggests mature/declining system; minimal franchisee recruitment confidence
  4. 04MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk from other BHHS franchisees and company-owned offices
  5. 05MINORDeclining royalty floor ($15k minimum) despite low unit growth indicates potential cash flow stress at corporate level

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 133 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal termNot extracted
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training27 hrs

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ0
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice90 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationOrange County, California
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawDE
Litigation count4
View Item 3 litigation summary

Four putative class action lawsuits challenging the practice of requiring selling brokers to offer uniform compensation to buyer brokers (Moehrl, Burnett/Sitzer, Nosalek, and Leeder/Batton cases)

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
27 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Phone/Webinar (pre-launch); local hotel or online (post-launch)
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Approved Broker Management System
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Approved Broker Management System

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

15 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 15 contacts · $49
Free preview
(044) 322-••••
Unlock all 15 contacts
(416) 504-••••
(425) 636-••••WA
(210) 700-••••TX
(998) 849-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices franchise?

The total investment to open a Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices franchise ranges from $45K – $90K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices franchise owners earn?

Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices?

Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices is franchised by BHH Affiliates, LLC. Its parent company is HSF Affiliates LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Berkshire Hathaway Energy Company. Source: FDD Item 1, 2023 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices has 293 total units in the United States, including 256 franchised units and 20 company-owned units. 24 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 69 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Real Estate franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Real Estate category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.