Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Radisson Individuals logo

Radisson Individuals Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingMDFranchising since 2023
CAverageAverage40/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$2.9M – $56.2M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02092Data QualityStandard76%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Radisson Individuals is an upscale hotel franchise for independent properties affiliating with the Radisson brand. Franchisees own and operate the hotels, managing guest services and revenue under brand standards.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Radisson Individuals franchise requires a total initial investment of $2.9M – $56.2M, including a $75K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: partial✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$2.9M – $56.2M
29th pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
1 outlet
Royalty
6.0%
53rd pct Lodging
Units
1
7th pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$2.9M – $56.2M
Median $8.9M
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$75K – $75K
Median $50K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$1.0M – $1.8M
Median $312K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
9.0% of rev
Median 8.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
1 units
Median 60 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
100.0%
Median 0.7%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
95 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $2.9M – $56.2M including a $75K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 40/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative, pipeline stalled: 2 agreements signed but not yet open against 1 open outlets (Item 20).
  • LEGAL95 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Review the summary for patterns (franchisor-initiated vs. franchisee-initiated).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Choice Hotels International, Inc.
Parent company
Choice Hotels International, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2024 FDD
Predecessor
Radisson Hotels International, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Director, President and Chief Executive Officer
Patrick S. Pacious
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
915 Meeting Street, Suite 600, North Bethesda, Maryland 20852
Auditor
Ernst & Young LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.5B
vs $1.4B prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 9

11 other brands on this site name Choice Hotels International, Inc. as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2024 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Patrick S. Pacious
Headquarters
MD
Founded
1963
FDD year
2024
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 232% above the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$2.9M – $56.2MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 47 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$75,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 32 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund3.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$1.0M – $1.8M

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown18 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Affiliation Fee——
Construction-Related Extension Fee$0$5K
Opening Date Rescheduling Fee$0$3K
Real Estate——
Improvements$150K$37.5M
Design & Engineering Costs$50K$2.0M
Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment$0$10.0M
Exterior Signage and On-Premise Plaques$200$200K
Miscellaneous Pre-Opening Costs$1.2M$1.9M
Opening Inventory$300K$2.5M
ORACLE Opera Cloud PMS Initial Investment$30K$30K
Onboarding, Sales and Hospitality Leadership Certification Fees$8K$13K
Food and Beverage Opening Support Fee and Restaurant Concept Creation$21K$38K
Food and Beverage Sales System$6K$25K
Pre-Opening Photography$4K$5K
IDeaS Fees$5K$5K
Insurance$85K$275K
Additional Funds 3 Months$1.0M$1.8M
Total initial investment$2.9M$56.2M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$2.9M – $56.2M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$1.0M – $1.8M
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$75K – $75K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Radisson Individuals: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$75K
Renewal fee$75K
Inventory (initial)$300K – $2.5M
Total fee load9.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Radisson Individuals makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Radisson Individuals unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $2.9M–$56.2M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $1.0M–$1.8M

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$31.0M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 136 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.0% (near the Lodging median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

Net unit growth roughly flat at 0.0%.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging medians

How Radisson Individuals Compares

Metric
Radisson Individuals
Category median
vs median
Investment
$29.6M
$8.9Mmiddle half $1.2M–$18.3M · n=96
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.4Mmiddle half $1.0M–$1.8M · n=2
N/A
Unit Count
1
60middle half 6–245 · n=126
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Lodging brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units1Verified — printed on page 80 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+0.0%
Turnover rate100.0% (caution)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
1
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
100.0%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+0.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+0.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
2
2.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Continuity rate
25.0%
Units that stayed open
Ceased ops
100.0%
Units that stopped operating
2021
1
Franchised units
2022
2+1
Franchised units
2023
1-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score40/100 (higher is better)
Litigation95 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage40Verdict score 40/100

3 pending parent-level matters (Canadian class action seeking $403M, RICO/antitrust suit by ~90 Choice owners) and Item 19 not disclosed. Parent financials strong (net worth $35,598,000, net income $258,507,000 on $1.3B revenue). Litigation is parent/system-wide and routine for a large hotel franchisor; brand itself is 1 unit.

Low confidence±18 pts
2258

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

3 pending matters disclosed: (1) a Canadian class action (Norma Knuth) alleging wrongful collection of destination marketing fees, seeking $403M in restitution/damages, class not yet certified; (2) a RICO/antitrust suit by ~90 current/former Choice franchise owners (Jai Sai Baba v. Choice) stayed pending arbitration, with a related arbitration (Choice v. DIP Hospitality) awaiting an award; (3) a breach of contract/trade secrets suit by a Country Inn & Suites licensee (T&T Management) regarding brand protection and guest data, motions pending. Additionally, dozens of routine actions to collect unpaid royalties/debts from franchisees and one IP enforcement action. 4 resolved matters in the prior years, including a $740,072 arbitration award against Choice (Highmark Lodging) and a $603,483 award in favor of Choice (Dahya Investments).

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Ernst & Young LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1544.2MYr 2: $1401.9MTotal: $1311.8M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Franchisor total revenue of $1,311.8M is for the entire Choice Hotels International system (all brands including Radisson Individuals, Comfort, Quality, Sleep Inn, etc.), not Radisson Individuals-specific. Radisson Individuals brand itself had only 1 franchised hotel in the US as of 12/31/2023.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 40 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOR3 parent-level suits (Choice system) - routine at scale
  2. 02MEDItem 19 not disclosed
  3. 03MINORStrong parent financials: net income $258.5M on $1.3B revenue
  4. 04MINORSingle-unit brand footprint

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 136 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
Renewal termNot extracted
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training77 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Allowed renewalsℹ0
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window90 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ1
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMaryland
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMaryland
Litigation count95
View Item 3 litigation summary

3 pending matters disclosed: (1) a Canadian class action (Norma Knuth) alleging wrongful collection of destination marketing fees, seeking $403M in restitution/damages, class not yet certified; (2) a RICO/antitrust suit by ~90 current/former Choice franchise owners (Jai Sai Baba v. Choice) stayed pending arbitration, with a related arbitration (Choice v. DIP Hospitality) awaiting an award; (3) a breach of contract/trade secrets suit by a Country Inn & Suites licensee (T&T Management) regarding brand protection and guest data, motions pending. Additionally, dozens of routine actions to collect unpaid royalties/debts from franchisees and one IP enforcement action. 4 resolved matters in the prior years, including a $740,072 arbitration award against Choice (Highmark Lodging) and a $603,483 award in favor of Choice (Dahya Investments).

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
61 hrs
On-the-job training
16 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisor
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Toast, Inc.
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Toast, Inc.

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Radisson Individuals franchise?

The total investment to open a Radisson Individuals franchise ranges from $2.9M – $56.2M, with an initial franchise fee of $75K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Radisson Individuals franchise owners earn?

Radisson Individuals makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Radisson Individuals?

Radisson Individuals is franchised by Choice Hotels International, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Radisson Individuals FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Radisson Individuals FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Radisson Individuals's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Radisson Individuals (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Radisson Individuals franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Radisson Individuals has 1 total units in the United States, including 1 franchised units and 0 company-owned units.

Is Radisson Individuals a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Radisson Individuals as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 40 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Radisson Individuals, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.