Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Honest logo

Honest Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsFloridaFranchising since 2016
BAbove averageAbove average53/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$1.9M – $2.7M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (4)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01222FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent86%
Manager-run OKYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Honest is a full-service restaurant franchise serving Indian cuisine, known for its Gujarati and North Indian dishes. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing the kitchen, dining service, and staffing.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Honest franchise requires a total initial investment of $1.9M – $2.7M, including a $25K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.5% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$1.9M – $2.7M
38th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.5%
23rd pct Service Resta…
Units
40
26th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$1.9M – $2.7M
Median $678K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$50K – $100K
Median $43K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.5%
Median 5.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
8.5% of rev
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (4)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 4 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
40 units
Median 20 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
5.0%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
2 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $1.9M – $2.7M including a $25K franchise fee, 5.5% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 53/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +4 franchised outlets in the latest year (6 opened, 2 closed); 5 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Honest Hospitality Group LLC
Parent company
H-1 Holdings LLC
Predecessor
Honest-1 Auto Care, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President and CEO
Michael B. Cowan
Incorporated in
Nevada
HQ
100 2nd Avenue S, Suite 1203, St. Petersburg, Florida 33701
Auditor
Prakash Chavda, CPA P.C.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$3.4M
vs $3.5M prior year

Affiliated brands

  • The Honest Reveira
  • Honest International Foods Private Limited

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Same owner · FDD Item 1

1 other brand on this site name H-1 Holdings LLC as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2025 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Michael B. Cowan
Headquarters
Florida
Founded
2007
FDD year
2025
States available
17

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 236% above the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$1.9M – $2.7MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 20 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty5.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund0.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$50K – $100K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Honest: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$25K$25K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$50K$100K
Equipment, build-out, other$1.8M$2.6M
Total initial investment$1.9M$2.7M

Source: Honest 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$1.9M – $2.7M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$50K – $100K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.5%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Honest: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.5% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Technology fee$1K
Transfer fee$27K
Renewal fee$25K
Inventory (initial)$217K – $289K
Total fee load8.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Honest makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Honest unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $1.9M–$2.7M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $50K–$100K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$2.4M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.5% — above the Full-Service Restaurants median of 7.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -4.9% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How Honest Compares

Metric
Honest
Category median
vs median
Investment
$2.3M
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
40
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units40Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 48 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth-4.9% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate5.0% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
40
Opened
6
Last reporting year
Closed
2
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
5.0%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
95%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-4.9%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-4.9%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
5
0.13 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
3
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Ceased ops
5.0%
Units that stopped operating
2022
31
Franchised units
2023
36+5
Franchised units
2024
40+4
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 20 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 20 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • Maryland
  • Michigan

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

45 current owners across 20 states.

  • NJ 9
  • FL 4
  • TX 4
  • IL 3
  • MA 3
  • CA 2
  • GA 2
  • MD 2
  • NC 2
  • NY 2
  • OH 2
  • PA 2
  • +8 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 4 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
4
Loan volume
$1.9M
Median loan
$448K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (4)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 4 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (4)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (4)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
3
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (4)
Verdict score53/100 (higher is better)
Litigation2 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average53Verdict score 53/100

Honest presents moderate-to-high risk due to lack of financial transparency (no Item 19 data), small/slow-growing unit base, unprotected territory, and recent franchisor litigation against a franchisee.

Why this reads harsher than the B grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

Moderate confidence±10 pts
4363

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (plaintiff).

Two franchisor-initiated federal lawsuits (2025) against terminated/transferring franchisees for breach of franchise agreements, trade secret misappropriation, trademark infringement, and fraudulent transfers; Honest1 sought injunctive relief and damages in both.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Prakash Chavda, CPA P.C.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $3.4MYr 2: $3.5MNon-royalty: $0.5M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 attaches the audited financial statements of Honest Hospitality Group LLC, the franchisor, for the years ended December 31, 2024 and 2023. 2024 revenue of $3,447,248 is royalty fees ($3,344,248) plus franchise fees ($103,000); net income $1,173,371; members' contribution (equity) $934,751 on total assets of $1,001,640.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 53 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNo Item 19 financial performance data disclosed (average revenue and net income not provided) — impossible to assess profitability and ROI on $1.86M-$2.69M investment
  2. 02HIGHActive litigation against franchisee in May 2024 for breach of restrictive covenants suggests enforcement challenges and potential disputes over post-termination obligations
  3. 03MEDSlow unit growth of only 11.1% YoY with only 40 units total indicates limited brand momentum and market traction
  4. 04MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk — franchisor can place additional units in your market without compensation
  5. 05MEDHigh initial investment ($1.86M-$2.69M) relative to small franchise system size and growth rate suggests limited economies of scale

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training275 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory radius3 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice90 days
Termination groundsℹ13
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawFlorida
Litigation count2
View Item 3 litigation summary

Two franchisor-initiated federal lawsuits (2025) against terminated/transferring franchisees for breach of franchise agreements, trade secret misappropriation, trademark infringement, and fraudulent transfers; Honest1 sought injunctive relief and damages in both.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
143 hrs
On-the-job training
132 hrs
Training location
St. Petersburg, Florida
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
40 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
both
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Toast
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: Toast

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

45 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 45 contacts · $49
Free preview
(973) 270-••••NJ
Unlock all 45 contacts
(973) 396-••••NJ
(678) 771-••••GA
(804) 477-••••VA
(414) 212-••••WI

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Honest franchise?

The total investment to open a Honest franchise ranges from $1.9M – $2.7M, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Honest franchise owners earn?

Honest makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Honest?

Honest is franchised by Honest Hospitality Group LLC. Its parent company is H-1 Holdings LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Honest FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Honest FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Honest's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Honest (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Honest franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Honest has 40 total units in the United States, including 40 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 6 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Honest a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Honest as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 53 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Honest, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.