Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Duraclean logo

Duraclean Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Cleaning & MaintenanceILFranchising since 1946
BAbove averageAbove average53/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$109K – $174K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
18.8%
on 21 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00815FDD 2025Data QualityStandard71%
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Duraclean is a franchise providing carpet, upholstery, and tile cleaning plus water-damage restoration for homes and businesses. Franchisees run a service operation managing crews, scheduling, and cleaning and restoration jobs in a territory.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Duraclean franchise requires a total initial investment of $109K – $174K, including a $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 8.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 18.8% charge-off rate across 21 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2025 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - a newer filing may exist

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$109K – $174K
41st pct Cleaning & Ma…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
8.0%
56th pct Cleaning & Ma…
Units
102
64th pct Cleaning & Ma…
SBA charge-off
18.8%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Cleaning & Maintenance · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$109K – $174K
Median $169K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$30K – $30K
Median $47K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$7K – $21K
Median $30K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
8.0%
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 8.3%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
18.8%
21 loans · Median 9.8%
above median ↑, worse than category
System Size
102 units
Median 51 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
2.9%
Median 3.4%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Cleaning & Maintenance median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $109K – $174K including a $30K franchise fee, 8.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 53/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 18.8% across 21 loans (above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -3 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 3 closed) (Item 20).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -6.1% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Duraclean International, Inc.
CEO title
Chairman, CEO and Treasurer
Vincent J. Caffarello
Incorporated in
IL
HQ
1585 Barclay Blvd., Buffalo Grove, IL 60089
Auditor
Porte Brown LLC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.5M
vs $1.5M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Vincent J. Caffarello
Headquarters
IL
Founded
1930
FDD year
2025
States available
28

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 17% below the typical cleaning & maintenance franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$109K – $174KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$29,500Verified — printed on page 9 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty8.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$7K – $21K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Duraclean: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$30K$30K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$7K$21K
Equipment, build-out, other$72K$124K
Total initial investment$109K$174K

Source: Duraclean 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$109K – $174K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$7K – $21K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
8.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
-n/d
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Duraclean: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty8.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$3K
Transfer fee$13K
Renewal fee$0
Inventory (initial)$61K – $61K
Total fee load8.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Duraclean makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Duraclean unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $109K–$174K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $7K–$21K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$155K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 117 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Cleaning & Maintenance median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -6.1% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Multi-unit rate

Only 1% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Cleaning & Maintenance medians

How Duraclean Compares

Metric
Duraclean
Category median
vs median
Investment
$141K
$169Kmiddle half $115K–$269K · n=170
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$538Kmiddle half $349K–$1.1M · n=59
N/A
Unit Count
102
51middle half 12–108 · n=169
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Cleaning & Maintenance brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units102Verified — printed on page 28 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-6.1% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate2.9% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
102
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
3
Terminated
1
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
1
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
2.9%
Company-owned
10
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
90%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
1.2%
Net growth (3-yr)
-6.1%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-6.1%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
1
Not renewed
1
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Termination rate
2.0%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
2.9%
Units that stopped operating
2022
95
Franchised units
2023
95±0
Franchised units
2024
92-3
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 28 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 28 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

81 current owners across 28 states.

  • IL 7
  • MI 6
  • NY 6
  • SC 6
  • IA 5
  • MA 5
  • CA 4
  • GA 4
  • NJ 4
  • PA 4
  • FL 3
  • IN 3
  • +16 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

D
SBA Lending Health
Below-average SBA lending record · 18.8% charge-off
Total loans
21
Loan volume
$2.8M
Median loan
$50K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
18.8%
on 21 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
81.2%
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
17
Defaults
3
Typical loan rate
7.7%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
16.6%
brand above franchise avg ↑
Jobs supported
45
5.4 per loan
Lender concentration
40%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 33% went to startups / new businesses, 67% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in carpet and upholstery cleaning services, franchised businesses charge off at 16.6% vs 18.5% for independents — franchising is associated with 10% lower SBA default risk in this category.

Top lenders financing Duraclean franchisees

First State Bank2 loans—
Fulton Bank, National Association1 loans100.0%
TD Bank, National Association1 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 17 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Duraclean from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
2.1%
Avg SBA guarantee
69%
Avg interest rate
7.71%
Avg chargeoff amount
$17K
Lender concentration
40.0%
Job velocity
5.4 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
26.5%
NAICS 561740
Jobs supported
45

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 40% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1First State Bank2$626KN/A
2Fulton Bank, National Association1$110K100.0%
3TD Bank, National Association1$50K0.0%
4BayFirst National Bank1$50KN/A

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
WIWisconsin20--
NHNew Hampshire100.0%
NJNew Jersey11100.0%
NYNew York10--

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2006
1
2016
1
2020
1
2023
2

Borrower profile

Ownership change1 (33%)
Existing (2+ yr)1 (33%)
Startup1 (33%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 18.8% — 17% above the 16.0% national norm, i.e. higher lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off18.8% · 21 loans
Verdict score53/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average53Verdict score 53/100

Duraclean presents elevated risk due to a contracting unit base, undisclosed financial performance metrics, unprotected territory, and a financial structure that may not support adequate franchisee profitability.

Why this reads harsher than the B grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

High confidence±6 pts
4759

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Porte Brown LLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.5MYr 2: $1.5MNon-royalty: $0.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

other_revenue of $106,698 represents Item 8 revenue from sale of equipment, supplies and chemicals to franchisees (a component of total contract revenue of $1,468,407 for FY2024). 2024 audit opinion unmodified; 2023/2022 qualified re: omitted lease accounting (ASU 2016-02).

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 53 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORUnit count declining 3.2% year-over-year indicates shrinking franchise system and potential market saturation or franchisee dissatisfaction
  2. 02MINORNo average revenue or net income disclosure in Item 19 prevents accurate ROI assessment and hides performance data from prospects
  3. 03MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk where franchisor can place additional franchisees in your market, cannibalizing revenue
  4. 04MINORTiered royalty structure with $83 minimum means unprofitable months still require payment, reducing cash flow flexibility
  5. 05MEDInitial investment of $108,704–$174,004 with no disclosed average revenue makes payback period impossible to calculate
  6. 06MINOR5-year term is shorter than industry standard (10 years), creating renewal uncertainty and less time to recoup investment

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 117 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training40 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ5
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice120 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationCook County, Illinois
Governing lawIL
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
40 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Buffalo Grove, IL (corporate headquarters) or online/webinar
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
0 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
1 mo
From signing to launch
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Duraclean Business Software
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Duraclean Business Software

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

81 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 81 contacts · $49
Free preview
(319) 986-••••IA
Unlock all 81 contacts
(210) 653-••••TX
(319) 323-••••IA
(617) 876-••••MA
(319) 365-••••IA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Duraclean franchise?

The total investment to open a Duraclean franchise ranges from $109K – $174K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Duraclean franchise owners earn?

Duraclean makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Duraclean?

Duraclean is franchised by Duraclean International, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Duraclean FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Duraclean FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Duraclean's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Duraclean has a charge-off rate of 18.8% across 21 loans, meaning 18.8% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Duraclean franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Duraclean has 102 total units in the United States, including 92 franchised units and 10 company-owned units.

Is Duraclean a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Duraclean as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 53 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Duraclean, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Cleaning & Maintenance franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Cleaning & Maintenance category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.