Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Radisson Hotels logo
FV-03862Data Quality·Minimal33%Limited DataFDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Radisson Hotels Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingMDFranchising since 2023CEOPatrick S. PaciousWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.
CAverage44/100

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Radisson Hotels franchise does not disclose total investment in its current FDD, including a $75K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. The 2024 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2024 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$10.0M
43rd pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Projection
Royalty
6.0%
53rd pct Lodging
Units
58
36th pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$10.0M
Avg $10.5M
Franchise Fee
$75K – $75K
Avg $60K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$1.0M – $1.8M
Avg $566K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Non-annual metric
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Avg 5.4%
Ongoing Fees
9.0% of rev
Avg 10.4%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
No SBA data
Not SBA-matched
System Size
58 units
Avg 229 units
Turnover Rate
10.3%
Avg 4.0%
Territory
Not protected
Franchisor can open nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
57 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $10.0M including a $75K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports hotel occupancy metrics rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 44/100 (higher is better).
  • LEGAL57 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Review the summary for patterns (franchisor-initiated vs. franchisee-initiated).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Choice Hotels International, Inc.
Parent company
Choice Hotels International, Inc.
Predecessor
Radisson Hotels International, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Director, President and Chief Executive Officer
Patrick S. Pacious
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
915 Meeting Street, Suite 600, North Bethesda, Maryland 20852
Auditor
Ernst & Young LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.5B
vs $1.4B prior year

Overview

About

Radisson franchisees operate upscale hotel properties, managing daily operations including housekeeping, front desk, food & beverage, maintenance, and guest services. Revenue derives from room bookings and ancillary hotel services, with corporate franchisor retaining 6% of gross room revenues regardless of profitability, plus marketing and other assessed fees.

CEO
Patrick S. Pacious
Headquarters
MD
Founded
1963
FDD year
2024

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Franchise fee$75,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty + ad fund6.0% + 3.0%
Working capital$1.0M – $1.8M

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$10.0M
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$1.0M – $1.8M
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$75K – $75K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.0%
typical 3–5%

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Radisson Hotels: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$30K
Inventory (initial)$300K $2.0M

What do units actually make?

Sample size49

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Radisson Hotels is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Radisson Hotels unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
No Item 7 range on file. Enter your own
FDD reports $1.0M–$1.8M

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$11.4M
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

An occupancy metric, not unit revenue

Sample size
49
vs category median 98
Reporting year
2023
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2024
Disclosed in the 2024 filing, covering 2023
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank43th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank53th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank36th
vs Lodging peers
Risk score rank79th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 175 Lodging brands

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

6.0% royalty + 3.0% ad fund.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports hotel occupancy metrics rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging averages

How Radisson Hotels Compares

Metric
Radisson Hotels
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
N/A
$10.5M
Revenue
N/A
$1.4M
Unit Count
58
229.333

Is the system healthy?

Total units58Verified — printed on page 81 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
Turnover rate10.3%

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
58
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
6
Terminated
1
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
1
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
10.3%
Company-owned
6
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
90%
vs corporate-owned

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
1
Terminated (3yr)
1
Non-renewed (3yr)
1
Transfers (3yr)
1
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
2021
70
Franchised units
2022
57-13
Franchised units
2023
52-5
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 5 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
5
Loan volume
$4.4M
Median loan
$130K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
N/A
limited sample (5 loans) — rate not shown below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
N/A
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
2
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

Verdict score44/100 (higher is better)
Litigation57 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage44Verdict score 44/100
Moderate confidence±10 pts
5575

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Ernst & Young LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1544.2MYr 2: $1401.9MTotal: $1311.8M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Franchisor (Choice Hotels International) FY2023 total revenues include royalty/licensing/management fees $513,412K, initial franchise fees $27,787K, platform/procurement fees $75,114K, owned hotels $97,641K, other $46,051K, and pass-through revenues from franchised/managed properties $784,160K

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryNo
Franchisor can competeYes
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalYes
RoFR response window90 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice365 days
Curable defaults2
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMaryland
Jury trial waiverYes
Litigation count57

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisor must approve site selected by franchisee; Franchise Committee reviews applications within 60 days
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

What do Radisson Hotels franchise owners earn?

No average owner earnings figure for Radisson Hotels is on file. Item 19 — where a franchisor may disclose what its outlets earn — is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and we have not established what this brand's FDD says. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the Radisson Hotels FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Radisson Hotels FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Radisson Hotels's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Radisson Hotels (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Radisson Hotels franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Radisson Hotels has 58 total units in the United States, including 52 franchised units and 6 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Radisson Hotels a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Radisson Hotels as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 44 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Radisson Hotels, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.