Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
HomeSmart logo

HomeSmart Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Real EstateAZFranchising since 2005
AStrongest tierStrongest tier71/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$66K – $205K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
0.0%
on 14 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01212FDD 2026Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

HomeSmart is a residential real-estate brokerage franchise built on a high-efficiency, technology-driven model. Franchisees run offices recruiting and supporting agents, earning from commissions and fees.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A HomeSmart franchise requires a total initial investment of $66K – $205K, including a $20K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 0.0% charge-off rate across 14 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$66K – $205K
50th pct Real Estate
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Set by a formula
Units
258
69th pct Real Estate
SBA charge-off
0.0%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Real Estate · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$66K – $205K
Median $133K
near median
Franchise Fee
$20K – $20K
Median $30K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$25K – $50K
Median $22K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 6.0%
Ongoing Fees
4.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
0.0%
14 loans · Median 15.7%
below median ↓, better than category
System Size
258 units
Median 70 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
4.7%
Median 7.5%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
4 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Real Estate median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $66K – $205K including a $20K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 71/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 0.0% across 14 loans (well below the franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -4 franchised outlets in the latest year (8 opened, 12 closed); 6 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 20.6% CAGR over 3 years with 258 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
HomeSmart International, LLC
Parent company
HomeSmart Holdings, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2026 FDD
Predecessor
and Affiliates
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer and Founder
Matt Widdows
Incorporated in
AZ
HQ
8388 East Hartford Dr., Suite 100, Scottsdale, AZ 85255
Auditor
Richey, May & Co., LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$430.6M
vs $459.0M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Matt Widdows
Headquarters
AZ
Founded
2005
FDD year
2026
States available
40

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost is about typical for a real estate franchise (near the category median).

Total investment (Item 7)$66K – $205KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$20,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
RoyaltySet by a formula
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$25K – $50K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

HomeSmart: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$20K$20K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$25K$50K
Equipment, build-out, other$21K$135K
Total initial investment$66K$205K

Source: HomeSmart 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$66K – $205K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$25K – $50K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$20K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
Greater of ($12/agent/month plus $120 per completed side)…
Ad fund
Franchise Marketing Accrual Fund Contributions are equal …
Total fee load
4.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

HomeSmart: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Technology fee$250
Training fee$500
Transfer fee$4K
Renewal fee$10K
Total fee load4.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

HomeSmart makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one HomeSmart unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $66K–$205K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $25K–$50K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$173K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 124 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 4.0% — below the Real Estate median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 20.6% CAGR over 3 years across 258 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Real Estate medians

How HomeSmart Compares

Metric
HomeSmart
Category median
vs median
Investment
$135K
$133Kmiddle half $78K–$190K · n=89
Near median
Revenue
N/A
$384Kmiddle half $254K–$616K · n=12
N/A
Unit Count
258
70middle half 27–191 · n=89
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Real Estate brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units258Verified — printed on page 38 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-2.2% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate4.7% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
258
Opened
8
Last reporting year
Closed
12
Terminated
12
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
4.7%
Company-owned
57
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
78%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-2.2%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+20.6%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
12
Not renewed
0
Transferred
2
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
6
0.02 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
16
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2023
180
Franchised units
2024
205+25
Franchised units
2025
201-4
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 30 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 30 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

76 current owners across 28 states; 10 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

  • CA 14
  • NY 9
  • NJ 7
  • IL 6
  • WA 4
  • CO 3
  • MA 3
  • FL 2
  • GA 2
  • ID 2
  • LA 2
  • MN 2
  • +16 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

A
SBA Lending Health
Excellent SBA lending record · 0.0% charge-off
Total loans
14
Loan volume
$8.1M
Median loan
$467K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
0.0%
on 14 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
100.0%
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
8
Defaults
0
Typical loan rate
5.5%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
14.8%
brand beats franchise avg ↓
Jobs supported
658
8.1 per loan
Lender concentration
21%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 8% went to startups / new businesses, 92% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in offices of real estate agents and brokers, franchised businesses charge off at 14.8% vs 29.6% for independents — franchising is associated with 50% lower SBA default risk in this category.

Top lenders financing HomeSmart franchisees

Exchange Bank3 loans—
Enterprise Bank & Trust2 loans0.0%
TD Bank, National Association2 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 8 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
2
Loan volume
$998K
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
10

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for HomeSmart from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
0.0%
Avg SBA guarantee
75%
Avg interest rate
5.55%
Lender concentration
21.4%
Job velocity
8.1 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
8.5%
NAICS 531210
Jobs supported
658

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 21% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Exchange Bank3$2.1MN/A
2Enterprise Bank & Trust2$747K0.0%
3TD Bank, National Association2$1.7M0.0%
4U.S. Bank, National Association2$710K0.0%
5Wells Fargo Bank National Association2$461K0.0%
6PNC Bank, National Association1$266KN/A
7First Horizon Bank1$471KN/A
8City National Bank1$1.7MN/A

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
AZArizona700.0%
CACalifornia30--
NJNew Jersey200.0%
FLFlorida10--
ILIllinois10--

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2015
1
2017
1
2018
1
2019
4
2020
2
2021
2
2022
2
2024
1

Borrower profile

Existing (2+ yr)11 (92%)
New (< 2 yr)1 (8%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

Lending insight

With a 0.0% charge-off rate across 14 loans, banks have historically viewed this brand favorably for lending.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 0.0% — 100% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off0.0% · 14 loans
Verdict score71/100 (higher is better)
Litigation4 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier71Verdict score 71/100

HomeSmart presents meaningful caution-level risk: substantial litigation exposure, absence of financial performance data, opaque royalty mechanics, and going concern status undermine confidence despite unit growth and protected territories.

High confidence±4 pts
6775

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Washington State AOD (2020) re no-poaching provisions; Umpa v. HomeSmart et al. (W.D. Mo., filed 2023, antitrust class action re MLS commissions, settled 2024 for $4.7M plus practice changes); Boykin v. HomeSmart et al. (D. Nev., 2024, similar antitrust claims, resolved via Umpa settlement); Zawislak/D'Acquisto v. HomeSmart et al. (N.D. Ill., antitrust claims re inflated home prices, pending, HomeSmart denies wrongdoing).

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Richey, May & Co., LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $430.6MYr 2: $459.0MNon-royalty: $4.8M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 statements are the parent/guarantor HomeSmart Holdings, Inc. and Subsidiaries (consolidated), which guarantees franchisor HomeSmart International, LLC; the franchisor's own statements are not provided. Figures reported in thousands and scaled x1000. FY ended Dec 31, 2025. Balance sheet reconciles (assets 44,604 = liabilities 35,825 + equity 8,779). Consolidated revenue is predominantly real estate brokerage ($420.3M); franchise revenue only $5.4M and affiliated business services $4.8M (other_revenue). Revenue declined YoY ($458.97M 2024 to $430.61M 2025). Auditor issued a clean/unqualified opinion (no going-concern paragraph). Cover page carries a state-mandated "Financial Condition" risk factor stating the franchisor's condition calls into question its ability to provide services and support.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 71 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGHSignificant litigation portfolio including tortious interference, class action MLS disputes, TCPA violations, and no-poaching Assurance of Discontinuance—indicating operational and compliance risks
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 financial disclosure (Avg Revenue and Net Income not provided)—impossible to assess actual franchisee profitability against $65.5K–$205K investment range
  3. 03MINORComplex royalty structure with $12/agent/month minimum plus $120/side plus $500/month floor creates unpredictable profit scenarios and potential margin compression
  4. 04MINORModest unit growth (262 units, 14.5% YoY) in mature real estate franchise segment; growth rate does not offset litigation and disclosure gaps

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 124 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 4.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training40 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationArizona
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawArizona
Litigation count4
View Item 3 litigation summary

Washington State AOD (2020) re no-poaching provisions; Umpa v. HomeSmart et al. (W.D. Mo., filed 2023, antitrust class action re MLS commissions, settled 2024 for $4.7M plus practice changes); Boykin v. HomeSmart et al. (D. Nev., 2024, similar antitrust claims, resolved via Umpa settlement); Zawislak/D'Acquisto v. HomeSmart et al. (N.D. Ill., antitrust claims re inflated home prices, pending, HomeSmart denies wrongdoing).

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
40 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Scottsdale, Arizona (corporate headquarters) or another location designated by Franchisor
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
4 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
RealSmart Broker TM
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: RealSmart Broker TM

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

86 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 86 contacts · $49
Free preview
209544••••CA
Unlock all 86 contacts
808799••••HI
508297••••MA
970664••••MT
970644••••CO

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a HomeSmart franchise?

The total investment to open a HomeSmart franchise ranges from $66K – $205K, with an initial franchise fee of $20K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do HomeSmart franchise owners earn?

HomeSmart makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns HomeSmart?

HomeSmart is franchised by HomeSmart International, LLC. Its parent company is HomeSmart Holdings, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the HomeSmart FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the HomeSmart FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is HomeSmart's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, HomeSmart has a charge-off rate of 0.0% across 14 loans, meaning 0.0% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many HomeSmart franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, HomeSmart has 258 total units in the United States, including 201 franchised units and 57 company-owned units. 8 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is HomeSmart a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates HomeSmart as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 71 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent HomeSmart, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Real Estate franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Real Estate category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.