Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
NrGize Lifestyle Cafe logo

NrGize Lifestyle Cafe Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsAZFranchising since 2006
BAbove averageAbove average54/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$110K – $454K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (6)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01799FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

NrGize Lifestyle Cafe is a quick-service franchise serving protein smoothies, energy drinks, and supplements, often inside fitness clubs. Franchisees run the cafes, managing prep, retail supplements, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A NrGize Lifestyle Cafe franchise requires a total initial investment of $110K – $454K, including a $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$110K – $454K
6th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
48th pct Service Resta…
Units
57
67th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$110K – $454K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$30K – $30K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$5K – $15K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
6.5% of rev
Median 7.5%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (6)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 6 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
57 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
1.8%
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
20 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $110K – $454K including a $30K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 54/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (1 opened, 1 closed); 1 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • LEGAL20 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Review the summary for patterns (franchisor-initiated vs. franchisee-initiated).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Kahala Franchising, L.L.C.
Parent company
MTY Franchising USA, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
MTY Food Group, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2025 FDD
Predecessor
Kahala Franchise Corp.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Eric Lefebvre
CEO experience
19 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
AZ
HQ
9311 E. Via De Ventura, Scottsdale, Arizona 85258
Auditor
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP (PwC)
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$580.3M
vs $263.7M prior year

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 7

26 other brands on this site name MTY Food Group, Inc. as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Portfolio: MTY Food Group

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2025 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Eric Lefebvre
Headquarters
AZ
FDD year
2025
States available
11

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 42% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$110K – $454KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 41 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Verified — printed on page 31 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Ad fund0.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 34 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$5K – $15K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown13 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$14K$30K
Lease Review Fee$0$3K
Rent/Security Deposit (for 3 months)$6K$30K
Travel and Living Expenses (2 persons) while training, not including salaries, if any, for you and your employees$3K$5K
Real Estate——
Leasehold Improvements, Restaurant Equipment, Furniture, and Small Wares, Menu Panels, Computer Hardware, Cameras, Architectural Fees, Signage, Security Devices and Security Software, if applicable (c$66K$335K
PCI Compliance Costs$150$1K
Opening Inventory (food and paper)$3K$7K
Business Insurance$1K$5K
Miscellaneous Opening Costs$5K$16K
Grand Opening Marketing$5K$5K
Depository Account$3K$3K
Additional Funds - 3 month initial period$5K$15K
Total initial investment$110K$454K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$110K – $454K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$5K – $15K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
6.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

NrGize Lifestyle Cafe: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.5% of gross sales
Technology fee$75
Training fee$1K
Transfer fee$8K
Renewal fee$15K
Inventory (initial)$3K – $7K
Total fee load6.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

NrGize Lifestyle Cafe makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one NrGize Lifestyle Cafe unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $110K–$454K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $5K–$15K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$292K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 136 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.5% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -5.0% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How NrGize Lifestyle Cafe Compares

Metric
NrGize Lifestyle Cafe
Category median
vs median
Investment
$282K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
57
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units57Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 86 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth-5.0% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate1.8% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
57
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
1.8%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-5.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-5.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
4
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
1
0.02 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
7.0%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Ceased ops
1.8%
Units that stopped operating
2022
60
Franchised units
2023
57-3
Franchised units
2024
57±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 3 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 3 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

0 current owners across 0 states; 4 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

    Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

    SBA loan performance

    Government records

    SBA Loan Data

    Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 6 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

    Total loans
    6
    Loan volume
    $437K
    Median loan
    $77K
    50th percentile
    Charge-off rate
    Under 10 loans (6)
    Insufficient SBA coverage: 6 loans, rate hidden below 10

    Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

    Repayment rate (PIF)
    Under 10 loans (6)
    5-yr charge-off
    Under 10 loans (6)
    Loans approved 2021+
    Active lenders
    5
    Defaults
    N/A

    Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

    What could kill this investment?

    SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (6)
    Verdict score54/100 (higher is better)
    Litigation20 cases
    Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

    Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

    Risk analysis

    FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

    Risk & Legal

    BAbove average54Verdict score 54/100

    NrGize presents meaningful risks due to undisclosed financials, unprotected territory, litigation history involving misrepresentation, and an opaque unit economics picture that prevents accurate ROI assessment.

    Moderate confidence±9 pts
    4563

    Litigation (Item 3)

    Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

    20 cases disclosed involving franchisor and affiliates/predecessors. Includes concluded arbitrations and litigation for Kahala Franchising, MTY USA predecessor, SweetFrog, Famous Dave's, Papa Murphy's, Wetzel's Pretzels, VI BrandCo, BF Acquisition, Maui Wowi, and Blimpie. Two current fiscal year suits by franchisor against franchisees for breach of contract.

    Bankruptcy (Item 4)

    None disclosed

    Audited financials (Item 21)

    Yes · PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP (PwC)

    Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

    Yr 1: $580.3MYr 2: $263.7MNon-royalty: $51.7M

    Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

    Audited consolidated financial statements are for MTY Franchising USA, Inc. (the franchisor's parent), not the franchisor entity (Kahala Franchising, L.L.C.) itself. Figures reported in thousands of US dollars; FY ended November 30, 2023 (revenue $580,280K) and 2022 (revenue $263,686K). Auditor opinion dated February 2, 2024, Montreal, Canada.

    ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

    Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

    • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
    • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
    • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
    • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
    • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

    Score breakdown · what drove the 54 / 100 verdict

    1. 01MINORNo Item 19 (Average Unit Volume) disclosure—inability to assess unit economics or profitability claims
    2. 02HIGHMultiple litigation matters involving breach of contract and misrepresentation allegations against franchisor
    3. 03MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk from other NrGize franchisees and company-owned units
    4. 04MINORRoyalty structure ($150/week minimum) represents fixed overhead even during slow revenue periods
    5. 05MEDOnly 57 total units with unknown growth trajectory suggests limited brand recognition and system maturity
    6. 06MINORTwo active franchisor lawsuits against franchisees signal potential disputes over performance standards or contract terms

    Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

    Showing the headline figures — all 136 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

    Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

    What are you signing up for?

    Ongoing fees run about 6.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

    Initial term10 yrs
    Renewal term5 yrs
    TerritoryNone (caution)
    Initial training56 hrs

    Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

    FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

    Contract & Territory Detail

    Initial term10 years
    Renewal term5 years
    Allowed renewalsℹ1
    Territory typeNo territory protection
    Protected territoryNo
    Exclusive territoryℹNo
    Online sales rightsℹGranted
    Franchisor can competeYes
    Hire a manager?Allowed
    Owner-operatorOptional
    Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
    Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
    Right of first refusalℹYes
    Transfer requires consentYes
    Termination notice14 days
    Curable defaultsℹ5
    Mandatory arbitrationYes
    Arbitration locationfranchisee_state
    Jury trial waiverYes
    Governing lawArizona
    Litigation count20
    View Item 3 litigation summary

    20 cases disclosed involving franchisor and affiliates/predecessors. Includes concluded arbitrations and litigation for Kahala Franchising, MTY USA predecessor, SweetFrog, Famous Dave's, Papa Murphy's, Wetzel's Pretzels, VI BrandCo, BF Acquisition, Maui Wowi, and Blimpie. Two current fiscal year suits by franchisor against franchisees for breach of contract.

    Items 10, 11

    Training & Operations

    Classroom training
    40 hrs
    On-the-job training
    16 hrs
    Training location
    Online, KTEC (Kahala Training & Education Center) in Scottsdale, AZ; in-store training at training restaurant in Arizona
    Time to open
    9 mo
    From signing to launch
    Franchisor financing
    Offered
    Item 10

    Items 5 & 11

    Franchisor Support

    ✓Site selection assistance
    ✓Grand opening support
    ✓Lease negotiation help

    Item 20 · call current owners

    Franchisee Contacts

    4 owners to call

    Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

    Unlock 4 contacts · $49

    Frequently asked questions

    Frequently Asked Questions

    How much does it cost to open a NrGize Lifestyle Cafe franchise?

    The total investment to open a NrGize Lifestyle Cafe franchise ranges from $110K – $454K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

    What do NrGize Lifestyle Cafe franchise owners earn?

    NrGize Lifestyle Cafe makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

    Who owns NrGize Lifestyle Cafe?

    NrGize Lifestyle Cafe is franchised by Kahala Franchising, L.L.C.. Its parent company is MTY Franchising USA, Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is MTY Food Group, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

    What is Item 19 in the NrGize Lifestyle Cafe FDD?

    The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the NrGize Lifestyle Cafe FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

    What is NrGize Lifestyle Cafe's franchise failure rate?

    SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for NrGize Lifestyle Cafe (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

    How many NrGize Lifestyle Cafe franchise locations are there?

    As of their most recent FDD filing, NrGize Lifestyle Cafe has 57 total units in the United States, including 57 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

    Is NrGize Lifestyle Cafe a good franchise to buy?

    FranchiseVerdict rates NrGize Lifestyle Cafe as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 54 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

    Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

    For franchisors

    Are you the franchisor?

    If you represent NrGize Lifestyle Cafe, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

    Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

    Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

    Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.