Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Kona Ice logo

Kona Ice Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsKYFranchising since 2008
BAbove averageAbove average69/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$179K – $227K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Limited · 33 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01429FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Kona Ice is a mobile shaved-ice franchise known for its brightly wrapped trucks serving flavored frozen treats at schools, events, and neighborhoods. Franchisees operate one or more trucks, with revenue driven by warm-weather foot traffic and community bookings.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Kona Ice franchise requires a total initial investment of $179K – $227K, including a $15K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$179K – $227K
17th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Flat fee
Units
1,820
94th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$179K – $227K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$15K – $15K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$0 – $10K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 5.5%
Ongoing Fees
Not extracted
Median 7.5%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited · 33 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 33 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units
System Size
1,820 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
2.0%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $179K – $227K including a $15K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 69/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +146 franchised outlets in the latest year (182 opened, 36 closed) (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 22.4% CAGR over 3 years with 1820 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Kona Ice, Inc.
Parent company
Kona Ice Holdings, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
Kona Ice TopCo, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2025 FDD
Predecessor
None
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer, President, Secretary and Board Member
Tony Lamb
Incorporated in
KY
HQ
5945 Centennial Circle, Florence, Kentucky 41042
Auditor
Barnes Dennig
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$53.7M
vs $55.7M prior year

Affiliated brands

  • shares our pr
  • KonaOS Holdings
  • Mobile Cookie Company
  • Franchisor shares our pr
  • TMJ Insurance
  • Kreations Flavoring
  • Mobile Coffee Company

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 8

1 other brand on this site name Kona Ice TopCo, LLC as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2025 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Tony Lamb
Headquarters
KY
Founded
2008
FDD year
2025
States available
47

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 58% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$179K – $227KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 24 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$15,000Verified — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
RoyaltyFlat fee
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$0 – $10K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Kona Ice: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$15K$15K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$0$10K
Equipment, build-out, other$164K$202K
Total initial investment$179K$227K

Source: Kona Ice 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$179K – $227K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$0 – $10K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$15K – $15K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
$3,000 for years one and two, $4,000 for years three thro…
Ad fund
Currently $500 per year per KEV/KEV 2.0 Truck (Brand Fund…

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Kona Ice: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Technology fee$600
Transfer fee$8K
Renewal fee$8K
Inventory (initial)$10K – $10K
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Kona Ice makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Kona Ice unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $179K–$227K (midpoint used)
Item 7 didn't break this out. Enter your pre-opening cash burn

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$208K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 104 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 22.4% CAGR over 3 years across 1,820 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Kona Ice Compares

Metric
Kona Ice
Category median
vs median
Investment
$203K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
1,820
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units1,820Verified — printed on page 55 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+22.4% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate2.0% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
1,820
Opened
182
Last reporting year
Closed
36
Turnover rate
2.0%
Company-owned
4
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+22.4%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+22.4%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Ceased ops
1.3%
Units that stopped operating
2022
1,484
Franchised units
2023
1,670+186
Franchised units
2024
1,816+146
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 47 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 47 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

728 current owners across 47 states.

  • FL 84
  • TX 79
  • CA 78
  • GA 32
  • NC 28
  • AZ 25
  • OH 24
  • MD 23
  • MI 21
  • SC 20
  • IL 19
  • IN 19
  • +35 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
33
Loan volume
$5.1M
Median loan
$137K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Limited · 33 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 33 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Limited · 33 loans
5-yr charge-off
Limited · 33 loans
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
25
Defaults
0
Typical loan rate
7.4%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
8.9%
n=160 loans
Jobs supported
222
4.3 per loan
Lender concentration
12%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 40% went to startups / new businesses, 60% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in mobile food services, franchised businesses charge off at 8.9% vs 13.0% for independents — franchising is associated with 32% lower SBA default risk in this category.

Vintage analysis

Kona Ice charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Kona Ice charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 3 vintages from 2017 to 2019. Rates range from 0.0% to 0.0%.0%5%10%'17'18'19

Top lenders financing Kona Ice franchisees

The Huntington National Bank4 loans0.0%
Hawthorn Bank2 loans0.0%
Grow America Fund, Incorporated2 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 25 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
6
Loan volume
$2.0M
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
42

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Kona Ice from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
0.0%
Avg SBA guarantee
71%
Avg interest rate
7.40%
Lender concentration
12.1%
Job velocity
4.3 per $100K
Startup risk premium
0.0pp
NAICS benchmark
3.6%
NAICS 722330
Jobs supported
222

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 12% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1The Huntington National Bank4$211K0.0%
2Hawthorn Bank2$178K0.0%
3Grow America Fund, Incorporated2$242K0.0%
4Newtek Small Business Finance, Inc.2$205K0.0%
5Cadence Bank2$420K0.0%
6Ballston Spa National Bank2$200K0.0%
7TD Bank, National Association1$50K0.0%
8First United Bank and Trust Company1$150KN/A
9Enterprise Bank & Trust1$454K0.0%
10PNC Bank, National Association1$35K0.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
CACalifornia500.0%
OHOhio500.0%
KYKentucky300.0%
AZArizona200.0%
FLFlorida20--
MOMissouri200.0%
NYNew York200.0%
VAVirginia200.0%
COColorado10--
INIndiana10--

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2014
1
2015
3
2017
4
2018
4
2019
5
2020
2
2021
2
2022
3
2023
2
2025
7

Borrower profile

Existing (2+ yr)13 (52%)
Startup6 (24%)
New (< 2 yr)4 (16%)
Unanswered1 (4%)
Ownership change1 (4%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offLimited · 33 loans
Verdict score69/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average69Verdict score 69/100

Kona Ice presents moderate-to-cautious risk: thin financial transparency, modest growth trajectory, and heavy reliance on seasonal demand without disclosed unit economics.

High confidence±4 pts
6573

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item (Item 3).

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Barnes Dennig

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $53.7MYr 2: $55.7M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

No audited financial statements present in this image folder. Pages p182-p188 contain only Exhibit D signature page, Exhibit E Brand Manual table of contents, and Exhibit F list of current/former franchisees (Kona Ice, Inc. 2025 FDD). No Item 21 balance sheet, income statement, or Independent Auditor's Report appears, so all financial figures are null.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 69 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNo Item 19 (Average Revenue/Net Income) disclosed — impossible to validate ROI claims or profitability benchmarks
  2. 02MINORModest unit growth of 8.7% YoY suggests market saturation or franchisee struggles in a seasonal business model
  3. 03MINORFlat/low royalty structure ($3,000–$5,000/year) may indicate franchisor dependency on franchise fees rather than system health
  4. 04MEDHigh initial investment ($178k–$227k) relative to disclosed information creates unquantified risk exposure
  5. 05MINORSeasonal revenue model (frozen treats) creates cash flow vulnerability; no disclosure of off-season survival strategies
  6. 06MED10-year term is relatively long; redemption/exit clauses not disclosed

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 104 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training14 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Territory population100,000
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeNo
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ20 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice60 days
Curable defaultsℹ1
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationFlorence, Kentucky (principal city closest to franchisor's principal place of business)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawKY
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item (Item 3).

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
14 hrs
On-the-job training
10 hrs
Training location
Corporate office, Florence, Kentucky
Ongoing training
Required
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Square
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Square

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

728 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 728 contacts · $49
Free preview
(833) 879-••••AZ
Unlock all 728 contacts
(909) 714-••••CA
(321) 697-••••FL
(407) 376-••••FL
(813) 299-••••FL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Kona Ice franchise?

The total investment to open a Kona Ice franchise ranges from $179K – $227K, with an initial franchise fee of $15K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Kona Ice franchise owners earn?

Kona Ice makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Kona Ice?

Kona Ice is franchised by Kona Ice, Inc.. Its parent company is Kona Ice Holdings, LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Kona Ice TopCo, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Kona Ice FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Kona Ice FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Kona Ice's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Kona Ice (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Kona Ice franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Kona Ice has 1,820 total units in the United States, including 1,816 franchised units and 4 company-owned units. 182 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Kona Ice a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Kona Ice as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 69 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Kona Ice, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.