Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
The MOSQUITO SHERIFF logo

The Mosquito Sheriff Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Home ServicesDEFranchising since 2021
BAbove averageAbove average55/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$79K – $82K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02676FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

The Mosquito Sheriff is a home services franchise providing mosquito, tick, and outdoor pest control treatments. Franchisees run route-based operations, managing technicians, treatments, and recurring accounts.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A The MOSQUITO SHERIFF franchise requires a total initial investment of $79K – $82K, including a $40K franchise fee and an ongoing 10.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$79K – $82K
20th pct Home Services
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
10.0%
75th pct Home Services
Units
6
12th pct Home Services
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Home Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$79K – $82K
Median $168K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$40K – $40K
Median $50K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$1K – $2K
Median $29K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
10.0%
Median 6.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
10.0% of rev
Median 8.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10
System Size
6 units
Median 47 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 4.3%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Home Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $79K – $82K including a $40K franchise fee, 10.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 55/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +1 franchised outlets in the latest year (1 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Mosquito Sheriff Franchising, Inc.
Predecessor
and Affiliates
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
CEO and Founder
Patrice Rice
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
251 Little Falls Drive, Wilmington, Delaware 19808
Auditor
Christopher Dillon, CPA
Audited financials

Affiliated brands

  • Mosquito Sheriff
  • operates one business of type being franchised

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Patrice Rice
Headquarters
DE
Founded
2019
FDD year
2025
States available
5

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 52% below the typical home services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$79K – $82KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$40,000Verified — printed on page 8 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty10.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 8 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$1K – $2K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown10 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$40K$40K
Tools & Equipmentnot refundable$3K$3K
Starter Kitnot refundable$28K$28K
Vehicle Lease$600$1K
Vehicle Outfittednot refundable$5K$5K
Expenses During Initial Training$500$1K
Computer Hardware, Software, and POS System$1K$1K
Routing Software and Call Center Start-Up Fees$350$350
Business Liability Insurance$1K$2K
Additional Funds (first three months of operations)$1K$2K
Total initial investment$79K$82K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$79K – $82K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$1K – $2K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$40K – $40K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
10.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
$150 per month
Total fee load
10.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

The MOSQUITO SHERIFF: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty10.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$8K
Renewal fee$5K
Total fee load10.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

The MOSQUITO SHERIFF makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one The MOSQUITO SHERIFF unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $79K–$82K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $1K–$2K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$82K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 122 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 10.0% — above the Home Services median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Home Services medians

How The Mosquito Sheriff Compares

Metric
The Mosquito Sheriff
Category median
vs median
Investment
$80K
$168Kmiddle half $122K–$232K · n=283
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$587Kmiddle half $376K–$1.3M · n=79
N/A
Unit Count
6
47middle half 14–137 · n=283
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Home Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units6Verified — printed on page 35 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
6
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
83%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
5
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
1
Franchised units
2023
4+3
Franchised units
2024
5+1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 5 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 5 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • California
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Minnesota
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

5 current owners across 5 states.

  • DC 1
  • IN 1
  • MD 1
  • OH 1
  • VA 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 1 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 1 7(a) loan on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$145K
Median loan
$145K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (1)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
1
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (1)
Verdict score55/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average55Verdict score 55/100

Clean profile with audited financials, no litigation, and no bankruptcy. Small/young system (6 units, began 2021) with no Item 19 disclosure is the only notable concern.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
4268

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Christopher Dillon, CPA

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 references audited financial statements for FY2022-2024 in Exhibit A, but the exhibit is present only as non-extractable/scanned images in the source text; no balance sheet, income statement, or auditor name could be read.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 55 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORSmall system: 6 units total
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  3. 03MINORAudited, no litigation/bankruptcy

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 122 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 10.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training49 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory population300,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ2
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationDelaware
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawDelaware
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
40 hrs
On-the-job training
9 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
9 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Site selection
franchisor
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Pocomos Sales System
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Pocomos Sales System

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

6 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 6 contacts · $49
Free preview
(216) 235-••••OH
Unlock all 6 contacts
(260) 452-••••IN
(443) 624-••••MD
(804) 240-••••VA
(202) 977-••••DC

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a The MOSQUITO SHERIFF franchise?

The total investment to open a The MOSQUITO SHERIFF franchise ranges from $79K – $82K, with an initial franchise fee of $40K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do The MOSQUITO SHERIFF franchise owners earn?

The MOSQUITO SHERIFF makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns The MOSQUITO SHERIFF?

The MOSQUITO SHERIFF is franchised by Mosquito Sheriff Franchising, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the The MOSQUITO SHERIFF FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the The MOSQUITO SHERIFF FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is The MOSQUITO SHERIFF's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for The MOSQUITO SHERIFF (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many The MOSQUITO SHERIFF franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, The MOSQUITO SHERIFF has 6 total units in the United States, including 5 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is The MOSQUITO SHERIFF a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates The MOSQUITO SHERIFF as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 55 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent The MOSQUITO SHERIFF, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Home Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Home Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.