Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Destination by Hyatt logo

Destination by Hyatt Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingILFranchising since 2019
BAbove averageAbove average59/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$93.5M – $153.4M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00746FDD 2026Data QualityStandard76%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Destination by Hyatt is an upscale, independent-style hotel and resort franchise of distinctive properties within Hyatt. Franchisees own and operate the hotels, managing guest experiences and revenue under Hyatt standards.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Destination by Hyatt franchise requires a total initial investment of $93.5M – $153.4M, including a $100K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2026 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - the current year's filing

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$93.5M – $153.4M
71st pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
7.0%
65th pct Lodging
Units
14
24th pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$93.5M – $153.4M
Median $8.9M
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$100K
Median $50K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$750K – $1.5M
Median $312K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
7.0%
Median 5.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
7.0% of rev
Median 8.5%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
14 units
Median 60 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.7%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $93.5M – $153.4M including a $100K franchise fee, 7.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 59/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +1 franchised outlets in the latest year (1 opened, 0 closed); 3 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Hyatt Franchising, L.L.C.
Parent company
Hyatt Hotels Corporation
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2026 FDD
CEO title
Chief Growth Officer (Interim)
Mark Hoplamazian
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
150 North Riverside Plaza, Chicago, Illinois 60606
Auditor
Deloitte & Touche LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$7.1B
vs $6.6B prior year

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 9

9 other brands on this site name Hyatt Hotels Corporation as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2026 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Mark Hoplamazian
Headquarters
IL
Founded
1957
FDD year
2026
States available
5

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 1288% above the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$93.5M – $153.4MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 38 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$100,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty7.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 21 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund3.5%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$750K – $1.5M

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown25 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Application Fee$100K$100K
Comfort letter fee(s)$0$3K
Market study$25K$50K
Design Review Fee$80K$175K
Extension of opening deadline$0$10K
IT Project Management Services expense reimbursement$11K$18K
Signage$10K$150K
Telecommunications systems and certain Technology System equipment and fees$328K$363K
Architecture and design$1.9M$4.8M
Construction, improvements, remodeling, decorating costs and other sitework$75.8M$123.8M
Furniture, fixtures, other fixed assets and equipment$10.5M$15.0M
Operating supplies & equipment$3.0M$4.5M
General and administrative buildout costs$420K$700K
Revenue management fees$0$26K
Field marketing program fees$0$9K
Pre-opening marketing and sales expenses$150K$750K
Liquor license$30K$400K
Operator approval fees$0$65K
PIP fee$0$10K
Training expenses (fees and reimbursements payable to us)$24K$57K
Total initial investment$93.5M$153.4M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$93.5M – $153.4M
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$750K – $1.5M
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$100K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
7.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Destination by Hyatt: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.5% of gross sales
Training fee$24K
Transfer fee$0
Renewal fee$10K
Total fee load7.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Destination by Hyatt makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Destination by Hyatt unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $93.5M–$153.4M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $750K–$1.5M

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$124.6M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 136 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.0% — below the Lodging median of 8.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 66.7% CAGR over 3 years across 14 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Multi-unit rate

Only 10% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging medians

How Destination by Hyatt Compares

Metric
Destination by Hyatt
Category median
vs median
Investment
$123.5M
$8.9Mmiddle half $1.2M–$18.3M · n=96
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.4Mmiddle half $1.0M–$1.8M · n=2
N/A
Unit Count
14
60middle half 6–245 · n=126
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Lodging brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units14Verified — printed on page 81 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+66.7% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
14
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
9
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
36%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
10.0%
Net growth (3-yr)
+66.7%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+66.7%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
3
0.21 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
2
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Ceased ops
7.1%
Units that stopped operating
2023
3
Franchised units
2024
4+1
Franchised units
2025
5+1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 5 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 5 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • Illinois

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

6 current owners across 5 states.

  • IL 2
  • CA 1
  • FL 1
  • MO 1
  • SD 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score59/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average59Verdict score 59/100

Destination by Hyatt is an undercapitalized, early-stage luxury franchise with opaque unit economics, missing financial disclosures, and unclear investment/revenue structures that present substantial risk for franchisees.

Low confidence±15 pts
4474

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Deloitte & Touche LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $7101.0MYr 2: $6648.0MNon-royalty: $39.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Financial statements in Item 21/Exhibit A are the audited consolidated financials of the parent company, Hyatt Hotels Corporation (not the franchisor entity Hyatt Franchising, L.L.C.), as of/for fiscal years ended Dec 31, 2025 and 2024. All amounts reported in millions of USD. Hyatt Hotels Corporation absolutely and unconditionally guarantees the franchisor's obligations. Total revenues 2025 = $7,101M; 2024 = $6,648M. Net loss 2025 = $(49)M consolidated (net loss attributable to Hyatt Hotels Corporation = $(52)M). Total stockholders' equity = $3,334M (total equity incl. noncontrolling interests = $3,659M).

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 59 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDInvestment range listed as $0–$0 is nonsensical and suggests incomplete/misleading FDD disclosure
  2. 02MEDNo average unit revenue or net income disclosed (Item 19 absent) — impossible to assess unit economics
  3. 03MINOROnly 14 units system-wide indicates nascent franchise with minimal track record and scale
  4. 04MINOR7% royalty on 'Channel Bookings' only creates revenue uncertainty — unclear what percentage of total bookings qualify
  5. 05MINORLuxury hospitality franchise model requires significant capital typically; $0 investment claim lacks credibility

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 136 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training184 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius3 mi
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice10 days
Curable defaultsℹ5
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationChicago, Illinois (within 10 miles of principal business address)
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawIL
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
261 hrs
On-the-job training
96 hrs
Training location
Chicago, Illinois (corporate headquarters), designated Hyatt hotel locations, your Hotel, and virtual/online
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Opera
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Opera

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

6 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 6 contacts · $49
Free preview
(847) 494-••••IL
Unlock all 6 contacts
(816) 630-••••MO
(727) 741-••••FL
(605) 759-••••SD
(530) 412-••••CA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Destination by Hyatt franchise?

The total investment to open a Destination by Hyatt franchise ranges from $93.5M – $153.4M, with an initial franchise fee of $100K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Destination by Hyatt franchise owners earn?

Destination by Hyatt makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Destination by Hyatt?

Destination by Hyatt is franchised by Hyatt Franchising, L.L.C.. Its parent company is Hyatt Hotels Corporation. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Destination by Hyatt FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Destination by Hyatt FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Destination by Hyatt's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Destination by Hyatt (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Destination by Hyatt franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Destination by Hyatt has 14 total units in the United States, including 5 franchised units and 9 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Destination by Hyatt a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Destination by Hyatt as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 59 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Destination by Hyatt, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.