Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
DUCTZ logo

Ductz Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Cleaning & MaintenanceMIFranchising since 2004
AStrongest tierStrongest tier70/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$164K – $225K
Disclosed sales
$778K
gross sales, not profit
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (8)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00806FDD 2026Data QualityExcellent86%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

DUCTZ is an air duct and HVAC system cleaning franchise serving homes and businesses. Franchisees run service crews, handling duct cleaning, sanitizing, and indoor air quality work, with scheduling and account management.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A DUCTZ franchise requires a total initial investment of $164K – $225K, including a $50K – $75K franchise fee and an ongoing 10.0% royalty[2]. Per the 2026 FDD, average revenue per franchisee was $778K. This franchisor reports Item 19 per franchisee rather than per outlet, so the figure is not comparable with per-outlet averages[2]. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 6 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$164K – $225K
64th pct Cleaning & Ma…
Avg gross sales
$778K
Per franchisee, not per outlet
Royalty
10.0%
72nd pct Cleaning & Ma…
Units
63
49th pct Cleaning & Ma…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Cleaning & Maintenance · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$164K – $225K
Median $169K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$50K – $75K
Median $47K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$9K – $20K
Median $30K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
$778K
Median $538K
Per franchisee, not per outlet
Royalty Rate
10.0%
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
56.0% of rev
Median 8.3%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (8)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 8 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
63 units
Median 51 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
11.1%
Median 3.4%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Cleaning & Maintenance median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $164K – $225K including a $50K franchise fee, 10.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSAverage revenue per franchisee of $778K/year. Averaged per franchisee, not per outlet - not comparable with per-outlet figures.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 70/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -1 franchised outlets in the latest year (6 opened, 7 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAG7 units terminated last reporting year (11.1% of the system). Ask existing franchisees why.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
DUCTZ International, LLC
Parent company
BELFOR Franchise Group, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2026 FDD
Ultimate parent
BELFOR Holdings, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2026 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Sheldon Yellen
Incorporated in
MI
HQ
5405 Data Court, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Auditor
Not specified in text (BFG Holdco audited financials)
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$30.1M
vs $29.5M prior year

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 9

11 other brands on this site name BELFOR Holdings, Inc. as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Portfolio: BELFOR Franchise Group

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2026 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Sheldon Yellen
Headquarters
MI
Founded
2004
FDD year
2026
States available
21

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 15% above the typical cleaning & maintenance franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$164K – $225KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 25 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$49,900Verified — printed on page 14 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty10.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund0.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$9K – $20K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

DUCTZ: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$50K$50K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$9K$20K
Equipment, build-out, other$105K$155K
Total initial investment$164K$225K

Source: DUCTZ 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$164K – $225K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$9K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $75K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
10.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
56.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

DUCTZ: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty10.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Technology fee$2K
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$0
Total fee load56.0% of rev
Fee structure insight

At 56.0% total fee load, roughly $436K per year per franchisee goes to the franchisor before you pay a single operating expense.

What do units actually make?

Average unit sales run 45% above the cleaning & maintenance norm.

Avg gross sales$778K

Averaged per franchisee, not per outlet - not comparable with per-outlet figures

Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 66 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typegross sales
Sample size36 franchisees

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 19

Single-unit · not modelled

Returns at a glance

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit, and the operating costs that turn one into the other are in no filing. We publish no modelled return for DUCTZ until someone supplies them — yours, in the models below.

—

Not modelled yet

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.

Total invested capital · disclosed

$209K

Item 7 initial investment plus working capital, as filed — the one figure here that needs no assumption.

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

What one unit earns on your invested capital

Model A · Single-Unit Return

Computes unlevered return on invested capital (ROIC) for a single franchise unit, read against the 30–60% reference band · Yale SOM, Post-MBA Path Exhibit 2 (2023). Below that band a passive index fund likely outperforms; above it the franchisor has pricing power you're subsidizing.

Note: Item 19 revenue is what the franchisor discloses, and it is the top line only — gross sales are not profit. No FDD discloses the operating costs that turn one into the other, so those fields start empty and nothing is modelled until you supply them from your own lease quote, labor market and build-out budget.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one DUCTZ unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per franchisee, per year (NOT per outlet)FDD
FDD Item 19 reports $777,690 per franchisee — not per outlet. Every other input below is for ONE unit; replace this with a single-unit figure before relying on the ROIC.
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $164K–$225K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $9K–$20K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$209K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

What 25 units return when you use SBA financing

Model B · Return on Equity: Debt-Financed Acquisition

Models a 25-unit portfolio acquisition financed with an SBA 7(a) loan. Shows equity IRR (your return on cash invested), DSCR (how safely the cash flow covers debt service), and the capital stack (SBA + seller + equity breakdown).

This is the “search fund” or “entrepreneurship through acquisition” scenario: you buy an existing multi-unit operator, use leverage to amplify returns, and either operate or hire management. The 25-unit size is the typical minimum for an SBA-backed franchise portfolio acquisition to pencil as a full-time income.

What “return on equity” means here: if you put in $500K of your own cash and the business generates enough EBITDA to pay down debt and grow, your equity IRR is the annual return on that $500K, including the value created when you eventually sell. Target IRR for a search fund is typically 25–35%.

Not modelled yet

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.

A 25-unit return is built on a per-unit EBITDA. Fill in the operating costs in Model A above and this model runs on that figure, or take the whole scenario to the full ROI workbench, where the portfolio and LBO models accept your own per-unit economics directly.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

Averaged per franchisee, not per outlet - not comparable with per-outlet figures

Avg gross sales
$778K
Per franchisee, per year — not per outlet

Gross sales are revenue before expenses — not profit. Actual owner earnings depend on rent, labor, royalties, marketing fees, and debt service.

Item 19 type
gross sales
Sample size
36 franchisees
vs category median 32
Reporting year
2025
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2026
Disclosed in the 2026 filing, covering 2025
Transparency
4 / 10
vs category median 4 / 10 · typical
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank64th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank72th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank49th
vs Cleaning & Maintenance peers
Risk score rank21th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 191 Cleaning & Maintenance brands

Showing the headline figures — all 144 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Unit economics

The average franchisee generates $778K/year in gross sales.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 56.0% — above the Cleaning & Maintenance median of 8.3%.

Disclosure

Transparency score 4/10 — this franchisor discloses detailed breakdowns (quartiles, segments, or cohort data). Buyers can model unit economics with higher confidence.

Operator retention

System contracting at -7.4% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Cleaning & Maintenance medians

How Ductz Compares

Metric
Ductz
Category median
vs median
Investment
$194K
$169Kmiddle half $115K–$269K · n=170
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
$778K
$538Kmiddle half $349K–$1.1M · n=59
Not compared

Per franchisee, not per outlet - the category median is per-outlet only, so no comparison is shown

Unit Count
63
51middle half 12–108 · n=169
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Cleaning & Maintenance brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units63Verified — printed on page 68 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-7.4% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate11.1% (caution)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
63
Opened
6
Last reporting year
Closed
7
Terminated
7
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
11.1%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-7.4%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-7.4%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
7
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
8
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2023
68
Franchised units
2024
64-4
Franchised units
2025
63-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 20 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 20 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

35 current owners across 20 states.

  • FL 6
  • NC 4
  • PA 4
  • OH 2
  • SC 2
  • TX 2
  • VA 2
  • AZ 1
  • GA 1
  • IA 1
  • IL 1
  • IN 1
  • +8 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 8 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
8
Loan volume
$2.0M
Median loan
$170K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (8)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 8 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (8)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (8)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
7
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (8)
Verdict score70/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier70Verdict score 70/100

DUCTZ presents elevated risk due to declining unit count, lack of profitability transparency, and questionable corporate financial health despite moderate revenue figures.

Why this reads harsher than the A grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

High confidence±6 pts
6476

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Not specified in text (BFG Holdco audited financials)

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $30.1MYr 2: $29.5MNon-royalty: $0.4M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Audited financial statements are the consolidated statements of affiliate/guarantor BFG Holdco, Inc. (formerly HRI Holdings, Inc.), not the franchisor DUCTZ International, LLC. Dollars in thousands; FYE December 31. Net Revenue 2025/2024/2023 = $30,117K/$29,538K/$31,072K. 2023 statements were audited by other (predecessor) auditors; BDO audited 2025 and 2024.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 70 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORDeclining unit count (-1.6% YoY) suggests system contraction and potential franchisee struggles
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 (net income) disclosure creates opacity around actual profitability despite $777k average revenue
  3. 03MED10% royalty on gross sales is aggressive given undisclosed margins and high initial investment ($163k-$224k)
  4. 04MINOR5-year term is relatively short, creating early renewal risk and uncertainty for franchisees

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 144 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 56.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training38 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory radius30 mi
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Non-compete (miles)ℹ50 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice15 days
Curable defaultsℹ16
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationAnn Arbor, Michigan
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawMI
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
8 hrs
On-the-job training
30 hrs
Training location
Ann Arbor, Michigan (BFG Training Center) and virtual/online
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
DUCTZ Software
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: DUCTZ Software

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

35 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 35 contacts · $49
Free preview
712-454-••••IA
Unlock all 35 contacts
717-735-••••PA
337-237-••••LA
832-615-••••TX
618-744-••••IL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a DUCTZ franchise?

The total investment to open a DUCTZ franchise ranges from $164K – $225K, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do DUCTZ franchise owners earn?

According to Item 19 of the DUCTZ FDD, the average gross sales per unit is $778K. Important context: Averaged per franchisee, not per outlet - not comparable with per-outlet figures. Note: this is gross revenue, not profit. Actual owner earnings vary based on location, operating costs, and management.

Who owns DUCTZ?

DUCTZ is franchised by DUCTZ International, LLC. Its parent company is BELFOR Franchise Group, LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is BELFOR Holdings, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the DUCTZ FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the DUCTZ FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is DUCTZ's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for DUCTZ (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many DUCTZ franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, DUCTZ has 63 total units in the United States, including 63 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 6 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is DUCTZ a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates DUCTZ as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 70 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent DUCTZ, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Cleaning & Maintenance franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Cleaning & Maintenance category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.