Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Monkey Joe’s logo

Monkey Joe’s Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Recreation & EntertainmentGAFranchising since 2005
FWeakest tierWeakest tier6/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$681K – $1.2M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
27.8%
on 27 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01674Data QualityExcellent86%FDD 2022 · 4yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2022 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Monkey Joe's is a family entertainment franchise operating indoor play centers with inflatables, slides, and party rooms for kids. Franchisees run the venues, managing open play, parties, staffing, and safety.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Monkey Joe’s franchise requires a total initial investment of $681K – $1.2M, including a $40K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 27.8% charge-off rate across 27 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: F (Weakest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2022 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - figures are from a filing two or more years old

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$681K – $1.2M
38th pct Recreation & …
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
2nd pct Recreation & …
Units
14
29th pct Recreation & …
SBA charge-off
27.8%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Recreation & Entertainment · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$681K – $1.2M
Median $560K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$40K – $40K
Median $49K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$15K – $30K
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
7.0% of rev
Median 8.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
27.8%
27 loans · Median 12.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
System Size
14 units
Median 11 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
21.4%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
2 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Recreation & Entertainment median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $681K – $1.2M including a $40K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict F (Weakest tier), verdict score 6/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 27.8% across 27 loans (well above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -3 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 3 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAGItem 4 discloses a bankruptcy of an officer or of a company an officer ran, not of the franchisor. Review Item 4 for details.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Monkey Joe's Franchising, LLC
Parent company
Big Game Brands, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2022 FDD
CEO title
President
Daryl Dollinger
Incorporated in
GA
HQ
6090 Roswell Road, Atlanta, Georgia 30328
Auditor
Burns Herring, LLC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$810K
vs $411K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Daryl Dollinger
Headquarters
GA
Founded
2005
FDD year
2022
States available
5

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 72% above the typical recreation & entertainment franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$681K – $1.2MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 20 of the 2022 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$40,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2022 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2022 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2022 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$15K – $30K

Source: FDD 2022 · Items 5–7

Item 7 total vs its own lines

The filing's Item 7 TOTAL row prints $681,000 to $1,240,500. Its own line items add to $681,000 to $1,345,500. The total is shown as the franchisor printed it; the lines are listed as printed. Filing arithmetic: lows add to the printed $681,000 exactly; highs add to $1,345,500 while the table prints Total Estimated Initial Investment $681,000 to $1,240,500 (the cover repeats $1,240,500).

Full Item 7 breakdown14 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee is paid upfront as the Development Fee (See Note 1)$40K$40K
Rent (See Note 2)$40K$50K
Security Deposit (See Note 3)$6K$15K
Real Estate and Improvements (See Note 4)$300K$600K
Travel and Living Expenses while Training (See Note 5)$5K$10K
Furnishings, Fixtures, Equipment and Decorating (See Note 6)$185K$450K
Signage (See Note 7)$10K$15K
Opening Inventory$5K$14K
Technology Systems (See Note 8)$20K$30K
Grand Opening (See Note 9)$15K$18K
Professional Fees$25K$40K
Insurance (See Note 10)$10K$24K
Miscellaneous Opening Costs (See Note 11)$5K$10K
Additional Funds – 3 months (See Note 12)$15K$30K
Total initial investment$681K$1.3M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$681K – $1.2M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$15K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$40K – $40K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Monkey Joe’s: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$290
Transfer fee$20K
Renewal fee$40K
Inventory (initial)$5K – $14K
Total fee load7.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Monkey Joe’s makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Monkey Joe’s unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $681K–$1.2M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $15K–$30K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$983K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2022 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.0% (near the Recreation & Entertainment median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -57.6% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Recreation & Entertainment medians

How Monkey Joe’s Compares

Metric
Monkey Joe’s
Category median
vs median
Investment
$961K
$560Kmiddle half $268K–$1.5M · n=91
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$794Kmiddle half $424K–$1.6M · n=25
N/A
Unit Count
14
11middle half 3–64 · n=91
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Recreation & Entertainment brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units14Verified — printed on page 52 of the 2022 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-57.6% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate21.4% (caution)

Source: FDD 2022 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
14
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
3
Terminated
3
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
21.4%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-57.6%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-57.6%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
3
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Termination rate
21.4%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
21.4%
Units that stopped operating
2019
33
Franchised units
2020
17-16
Franchised units
2021
14-3
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 9 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 9 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

9 current owners across 9 states.

  • AR 1
  • GA 1
  • IL 1
  • MA 1
  • MD 1
  • MO 1
  • NJ 1
  • SC 1
  • VA 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 2 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

F
SBA Lending Health
Weak SBA lending record · 27.8% charge-off
Total loans
27
Loan volume
$8.0M
Median loan
$298K
average
Charge-off rate
27.8%
on 27 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
N/A
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
19
Defaults
5
Typical loan rate
6.2%
avg rate to borrowers
vs industry
N/A
Jobs supported
503
Lender concentration
N/A

Borrower mix: 0% went to startups / new businesses, 100% to established operators

Top lenders financing Monkey Joe’s franchisees

Synovus BankN/A loans—
Citizens State Bank of New CastleN/A loans—
Truist BankN/A loans—

Showing 3 of 19 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
2
Loan volume
$967K
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
N/A

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Monkey Joe’s from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Avg interest rate
6.21%
Avg chargeoff amount
$131K
Jobs supported
503

Top SBA lenders

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Synovus Bank3N/AN/A
2Citizens State Bank of New Castle2N/AN/A
3Truist Bank2N/AN/A
4Fulton Bank, National Association2N/AN/A
5Popular Bank2N/AN/A

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
GAGeorgia70--
FLFlorida20--
IAIowa20--
INIndiana20--
MAMassachusetts20--
NCNorth Carolina20--
NHNew Hampshire20--
PAPennsylvania20--
ALAlabama10--
NYNew York10--

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2007
1
2008
4
2009
2
2010
5
2011
2
2014
2
2016
4
2017
3
2018
1
2020
1

Borrower profile

Established (5+ yr)1 (50%)
Existing (2+ yr)1 (50%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

Lending insight

A 27.8% charge-off rate means roughly 1 in 4 franchisees failed to repay their SBA loan. Investigate what changed.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 27.8% — 74% above the 16.0% national norm, i.e. higher lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off27.8% · 27 loans
Verdict score6/100 (higher is better)
Litigation2 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

FWeakest tier6Verdict score 6/100

Monkey Joe's presents elevated risk due to significant unit decline, lack of financial disclosure, prior litigation involving fraudulent transfer allegations, and high capital requirement relative to system size and profitability opacity.

Moderate confidence±10 pts
016

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Two adversary proceedings filed in 2012 by Chapter 7 Trustees related to affiliate bankruptcies (S&Q Shack and Raving Brands). Both settled in 2017.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

Subject: an officer. An officer’s own bankruptcy or a company an officer ran, not the franchisor’s

Affiliate S&Q Shack and affiliate Raving Brands Inc. placed into involuntary Chapter 7 bankruptcy in 2010; bankruptcies terminated after 2017 settlement.

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Burns Herring, LLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.8MYr 2: $0.4M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 6 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORSystem declining 17.6% YoY (14 units) indicates loss of franchisee confidence and market contraction
  2. 02MEDNo Item 19 financial disclosure (avg revenue/net income not disclosed) prevents ROI verification and raises transparency concerns
  3. 03HIGH2012 bankruptcy adversary proceedings involving franchisor with allegations of fraudulent transfers, though resolved in 2017, suggest prior financial/governance instability
  4. 04MEDHigh total investment ($681k-$1.24M) combined with undisclosed profitability creates significant downside risk without upside visibility
  5. 05MINORSmall unit count (14) limits system support infrastructure and indicates weak brand momentum/market demand

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training60 hrs

Source: FDD 2022 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius5 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Non-compete (miles)ℹ3 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationAtlanta, Georgia (AAA office closest to principal executive office)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawGA
Litigation count2
View Item 3 litigation summary

Two adversary proceedings filed in 2012 by Chapter 7 Trustees related to affiliate bankruptcies (S&Q Shack and Raving Brands). Both settled in 2017.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
28 hrs
On-the-job training
32 hrs
Training location
Metro Atlanta, Georgia (Newnan, Georgia or designated training facility)
Time to open
11 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects; franchisor approves
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Aluvii
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: Aluvii

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

11 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 11 contacts · $49
Free preview
703-330-••••VA
Unlock all 11 contacts
314-275-••••MO
478-955-••••GA
732-553-••••NJ
309-693-••••IL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Monkey Joe’s franchise?

The total investment to open a Monkey Joe’s franchise ranges from $681K – $1.2M, with an initial franchise fee of $40K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Monkey Joe’s franchise owners earn?

Monkey Joe’s makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Monkey Joe’s?

Monkey Joe’s is franchised by Monkey Joe's Franchising, LLC. Its parent company is Big Game Brands, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2022 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Monkey Joe’s FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Monkey Joe’s FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Monkey Joe’s's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Monkey Joe’s has a charge-off rate of 27.8% across 27 loans, meaning 27.8% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Monkey Joe’s franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Monkey Joe’s has 14 total units in the United States, including 14 franchised units and 0 company-owned units.

Is Monkey Joe’s a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Monkey Joe’s as a F-grade franchise with a verdict score of 6 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Monkey Joe’s, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Recreation & Entertainment franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Recreation & Entertainment category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.