Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Southwest Greens logo

Southwest Greens Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Home ServicesGeorgiaFranchising since 2008
AStrongest tierStrongest tier70/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$83K – $342K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (7)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02399Data QualityStandard76%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Southwest Greens is a home services franchise that designs and installs synthetic turf, putting greens, and sport courts. Franchisees run local operations, managing design, sales, and installation crews within a territory.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Southwest Greens franchise requires a total initial investment of $83K – $342K, including a $10K – $50K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$83K – $342K
23rd pct Home Services
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Set by a formula
Units
53
47th pct Home Services
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Home Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$83K – $342K
Median $168K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$10K – $50K
Median $50K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $50K
Median $29K
near median
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 6.0%
Ongoing Fees
0.5% of rev
Median 8.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (7)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 7 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
53 units
Median 47 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
5.7%
Median 4.3%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Home Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $83K – $342K including a $10K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 70/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (2 opened, 3 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Southwest Greens International, LLC
Parent company
Shaw Contract Flooring Services, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 10 of the 2024 FDD
Ultimate parent
Berkshire Hathaway, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 10 of the 2024 FDD
Predecessor
Westco, Incorporated (formerly Southwest Putting Green Technologies, Inc.)
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Vice President
James Lester Kirkpatrick
Incorporated in
Georgia
HQ
185 S. Industrial Blvd., Mail Drop 0DY-01, Calhoun, Georgia 30701
Auditor
LBMC, PC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$10.7M
vs $12.2M prior year

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 10

2 other brands on this site name Berkshire Hathaway, Inc. as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2024 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
James Lester Kirkpatrick
Headquarters
Georgia
Founded
1998
FDD year
2024
States available
28

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 26% above the typical home services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$83K – $342KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 20 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$10,000Verified — printed on page 11 of the 2024 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
RoyaltySet by a formula
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$10K – $50K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2024 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Southwest Greens: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$10K$10K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$10K$50K
Equipment, build-out, other$63K$282K
Total initial investment$83K$342K

Source: Southwest Greens 2024 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$83K – $342K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$10K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
Turf Royalties $0.50 per square foot of artificial turf s…
Ad fund
Flat annual Advertising Payment tiered by Territory popul…
Total fee load
0.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Southwest Greens: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Training fee$3K
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$0
Inventory (initial)$0 – $0
Total fee load0.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Southwest Greens makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Southwest Greens unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $83K–$342K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$50K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$242K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 101 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 0.5% — below the Home Services median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Home Services medians

How Southwest Greens Compares

Metric
Southwest Greens
Category median
vs median
Investment
$212K
$168Kmiddle half $122K–$232K · n=283
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$587Kmiddle half $376K–$1.3M · n=79
N/A
Unit Count
53
47middle half 14–137 · n=283
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Home Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units53Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 48 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Turnover rate5.7% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
53
Opened
2
Last reporting year
Closed
3
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
2
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
5.7%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
2
Transferred
2
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
2021
54
Franchised units
2022
53-1
Franchised units
2023
53±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 28 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

28

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 7 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
7
Loan volume
$2.0M
Median loan
$200K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (7)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 7 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (7)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (7)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
3
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (7)
Verdict score70/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier70Verdict score 70/100

Home-services franchisor since 2008 with only one old regulatory matter (2004 predecessor $1,500 civil penalty for unregistered sales). Strong positive net worth $5.33M and net income $1.68M on $10.65M revenue, audited. No Item 19.

Moderate confidence±11 pts
5981

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

SPGT (predecessor) entered a Consent Cease and Desist Order with Minnesota Dept. of Commerce in 2004 for selling unregistered franchises; paid $1,500 civil penalty.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · LBMC, PC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $10.7MYr 2: $12.2M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 70 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORsingle old regulatory consent order ($1,500 penalty, 2004)
  2. 02MINORnet worth $5,332,105, net income $1,684,043
  3. 03MINORaudited, no bankruptcy
  4. 04MINORno Item 19 disclosure

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 101 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 0.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training56 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory sizeℹDetermined by SWGI based on population and climate; no minimum size specified
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ7
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawGeorgia
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

SPGT (predecessor) entered a Consent Cease and Desist Order with Minnesota Dept. of Commerce in 2004 for selling unregistered franchises; paid $1,500 civil penalty.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
12 hrs
On-the-job training
84 hrs
Training location
Marietta/metro Atlanta, Georgia area, and Calhoun/Dalton, Georgia (turf plant visit)
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
5 mo
From signing to launch
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

99 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 99 contacts · $49
Free preview
(877) 260-••••
Unlock all 99 contacts
661-298-••••
561-694-••••
425-355-••••
817-488-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Southwest Greens franchise?

The total investment to open a Southwest Greens franchise ranges from $83K – $342K, with an initial franchise fee of $10K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Southwest Greens franchise owners earn?

Southwest Greens makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Southwest Greens?

Southwest Greens is franchised by Southwest Greens International, LLC. Its parent company is Shaw Contract Flooring Services, Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Berkshire Hathaway, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Southwest Greens FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Southwest Greens FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Southwest Greens's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Southwest Greens (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Southwest Greens franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Southwest Greens has 53 total units in the United States, including 53 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 2 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Southwest Greens a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Southwest Greens as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 70 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Southwest Greens, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Home Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Home Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.