Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Petro Stopping Centers logo

Petro Stopping Centers Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Pet ServicesOHFranchising since 2008
BAbove averageAbove average59/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$1.6M – $28.9M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01936FDD 2026Data QualityStandard76%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Petro Stopping Centers, part of TA, is a travel-center and truck-stop franchise offering fuel, restaurants, convenience retail, and driver services like showers and parking. Franchisees own and operate a large travel plaza managing fuel, foodservice, and retail.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Petro Stopping Centers franchise requires a total initial investment of $1.6M – $28.9M, including a $140K franchise fee and an ongoing 4.5% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$1.6M – $28.9M
93rd pct Pet Services
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
4.5%
6th pct Pet Services
Units
77
75th pct Pet Services
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Pet Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$1.6M – $28.9M
Median $327K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$140K – $140K
Median $49K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$491K – $2.7M
Median $33K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
4.5%
Median 6.5%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
4.5% of rev
Median 8.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
77 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
1.3%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
10 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Pet Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $1.6M – $28.9M including a $140K franchise fee, 4.5% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 59/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +7 franchised outlets in the latest year (8 opened, 1 closed) (Item 20).
  • LEGAL10 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Review the summary for patterns (franchisor-initiated vs. franchisee-initiated).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Petro Franchise Systems LLC
Parent company
TravelCenters of America Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2026 FDD
Ultimate parent
BP Products North America Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2026 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer and Director
Jason Nordin
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
24601 Center Ridge Road, Westlake, Ohio 44145-5634
Auditor
Deloitte & Touche LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$77.3B
vs $79.4B prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Jason Nordin
Headquarters
OH
Founded
2008
FDD year
2026
States available
14

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 4560% above the typical pet services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$1.6M – $28.9MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 36 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$140,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 28 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty4.5%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$491K – $2.7M

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Petro Stopping Centers: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$140K$140K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$491K$2.7M
Equipment, build-out, other$928K$26.1M
Total initial investment$1.6M$28.9M

Source: Petro Stopping Centers 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$1.6M – $28.9M
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$491K – $2.7M
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$140K – $140K
Bottom third — review vs category
Royalty
4.5%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
$3,000 per month flat fee (Monthly Advertising Fee), incr…
Total fee load
4.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Petro Stopping Centers: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty4.5% of gross sales
Technology fee$100
Training fee$35K
Transfer fee$45K
Renewal fee$25K
Inventory (initial)$0 – $1.6M
Total fee load4.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Petro Stopping Centers makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Petro Stopping Centers unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $1.6M–$28.9M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $491K–$2.7M

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$16.8M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 137 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 4.5% — below the Pet Services median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 63.6% CAGR over 3 years across 77 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Pet Services medians

How Petro Stopping Centers Compares

Metric
Petro Stopping Centers
Category median
vs median
Investment
$15.2M
$327Kmiddle half $123K–$679K · n=66
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$602Kmiddle half $281K–$925K · n=26
N/A
Unit Count
77
18middle half 4–70 · n=66
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Pet Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units77Verified — printed on page 79 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+63.6% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate1.3% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
77
Opened
8
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
1.3%
Company-owned
59
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
23%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+63.6%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+63.6%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
1
Reacquired
1
Franchisor bought back
2023
11
Franchised units
2024
11±0
Franchised units
2025
18+7
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 14 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

14

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score59/100 (higher is better)
Litigation10 cases · none name the franchisor
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average59Verdict score 59/100
Low confidence±15 pts
4474

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

Petro Franchise Systems LLC has no pending or concluded litigation. Parent/affiliate entities have 5 currently effective injunctions (California UST compliance, CFTC propane manipulation, ARCO antitrust, Atlantic Refining FTC, Richfield Oil antitrust) and several pending matters including Deepwater Horizon oil spill proceedings, Pennsylvania and Maryland MTBE lawsuits, and Mexican class actions.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Deloitte & Touche LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $77336.0MYr 2: $79377.0MTotal: $79694.0MNon-royalty: $2172.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 financials are the audited consolidated statements of BP Corporation North America Inc. (BPCNA), the indirect parent that guarantees Petro Franchise's performance; figures originally reported in US$ millions and converted to absolute dollars. franchisor_net_worth reflects BPCNA shareholders' equity ($21,930M); total equity including non-controlling interests is $35,093M.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 59 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGHMassive litigation exposure: Deepwater Horizon (hundreds of lawsuits), UST environmental liability, MTBE contamination, antitrust/price manipulation, and False Claims Act settlement create ongoing financial and reputational risk
  2. 02MINORComplex tiered royalty structure (4.5%/2% on QSR + per-gallon fuel fees) creates revenue leakage; fuel margins are notoriously thin in this sector
  3. 03MINOREnvironmental liability exposure (USTs, MTBE) creates potential franchisee indemnification risk if parent company defaults

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 137 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 4.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training526 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ75 mi
Right of first refusalℹNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ1
Curable defaultsℹ9
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawOH
Litigation count10
View Item 3 litigation summary

Petro Franchise Systems LLC has no pending or concluded litigation. Parent/affiliate entities have 5 currently effective injunctions (California UST compliance, CFTC propane manipulation, ARCO antitrust, Atlantic Refining FTC, Richfield Oil antitrust) and several pending matters including Deepwater Horizon oil spill proceedings, Pennsylvania and Maryland MTBE lawsuits, and Mexican class actions.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
120 hrs
On-the-job training
406 hrs
Training location
Company Location (Petro/TA Operating sites), Petro Training Center Lodi OH, Your Site
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
30 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects, franchisor must approve (generally within 30 days of signing)
POS system
Proprietary Systems
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: Proprietary Systems

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

13 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 13 contacts · $49
Free preview
954-993-••••
Unlock all 13 contacts
(814) 823-••••
(440) 808-••••
(865) 806-••••
702-845-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Petro Stopping Centers franchise?

The total investment to open a Petro Stopping Centers franchise ranges from $1.6M – $28.9M, with an initial franchise fee of $140K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Petro Stopping Centers franchise owners earn?

Petro Stopping Centers makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Petro Stopping Centers?

Petro Stopping Centers is franchised by Petro Franchise Systems LLC. Its parent company is TravelCenters of America Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is BP Products North America Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Petro Stopping Centers FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Petro Stopping Centers FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Petro Stopping Centers's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Petro Stopping Centers (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Petro Stopping Centers franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Petro Stopping Centers has 77 total units in the United States, including 18 franchised units and 59 company-owned units. 8 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Petro Stopping Centers a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Petro Stopping Centers as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 59 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Petro Stopping Centers, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Pet Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Pet Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.