Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
9ROUND logo

9round Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Health & FitnessSouth CarolinaFranchising since 2009
CAverageAverage40/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$160K – $390K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
26.4%
on 111 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00042FDD 2026Data QualityExcellent81%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

9Round is a boutique-fitness franchise offering fast, 30-minute kickboxing-based circuit workouts with trainer guidance. Franchisees run compact studios on a membership model, coaching members through the nine-station circuit.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A 9ROUND franchise requires a total initial investment of $160K – $390K, including a $25K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 26.4% charge-off rate across 111 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$160K – $390K
27th pct Health & Fitn…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
13th pct Health & Fitn…
Units
142
82nd pct Health & Fitn…
SBA charge-off
26.4%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Health & Fitness · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$160K – $390K
Median $392K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $50K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$25K – $61K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
26.4%
111 loans · Median 10.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
System Size
142 units
Median 17 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
41.8%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Health & Fitness median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $160K – $390K including a $25K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 40/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 26.4% across 111 loans (well above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -58 franchised outlets in the latest year (4 opened, 83 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAG66 units terminated last reporting year (46.5% of the system). Ask existing franchisees why.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
9Round Franchising, LLC
Parent company
None (no controlling parent)
Predecessor
9Round, LLC
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Heather Hudson
Incorporated in
South Carolina
HQ
847 NE Main Street, Simpsonville, South Carolina 29681
Auditor
Elliott Davis, LLC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$7.8M
vs $11.6M prior year

Same owner · FDD Item 1

12 other brands on this site name None (no controlling parent) as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2026 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Heather Hudson
Headquarters
South Carolina
Founded
2008
FDD year
2026
States available
30

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 30% below the typical health & fitness franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$160K – $390KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 24 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$24,900Verified — printed on page 14 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$25K – $61K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

9ROUND: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$25K$25K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$25K$61K
Equipment, build-out, other$111K$304K
Total initial investment$160K$390K

Source: 9ROUND 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$160K – $390K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$25K – $61K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

9ROUND: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of net sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of net sales
Technology fee$499
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$1K
Inventory (initial)$40K – $42K
Total fee load8.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

9ROUND makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one 9ROUND unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $160K–$390K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $25K–$61K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$318K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 135 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Health & Fitness median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -45.5% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Health & Fitness medians

How 9round Compares

Metric
9round
Category median
vs median
Investment
$275K
$392Kmiddle half $226K–$620K · n=172
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$477Kmiddle half $316K–$739K · n=65
N/A
Unit Count
142
17middle half 5–70 · n=171
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Health & Fitness brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units142Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
3-yr growth-45.5% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate41.8% (caution)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
142
Opened
4
Last reporting year
Closed
83
Terminated
66
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
12
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
41.8%
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
99%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-45.5%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-45.5%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
66
Not renewed
12
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
2023
275
Franchised units
2024
199-76
Franchised units
2025
141-58
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 15 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 15 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

99 current owners across 15 states.

  • CA 36
  • FL 13
  • HI 9
  • IN 6
  • AL 4
  • GA 4
  • MA 4
  • AK 3
  • AR 3
  • CO 3
  • CT 3
  • IA 3
  • +3 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

A system losing more than 10% of its units year-over-year is a red flag. Check whether closures are concentrated in specific regions.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

F
SBA Lending Health
Weak SBA lending record · 26.4% charge-off
Total loans
111
Loan volume
$10.7M
Median loan
$82K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
26.4%
on 111 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
73.6%
5-yr charge-off
25.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
44
Defaults
24
Typical loan rate
6.9%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
15.8%
brand above franchise avg ↑
Jobs supported
698
6.5 per loan
Lender concentration
18%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 62% went to startups / new businesses, 38% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in fitness and recreational sports centers, franchised businesses charge off at 15.8% vs 18.2% for independents — franchising is associated with 13% lower SBA default risk in this category.

Vintage analysis

9round charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
9round charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 8 vintages from 2014 to 2021. Rates range from 6.2% to 50.0%.0%5%10%15%20%25%30%35%40%45%50%'14'16'18'20'21

Top lenders financing 9round franchisees

Stearns Bank National Association20 loans18.8%
Wells Fargo Bank National Association9 loans55.6%
Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company7 loans28.6%

Showing 3 of 44 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for 9round from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
15.4%
Avg SBA guarantee
75%
Avg interest rate
6.91%
Avg chargeoff amount
$69K
Lender concentration
18.0%
Job velocity
6.5 per $100K
Startup risk premium
+18.0pp
NAICS benchmark
12.5%
NAICS 713940
Jobs supported
698

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 18% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Stearns Bank National Association20$2.1M18.8%
2Wells Fargo Bank National Association9$1.4M55.6%
3Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company7$418K28.6%
4Celtic Bank Corporation7$925K33.3%
5The Huntington National Bank7$431K75.0%
6Union Bank and Trust Company4$257K0.0%
7CDC Small Business Finance Corp.4$549K50.0%
8JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association3$255K0.0%
9Southern Bank3$362K0.0%
10U.S. Bank, National Association3$164K0.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
TXTexas19533.3%
CACalifornia15114.3%
MOMissouri800.0%
FLFlorida6240.0%
NHNew Hampshire600.0%
COColorado5120.0%
MNMinnesota43100.0%
WIWisconsin400.0%
ARArkansas3133.3%
KSKansas3150.0%

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2014
4
2015
16
2016
12
2017
19
2018
28
2019
12
2020
10
2021
5
2023
4
2026
1

Borrower profile

Startup33 (55%)
Unanswered10 (17%)
Ownership change7 (12%)
Existing (2+ yr)6 (10%)
New (< 2 yr)3 (5%)
New (< 1 yr)1 (2%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

Lending insight

A 26.4% charge-off rate means roughly 1 in 4 franchisees failed to repay their SBA loan. Investigate what changed.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 26.4% — 65% above the 16.0% national norm, i.e. higher lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off26.4% · 111 loans
Verdict score40/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage40Verdict score 40/100

9ROUND presents HIGH RISK due to accelerating unit contraction (-27.6% YoY), complete absence of financial performance data, and high fixed royalty minimums that may exceed earnings in struggling locations.

High confidence±4 pts
3644

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Elliott Davis, LLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $7.8MYr 2: $11.6MNon-royalty: $0.5M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 40 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MED27.6% unit decline YoY indicates rapidly shrinking franchise system and potential market saturation or operational failure
  2. 02MINORNo average revenue or net income disclosure (Item 19) prevents accurate ROI assessment and suggests franchisor may be hiding weak unit economics
  3. 03MINORHigh royalty floor of $600/month ($7,200 annually) creates significant fixed cost burden even for underperforming locations
  4. 04MED200-unit system is relatively small; continued decline below 150 units would indicate critical mass loss
  5. 05MEDNo disclosed going concern issues, but steep unit decline raises questions about franchisor financial stability

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 135 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training55 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius3 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ18 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationSimpsonville, South Carolina
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawSouth Carolina
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
28 hrs
On-the-job training
27 hrs
Training location
Greenville, South Carolina, or as otherwise specified
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

99 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 99 contacts · $49
Free preview
(916) 800-••••CA
Unlock all 99 contacts
(510) 228-••••CA
(510) 516-••••CA
(260) 739-••••IN
(951) 331-••••CA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a 9ROUND franchise?

The total investment to open a 9ROUND franchise ranges from $160K – $390K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do 9ROUND franchise owners earn?

9ROUND makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns 9ROUND?

9ROUND is franchised by 9Round Franchising, LLC. Its parent company is None (no controlling parent). Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the 9ROUND FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the 9ROUND FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is 9ROUND's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, 9ROUND has a charge-off rate of 26.4% across 111 loans, meaning 26.4% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many 9ROUND franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, 9ROUND has 142 total units in the United States, including 141 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 4 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is 9ROUND a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates 9ROUND as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 40 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent 9ROUND, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Health & Fitness franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Health & Fitness category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.