Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
ERA Real Estate logo

ERA Real Estate Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Real EstateNJFranchising since 1996
CAverageAverage40/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$33K – $260K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
27.3%
on 11 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00868Data QualityExcellent81%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

ERA Real Estate is a residential real-estate brokerage franchise. Franchisees run offices recruiting and supporting agents, managing listings and transactions, and earning from commissions.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A ERA Real Estate franchise requires a total initial investment of $33K – $260K, including a $25K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 27.3% charge-off rate across 11 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2024 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - figures are from a filing two or more years old

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$33K – $260K
15th pct Real Estate
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
24th pct Real Estate
Units
464
80th pct Real Estate
SBA charge-off
27.3%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Real Estate · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$33K – $260K
Median $133K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $30K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$15K – $40K
Median $22K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 6.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
7.5% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
27.3%
11 loans · Median 15.7%
above median ↑, worse than category
System Size
464 units
Median 70 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
8.0%
Median 7.5%
near median
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
17 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Real Estate median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $33K – $260K including a $25K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 40/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 27.3% across 11 loans (well above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -6 franchised outlets in the latest year (31 opened, 25 closed); 10 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • LEGAL17 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Of the 15 listed on this page, 5 name the franchisor itself, 10 its parent, affiliates or predecessor. Pending claims are allegations, not findings.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
ERA Franchise Systems LLC
Parent company
Anywhere Real Estate Services Group LLC
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2024 FDD
Ultimate parent
Anywhere Real Estate Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2024 FDD
CEO title
President
Alex Vidal
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
175 Park Avenue, Madison, New Jersey 07940
Auditor
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$5.6B
vs $6.9B prior year

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 9

5 other brands on this site name Anywhere Real Estate Inc. as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2024 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Alex Vidal
Headquarters
NJ
Founded
1972
FDD year
2024
States available
44

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 10% above the typical real estate franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$33K – $260KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 36 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 35 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 29 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 29 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$15K – $40K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown19 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$0$25K
Real Estate——
Leasehold Improvements$0$105K
Yard Signs/Posts/Frames$5K$10K
Open House Signs$800$2K
Exterior Signs$700$20K
Miscellaneous Riders$200$400
Name Badges$120$400
Miscellaneous$250$500
Printed Materials$5K$8K
Computer Equipment and Electronic Data System$5K$10K
Website$0$10K
Multiple Listing Service (MLS) Dues$0$3K
Data Feed Transmission$0$5K
Insurance Deposits and Premiums$500$4K
Travel and Living Expenses During LaunchERA$500$3K
Legal Expenses$0$4K
Advertising/Public Relations, including Grand Opening Promotion$0$10K
Additional Funds (3 months)$15K$40K
Total initial investment$33K$260K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$33K – $260K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$15K – $40K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

ERA Real Estate: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.5% of gross sales
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$0
Total fee load7.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

ERA Real Estate makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one ERA Real Estate unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $33K–$260K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $15K–$40K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$174K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.5% (near the Real Estate median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (-1.7% 3-year CAGR) with 464 units.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Real Estate medians

How ERA Real Estate Compares

Metric
ERA Real Estate
Category median
vs median
Investment
$147K
$133Kmiddle half $78K–$190K · n=89
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$384Kmiddle half $254K–$616K · n=12
N/A
Unit Count
464
70middle half 27–191 · n=89
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Real Estate brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units464Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 69 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth-1.7% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate8.0% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
464
Opened
31
Last reporting year
Closed
25
Terminated
2
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
10
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
8.0%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-1.7%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-1.7%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
2
Not renewed
10
Transferred
2
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
10
0.02 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
40
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
0.4%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Termination rate
2.5%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
5.3%
Units that stopped operating
2021
472
Franchised units
2022
470-2
Franchised units
2023
464-6
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 45 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 45 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • California
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Michigan
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Wisconsin

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

450 current owners across 45 states.

  • NY 49
  • FL 45
  • CA 22
  • TX 22
  • MA 21
  • SC 20
  • NC 18
  • NJ 18
  • OH 18
  • GA 17
  • PA 15
  • AL 13
  • +33 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 5 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

F
SBA Lending Health
Weak SBA lending record · 27.3% charge-off
Total loans
11
Loan volume
$818K
Median loan
$60K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
27.3%
on 11 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
72.7%
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
9
Defaults
3
Typical loan rate
N/A
Franchised industry avg
21.5%
brand above franchise avg ↑
Jobs supported
12
1.5 per loan
Lender concentration
18%
top lender's share

Franchise vs independent — in residential property managers, franchised businesses charge off at 21.5% vs 27.5% for independents — franchising is associated with 22% lower SBA default risk in this category.

Top lenders financing ERA Real Estate franchisees

Bank of America, National Association2 loans0.0%
Citizens Bank, National Association2 loans0.0%
Wells Fargo Bank National Association1 loans100.0%

Showing 3 of 9 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$230K
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
4

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for ERA Real Estate from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
13.9%
Avg SBA guarantee
78%
Avg chargeoff amount
$38K
Lender concentration
18.2%
Job velocity
1.5 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
13.7%
NAICS 531311
Jobs supported
12

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 18% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Bank of America, National Association2$151K0.0%
2Citizens Bank, National Association2$50K0.0%
3Wells Fargo Bank National Association1$62K100.0%
4JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association1$70K0.0%
5Truist Bank1$259K0.0%
6Byline Bank1$47K100.0%
7Fulton Bank, National Association1$60K100.0%
8First Bank1$100K0.0%
9TD Bank, National Association1$20K0.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
AZArizona200.0%
CTConnecticut200.0%
ILIllinois2150.0%
CACalifornia100.0%
FLFlorida100.0%
MDMaryland11100.0%
NJNew Jersey100.0%
TXTexas11100.0%

SBA 7(a) lending trend

1994
2
1995
5
1996
2
2004
2

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

Lending insight

A 27.3% charge-off rate means roughly 1 in 4 franchisees failed to repay their SBA loan. Investigate what changed.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 27.3% — 70% above the 16.0% national norm, i.e. higher lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off27.3% · 11 loans
Verdict score40/100 (higher is better)
Litigation17 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage40Verdict score 40/100

ERA Real Estate presents high-risk investment characteristics: a shrinking franchise network, hidden financial performance metrics, active antitrust litigation threatening the business model, unprotected territory, and documented franchisor-franchisee disputes.

High confidence±6 pts
3446

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Multiple matters disclosed including antitrust class actions related to NAR commission practices (Moehrl, Burnett, Nosalek settled for $83.5M by Anywhere), TCPA class action against Anywhere Advisors, and various franchise collection actions resolved in favor of ERA.

Largest disclosed settlement: $83,500,000

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $5636.0MYr 2: $6908.0MNon-royalty: $351.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Consolidated financial statements of parent/guarantor companies Anywhere Real Estate Inc. and Anywhere Real Estate Group LLC (no stand-alone statements of franchisor ERA Franchise Systems LLC are included). Net revenues in millions: $5,636 (2023), $6,908 (2022), $7,983 (2021). 2023 revenue components: gross commission income $4,570M, service revenue $569M, franchise fees $351M, other $146M. Net loss of $(98)M for 2023. Total stockholders' equity $1,679M; total equity (incl. noncontrolling interests) $1,681M. As of December 31, 2023.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 40 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORDeclining unit count (-1.3% YoY) signals system contraction and potential franchisee dissatisfaction
  2. 02MEDNo disclosed average revenue or net income (missing FTC Item 19) prevents accurate ROI assessment and suggests underperformance
  3. 03MEDMultiple active antitrust class actions (Moehrl, Burnett, etc.) regarding commission practices create regulatory and reputational risk to franchisees
  4. 04MINORUnprotected territory exposes franchisees to direct competition from other ERA licensees and internal cannibalization
  5. 05MINORPending and resolved contract disputes with former franchisees indicate potential franchisor-franchisee relationship issues
  6. 06HIGHTrademark infringement litigation suggests brand IP vulnerabilities that could affect franchisee operations

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

Litigation case detail17 matters · Item 3

Litigation cases

The franchisor

Pending (2)

  • Thomas Stravecky, Plaintiff, v. Ronald Cika, individually and as guarantor of Coral Shores Realty Florida, LLC, and Coral Shores Realty Florida, LLC, Defendants; and Ronald Cika and Coral Shores Realty Florida, LLC, Counter-Plaintiffs, v. Thomas Stravecky, Infinity International Properties, Inc., an

    pending

    Brought by a franchisee · filed 2023 · Circuit Court of the 17th Judicial Circuit in and for Broward County, Florida · CACE-23002707

    “Thomas Stravecky, Plaintiff, v. Ronald Cika, individually and as guarantor of Coral Shores Realty Florida, LLC, and Coral Shores Realty Florida, LLC, Defendants; and Ronald Cika and Coral Shores Realty Florida, LLC, Counter-Plaintiffs, v. Thomas Stravecky, Infinity International Properties, Inc., and ERA Franchise Systems LLC, Counter-Defendants”Page 18 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3
  • Jennifer Nosalek, Randy Hirschorn, and Tracey Hirschorn, individually and on behalf of all other similarly situated, v. MLS Property Information Network, Inc., Anywhere Real Estate Inc. (f/k/a Realogy Holdings Corp.), Century 21 Real Estate LLC, Coldwell Banker Real Estate LLC, Sotheby's Internation

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2020-12-17 · U.S. District Court for the District of Massachusetts · 1:20-cv-12244

    “Jennifer Nosalek, Randy Hirschorn, and Tracey Hirschorn, individually and on behalf of all other similarly situated, v. MLS Property Information Network, Inc., Anywhere Real Estate Inc. (f/k/a Realogy Holdings Corp.), Century 21 Real Estate LLC, Coldwell Banker Real Estate LLC, Sotheby’s International Realty Affiliates LLC, Better Homes and Gardens Real Estate LLC, ERA Franchise Systems LLC,,”Page 23 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“On February 14, 2024, this matter as well as other potential related matters, were administratively stayed in their entirety pending the ruling from the Multidistrict Litigation Panel on the motion to reassign all or part of these matters as MDL litigation.” (page 24)

Concluded (3)

  • ERA Franchise Systems LLC v. LBH National Corporation and Roger Herman

    settled

    Brought against a franchisee · filed 2016-02-22 · Superior Court of California: County of Los Angeles · YC 071137

    “ERA Franchise Systems LLC v. LBH National Corporation and Roger Herman (Case No. YC 071137, Superior Court of California: County of Los Angeles). On February 22, 2016, we filed a complaint against the franchisee and its guarantor for breach of contract, breach of promissory note, breach of Guaranty, breach of Security Agreement, account stated, money lent, quantum meruit and accounting.”Page 19 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“By order dated, September 29, 2017, the bankruptcy court approved our settlement with the Trustee for the former franchisee, granting us an allowed claim in both the bankruptcy and the state court action against the former franchisee (but not the guarantor) for $5,407,991.75, plus $362,851.47 in legal fees, dismissing the former franchisee’s counterclaims and ordering the Trustee to release to us $55,353.29 in cash ...”

  • ERA Franchise Systems v. The Herman Group, LLC and Roger Herman

    settled

    Brought against a franchisee · filed 2016-02-22 · District Court, County of Denver, State of Colorado · 2016 CV 30606

    “ERA Franchise Systems v. The Herman Group, LLC and Roger Herman (Case No. 2016 CV 30606, District Court, County of Denver, State of Colorado). On February 22, 2016, we filed a Complaint against the former franchisee and its guarantor alleging breach of contract, breach of promissory note, breach of Guaranty, replevin, account stated, money lent, quantum meruit and accounting.”Page 19 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“By settlement agreement dated September 15, 2017, former franchisee and its guarantor executed a stipulated judgment in the amount of $3,794,248.06 in our favor.” (page 20)

  • ERA Franchise Systems LLC v. Holiday Real Estate, Inc., Jerome E. Milko, and Denise A. Milko

    settled

    Brought against a franchisee · filed 2014-11-25 · Superior Court of New Jersey, Law Division: Morris County · MRS-L-2893-14

    “ERA Franchise Systems LLC v. Holiday Real Estate, Inc., Jerome E. Milko, and Denise A. Milko, (Case No. MRS-L-2893-14, Superior Court of New Jersey, Law Division: Morris County). On November 25, 2014, we filed suit against the former franchisee and its guarantors for trademark infringement and collection of amounts due.”Page 18 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“This matter settled on April 8, 2016, and the former franchisee and guarantors agreed to pay us $20,000 over time.”

Parent, affiliates and predecessor

Pending (5)

  • The Office of the Attorney General of the State of Washington

    pending

    Government or regulatory action · Sotheby's International Realty, Inc. and Century 21 Real Estate LLC · filed 2024 · Washington Office of the Attorney General

    “The Office of the Attorney General of the State of Washington. The Washington Office of the Attorney General is conducting an investigation of Sotheby’s International Realty, Inc., a Related Party of SIR and Real Estate Affiliate, Century 21, involving possible past or current violations of RCW 19.86.020, RCW 19.86.030, RCW 19.86.040, RCW 19.86.050 and the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C.”Page 27 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“Anywhere, Sotheby’s International Realty, Inc. and Century 21 will continue to work with the Office of the Attorney General to provide the requested information.” (page 28)

  • Batton, Bolton, Brace, Kim, James, Mullis, Bisbicos and Parsons v. The National Association of Realtors, Realogy Holdings Corp., HomeServices of America, Inc. BHH Affiliates, LLC, HSF Affiliates, LLC, The Long & Foster Companies, Inc., RE/MAX LLC and Keller Williams Realty, Inc. (formerly captioned

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · Anywhere Real Estate Inc. (f/k/a Realogy Holdings Corp.) · filed 2021-01-25 · U.S. District Court, Northern District of Illinois · 1:21-cv-430

    “Batton, Bolton, Brace, Kim, James, Mullis, Bisbicos and Parsons v. The National Association of Realtors, Realogy Holdings Corp., HomeServices of America, Inc. BHH Affiliates, LLC, HSF Affiliates, LLC, The Long & Foster Companies, Inc., RE/MAX LLC and Keller Williams Realty, Inc. (Case No. 1:21- cv-430, U.S. District Court, Northern District of Illinois) (formerly captioned Leeder).”Page 24 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“By Minute Order, dated February 28, 2024, the Court ordered defendants to answer the Amended Class Action Complaint and file any Motion to Dismiss for lack of personal jurisdiction by April 15, 2024.”

  • Christopher Moehrl, individually and on behalf of others similarly situated v. The National Association of Realtors, Realogy Holdings Corp., HomeServices of America, Inc., Re/Max Holdings, Inc., and Keller Williams Realty, Inc.

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · Anywhere Real Estate Inc. (f/k/a Realogy Holdings Corp.) · filed 2019-03-06 · United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois · 1:19-cv-01610

    “Christopher Moehrl, individually and on behalf of others similarly situated v. The National Association of Realtors, Realogy Holdings Corp., HomeServices of America, Inc., Re/Max Holdings, Inc., and Keller Williams Realty, Inc., (Case No. 1:19-cv-01610, United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois).”Page 21 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“On November 20, 2023, the Court granted the motion for preliminary approval of the Anywhere Settlement Agreement. A final approval hearing for the Anywhere Settlement Agreement is scheduled for May 9, 2024.” (page 22)

  • Ronald Chinitz, Sarah Bumpus, David Gritz, Micheline Peker, Nathan Rowan, Cheryl Rowan, Daniel Caruso, and Paramjit Lalli, individually and on behalf of a class of similarly situated persons v. Realogy Holdings Corp., Realogy Intermediate Holdings LLC, Realogy Group LLC, Realogy Services Group LLC,

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · Realogy Holdings Corp. and subsidiaries (Anywhere Advisors LLC and the 'Anywhere defendants') · filed 2019-06-11 · U.S. District Court, Northern District of California, San Francisco Division · 3:19-cv-03309-JD

    “Ronald Chinitz, Sarah Bumpus, David Gritz, Micheline Peker, Nathan Rowan, Cheryl Rowan, Daniel Caruso, and Paramjit Lalli, individually and on behalf of a class of similarly situated persons v. Realogy Holdings Corp., Realogy Intermediate Holdings LLC, Realogy Group LLC, Realogy Services Group LLC, Realogy Brokerage Group LLC (f/k/a NRT LLC), and Mojo Dialing Solutions, LLC,”Page 24 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“The pretrial conference and trial dates are vacated pending further order.” (page 25)

  • Scott and Rhonda Burnett, Ryan Hendrickson, Jarod Breit, Scott Trupiano, and Jeremy Keel, on behalf of themselves and all others similarly situated v. National Association of Realtors, Realogy Holdings Corp., HomeServices of America, Inc., BHH Affiliates, LLC, HSF Affiliates, LLC, Re/Max LLC and Kel

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · Anywhere Real Estate Inc. (f/k/a Realogy Holdings Corp.) · filed 2019-04-29 · United States District Court for the Western District of Missouri · 4:19-cv-00332-SRB

    “Scott and Rhonda Burnett, Ryan Hendrickson, Jarod Breit, Scott Trupiano, and Jeremy Keel, on behalf of themselves and all others similarly situated v. National Association of Realtors, Realogy Holdings Corp., HomeServices of America, Inc., BHH Affiliates, LLC, HSF Affiliates, LLC, Re/Max LLC and Keller Williams Realty, Inc., (Case No. 4:19-cv-00332-SRB,”Page 22 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“This case went to trial on October 16, 2023, with all defendants except the Anywhere defendants and Re/Max LLC. On October 5, 2023, Anywhere entered into the nationwide Anywhere Settlement Agreement with the Moehrl and Burnett plaintiffs for $83.5 million.” (page 23)

Concluded (5)

  • Sheri Dodge and Neil Dodge and Ram Agrawal and Sarita Agrawal, individually and on behalf of all others similarly situated v. PHH Corporation, Realogy Holdings Corp., et al. (formerly captioned Timothy L. Strader, Sr. and Lester L. Hall, Jr. v. PHH Corporation, et al.)

    settled

    Third-party plaintiff · Realogy Holdings Corp. and subsidiaries (with PHH defendants) · filed 2015-11-25 · United States District Court, Central District of California · 8:15-CV-01973

    “Sheri Dodge and Neil Dodge and Ram Agrawal and Sarita Agrawal, individually and on behalf of all others similarly situated v. PHH Corporation, Realogy Holdings Corp., PHH Home Loans LLC, PHH Mortgage Corporation, RMR Financial, LLC, NE Moves Mortgage LLC, PHH Broker Partner Corporation, Realogy Group LLC, Realogy Intermediate Holdings LLC,”Page 26 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“On September 10, 2018, Realogy paid its portion of the settlement in the amount of $8,375,000.” (page 27)

  • Christopher Bulen and Janith Martinez v. Realogy Corporation, Realogy Operations, Realogy Franchise Group LLC, Realogy Services Group, LLC

    settled

    Third-party plaintiff · Realogy Corporation, Realogy Operations, Realogy Franchise Group LLC, Realogy Services Group, LLC · filed 2010-12-03 · United States District Court, District of Nevada · 3:10-CV-00755-RCJ-VPC

    “Christopher Bulen and Janith Martinez v. Realogy Corporation, Realogy Operations, Realogy Franchise Group LLC, Realogy Services Group, LLC, (Case No. 3:10-CV-00755-RCJ-VPC, United States District Court, District of Nevada). This litigation concerns the Preferred Alliance Agreement between RSG and Townsend Hoffman Corporation initially effective June 18, 2007,”Page 25 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“The settlement was funded on November 17, 2014, in the amount of $530,630.42.” (page 26)

  • Matter with no printed caption

    settled

    Government or regulatory action · Realogy Group, NRT and Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage (the 'Realogy parties'); Cendant Real Estate Services Group LLC as joint-venture partner · filed 2007 · United States District Court, Central District of California (HUD lawsuit); FTC investigation

    “The Department of Housing and Urban Development (“HUD”) and the FTC conducted a joint regulatory investigation of the activities of Property I.D. Associates, LLC (“Associates”), a joint venture between Property I.D. Corporation, Cendant Real Estate Services Group LLC and Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage Corporation.”Page 27 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“In May 2008, HUD and the Realogy parties agreed to settle the matter with no imposition of fines or penalties and a permanent injunction to refrain from future joint ventures for hazard disclosure reports operated in violation of RESPA.”

  • Cendant Global Services, B.V. v. Look & Find, S.A. et al.

    dismissed

    Brought against a franchisee · Cendant Global Services, B.V. · filed 1999-07-26 · First Instance Court No. 42 of Madrid · Civil Case No. 525/99

    “Cendant Global Services, B.V. v. Look & Find, S.A. et al., (Civil Case No. 525/99, First Instance Court No. 42 of Madrid). On July 26, 1999, Cendant Global filed a complaint seeking a judgment (1) declaring termination of agreement with Look & Find, S.A., in accordance with law,”Page 20 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“On September 5, 2016, the Court affirmed its prior decision that Look & Find must pay Cendant Global damages of approximately $1 million, and that the infringing franchisees (78 in total) must pay damages for trademark infringement.”

  • Look & Find, S.A. v. Orlando Gonzales Arias, Fajardo, Ltd., Cendant Corporation, Cendant Global Services, B.V. and Century 21 Iberia

    judgment

    Brought by a franchisee · Cendant Corporation and Cendant Global Services, B.V. · filed 1999-06-17 · Madrid First Instance Court No. 42 · Civil Case No. 393/99

    “Look & Find, S.A. v. Orlando Gonzales Arias, Fajardo, Ltd., Cendant Corporation, Cendant Global Services, B.V. and Century 21 Iberia, (Civil Case No. 393/99 Madrid First Instance Court No. 42). On June 17, 1999, Look & Find, S.A. a former ERA master franchisor, filed a 200-page writ alleging unfair competition and seeks U.S. $41 million in damages.”Page 20 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“In January 2004, the former master franchisor’s claims were denied and the defendants were awarded costs.”

This list shows 15 of the 17 matters Item 3 discloses; the rest are in the filing.

Item 3 lists the litigation the franchisor must disclose; a matter against a parent, an affiliate or a named officer is not a matter against the franchisor, and pending claims are allegations, not findings.

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal termNot extracted
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training25 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ0
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window120 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ7
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawNJ
Litigation count17
View Item 3 litigation summary

Multiple matters disclosed including antitrust class actions related to NAR commission practices (Moehrl, Burnett, Nosalek settled for $83.5M by Anywhere), TCPA class action against Anywhere Advisors, and various franchise collection actions resolved in favor of ERA.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
25 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
ERA headquarters in Madison, New Jersey, or virtually
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
1 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Internet Reporting System
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Internet Reporting System

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

455 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 455 contacts · $49
Free preview
208745••••ID
Unlock all 455 contacts
770720••••GA
574457••••IN
526 925••••CA
740420••••OH

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a ERA Real Estate franchise?

The total investment to open a ERA Real Estate franchise ranges from $33K – $260K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do ERA Real Estate franchise owners earn?

ERA Real Estate makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns ERA Real Estate?

ERA Real Estate is franchised by ERA Franchise Systems LLC. Its parent company is Anywhere Real Estate Services Group LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Anywhere Real Estate Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the ERA Real Estate FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the ERA Real Estate FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is ERA Real Estate's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, ERA Real Estate has a charge-off rate of 27.3% across 11 loans, meaning 27.3% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many ERA Real Estate franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, ERA Real Estate has 464 total units in the United States, including 464 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 31 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is ERA Real Estate a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates ERA Real Estate as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 40 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent ERA Real Estate, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Real Estate franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Real Estate category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.