Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
NextHome logo

NextHome Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Real EstateCAFranchising since 2014
AStrongest tierStrongest tier76/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$17K – $222K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01775FDD 2026Data QualityStandard76%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

NextHome is a residential real-estate brokerage franchise built around a consumer-friendly, tech-forward brand. Franchisees run local offices recruiting and supporting agents, earning from commissions on home sales.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A NextHome franchise requires a total initial investment of $17K – $222K, including a $5K – $10K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$17K – $222K
5th pct Real Estate
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Set by a formula
Units
587
83rd pct Real Estate
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Real Estate · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$17K – $222K
Median $133K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$5K – $10K
Median $30K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$5K – $100K
Median $22K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 6.0%
Ongoing Fees
Not extracted
Median 7.5%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10
System Size
587 units
Median 70 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
10.7%
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
3 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Real Estate median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $17K – $222K including a $5K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 76/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -21 franchised outlets in the latest year (42 opened, 63 closed); 7 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 43.4% CAGR over 3 years with 587 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
NextHome, Inc.
Predecessor
Realty World - Northern California, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer and Director
James M. Dwiggins
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
4309 Hacienda Drive, Suite 110, Pleasanton, CA 94588
Auditor
Citrin Cooperman & Company, LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$12.6M
vs $12.5M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
James M. Dwiggins
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2014
FDD year
2026
States available
46

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 10% below the typical real estate franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$17K – $222KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 29 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$5,000Verified — printed on page 15 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
RoyaltySet by a formula
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$5K – $100K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

NextHome: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$5K$5K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$5K$100K
Equipment, build-out, other$7K$117K
Total initial investment$17K$222K

Source: NextHome 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$17K – $222K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$5K – $100K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$5K – $10K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
Per Licensed Associate: (a) 6% of Adjusted Gross Income (…
Ad fund
-n/d

Ongoing fees · Item 6

NextHome: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Technology fee$80
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$5K
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

NextHome makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one NextHome unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $17K–$222K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $5K–$100K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$172K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 130 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 43.4% CAGR over 3 years across 587 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Real Estate medians

How NextHome Compares

Metric
NextHome
Category median
vs median
Investment
$119K
$133Kmiddle half $78K–$190K · n=89
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$384Kmiddle half $254K–$616K · n=12
N/A
Unit Count
587
70middle half 27–191 · n=89
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Real Estate brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units587Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 54 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth+43.4% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate10.7% (caution)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
587
Opened
42
Last reporting year
Closed
63
Terminated
9
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
24
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
10.7%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+43.4%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+43.4%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
9
Not renewed
24
Signed, not yet open
7
0.01 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
53
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2023
602
Franchised units
2024
608+6
Franchised units
2025
587-21
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 47 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 47 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

533 current owners across 46 states; 53 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

  • FL 63
  • CA 62
  • TX 40
  • NC 33
  • VA 25
  • MI 23
  • WI 19
  • NY 18
  • NJ 17
  • GA 13
  • CO 12
  • PA 12
  • +34 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 1 7(a) loan on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$350K
Median loan
$350K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (1)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
1
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$332K
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
3

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (1)
Verdict score76/100 (higher is better)
Litigation3 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier76Verdict score 76/100

NextHome presents high risk due to a contracting franchise system, ongoing antitrust litigation threatening its commission-based model, absence of financial transparency (no Item 19), and unprotected territories—making unit profitability and competitive viability uncertain.

Why this reads harsher than the A grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
6389

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Citrin Cooperman & Company, LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $12.6MYr 2: $12.5MNon-royalty: $0.3M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

FY ended September 30, 2021. Total revenues comprise royalty fees, technology fee and advertising fund, conference sponsorships/tickets, service fees, initial franchise fees, franchise renewal/transfer fees, and other income. ASC 606 adopted in FY2020.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 76 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORDeclining unit count (-3.5% YoY; 587 units suggests contraction and potential system weakness)
  2. 02MEDMultiple ongoing and settled antitrust lawsuits targeting core business model (commission structure), indicating systemic legal/regulatory vulnerability
  3. 03MINORNo average revenue or net income disclosure (Item 19) prevents ROI assessment and suggests franchisor may be hiding unfavorable unit economics
  4. 04MINORUnprotected territory creates direct franchisee-to-franchisee competition within system
  5. 05MINORRoyalty structure heavily favors transaction-based model ($475/closing vs. $200/month flat), creating feast-or-famine cash flow for franchisees
  6. 06MINORLow franchise fee ($10,000) relative to startup costs ($16,750-$221,595) suggests significant ancillary costs are not transparent
  7. 07HIGHTrademark/domain litigation history (settled 2018) indicates past brand instability and IP management concerns

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 130 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

Litigation case detail3 matters · Item 3

Litigation cases

The franchisor

Pending (1)

  • Alejandro Lopez, individually and on behalf of similarly situated individuals v. NextHome, Inc., Realty Executives Intl. Svcs. LLC, and Shorewest Realtors, Inc.; subsequently consolidated with James Tuccori, Courtney Foregger, Kevin Cwynar, Dawid Zawislak, Michael D'Acquisot, and Alejandro Lopez v.

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2024-11-19 · United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division · 24-cv-11735; consolidated into 1:24-cv-00150

    “On November 19, 2024, Alejandro Lopez (“Lopez”) filed a class action lawsuit against us and 2 other real estate brokerages (collectively, the “Lopez Defendants”). Lopez – who is a home seller who also seeks to represent a class consisting of all persons in the United States who purchased residential real estate listed on certain Multiple Listing Services during the applicable limitations period”Page 14 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“Plaintiffs and most of the defendants (including us) entered into a unified written Class Settlement Agreement on October 10, 2025, which was preliminarily approved by the court on October 15, 2025. The cases were formally consolidated on October 22, 2025.”

Concluded (2)

  • Don Gibson, Lauren Criss, John Meiners, Daniel Umpa, individually and on behalf of all others similarly situated v. National Association of Realtors, NextHome, Inc., et al.

    settled

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2024-04-25 · United States District Court for the Western District of Missouri · 4:23-cv-00788-SRB

    “On April 25, 2024, Don Gibson, Lauren Criss, John Meiners and Daniel Umpa (collectively, the “Gibson Plaintiffs”) filed a class action lawsuit against NAR, us, and several other real estate brokerages, real estate brokerage owners and real estate brokerage franchisors (collectively, the “Gibson Defendants”).”Page 13 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“On September 30, 2024, we and the Gibson Plaintiffs entered into a settlement agreement under which we denied the Gibson Plaintiffs’ allegations and agreed to: (i) pay a total of $600,000 into a settlement fund;”

  • Realty World, Inc. v. NextHome, Inc. et al.

    settled

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2016-10-06 · United States District Court for the Northern District of California · 4:16-cv-5761

    “Realty World, Inc. v. NextHome, Inc. et al. (United States District Court for the Northern District of California, Case No. 4:16-cv-5761). RWNC became a master licensee of the Realty World brand in Northern California and portions of Nevada beginning in November 2001.”Page 11 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“The Settlement Agreement also provided that, in exchange for a payment of $1,000 from RWI, we would assign our rights under the MLA and related franchise agreements to RWI effective February 1, 2020, assuming certain conditions were met.” (page 12)

Item 3 lists the litigation the franchisor must disclose; a matter against a parent, an affiliate or a named officer is not a matter against the franchisor, and pending claims are allegations, not findings.

What are you signing up for?

Initial term1 yrs
Renewal term1 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training26 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term1 year
Renewal term1 year
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window15 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice20 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationCalifornia (metropolitan area of headquarters)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawCA
Litigation count3

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
26 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Online or franchisor headquarters in Pleasanton, California
Ongoing training
Optional
Time to open
2 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee (subject to franchisor approval)
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

586 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 586 contacts · $49
Free preview
864-556-••••SC
Unlock all 586 contacts
732-858-••••NJ
608-632-••••AZ
478-923-••••GA
570-730-••••PA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a NextHome franchise?

The total investment to open a NextHome franchise ranges from $17K – $222K, with an initial franchise fee of $5K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do NextHome franchise owners earn?

NextHome makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns NextHome?

NextHome is franchised by NextHome, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the NextHome FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the NextHome FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is NextHome's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for NextHome (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many NextHome franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, NextHome has 587 total units in the United States, including 587 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 42 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is NextHome a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates NextHome as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 76 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent NextHome, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Real Estate franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Real Estate category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.