Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Curves logo

Curves Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Health & FitnessTXFranchising since 2018
FWeakest tierWeakest tier25/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$72K – $101K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
19.0%
on 499 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00689Data QualityExcellent86%FDD 2022 · 4yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2022 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Curves is a women's fitness franchise built on a quick, 30-minute circuit workout plus coaching. Franchisees run compact gyms managing memberships, the circuit, and member support.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Curves franchise requires a total initial investment of $72K – $101K, including a $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.5% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 19.0% charge-off rate across 499 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: F (Weakest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$72K – $101K
10th pct Health & Fitn…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
7.5%
69th pct Health & Fitn…
Units
154
83rd pct Health & Fitn…
SBA charge-off
19.0%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Health & Fitness · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$72K – $101K
Median $392K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$50K – $50K
Median $50K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$2K – $5K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
7.5%
Median 7.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
9.5% of rev
Median 9.0%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
19.0%
499 loans · Median 10.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
System Size
154 units
Median 17 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
76.9%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
7 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Health & Fitness median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $72K – $101K including a $50K franchise fee, 7.5% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict F (Weakest tier), verdict score 25/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 19.0% across 499 loans (above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -40 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 7 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAG10 units terminated last reporting year (6.5% of the system). Ask existing franchisees why.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Curves NA, Inc.
Parent company
Curves DF Holdings, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2022 FDD
Ultimate parent
Curves Holdings Co., Ltd.
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2022 FDD
Predecessor
Curves International, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer, President and Director
Elizabeth Krishea Holloway
CEO experience
22 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
TX
HQ
400 Schroeder Drive, Waco, Texas 76710
Auditor
Jaynes Reitmeier Boyd & Therrell, P.C.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$2.9M
vs $4.5M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Elizabeth Krishea Holloway
Headquarters
TX
Founded
1995
FDD year
2022
States available
38

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 78% below the typical health & fitness franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$72K – $101KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2022 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Verified — printed on page 10 of the 2022 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty7.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2022 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2022 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$2K – $5K

Source: FDD 2022 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2022 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Curves: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$50K$50K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$2K$5K
Equipment, build-out, other$20K$47K
Total initial investment$72K$101K

Source: Curves 2022 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$72K – $101K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$2K – $5K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $50K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
7.5%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Curves: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.5% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$275
Training fee$300
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$25
Total fee load9.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Curves makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Curves unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $72K–$101K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $2K–$5K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$90K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2022 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 145 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.5% (near the Health & Fitness median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -45.8% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Health & Fitness medians

How Curves Compares

Metric
Curves
Category median
vs median
Investment
$87K
$392Kmiddle half $226K–$620K · n=172
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$477Kmiddle half $316K–$739K · n=65
N/A
Unit Count
154
17middle half 5–70 · n=171
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Health & Fitness brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units154Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 44 of the 2022 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth-45.8% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate76.9% (caution)

Source: FDD 2022 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
154
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
7
Terminated
10
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
14
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
76.9%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-45.8%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-45.8%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
10
Not renewed
14
Transferred
2
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Continuity rate
76.4%
Units that stayed open
Termination rate
39.0%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
2019
295
Franchised units
2020
194-101
Franchised units
2021
154-40
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 21 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 21 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

88 current owners across 21 states.

  • CA 33
  • IL 10
  • MN 6
  • CO 5
  • MO 5
  • FL 3
  • GA 3
  • ID 3
  • AL 2
  • AZ 2
  • IA 2
  • MA 2
  • +9 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

A system losing more than 10% of its units year-over-year is a red flag. Check whether closures are concentrated in specific regions.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

D
SBA Lending Health
Below-average SBA lending record · 19.0% charge-off
Total loans
499
Loan volume
$47.4M
Median loan
$56K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
19.0%
on 499 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
81.2%
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
206
Defaults
82
Typical loan rate
6.3%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
15.8%
brand above franchise avg ↑
Jobs supported
1,459
3.6 per loan
Lender concentration
5%
top lender's share

Franchise vs independent — in fitness and recreational sports centers, franchised businesses charge off at 15.8% vs 18.2% for independents — franchising is associated with 13% lower SBA default risk in this category.

Vintage analysis

Curves charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Curves charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 14 vintages from 1999 to 2013. Rates range from 0.0% to 66.7%.0%5%10%15%20%25%30%35%40%45%50%55%60%65%70%'99'02'05'08'11'13

Shaded area: recent vintages with few resolved loans; rates may change as loans mature.

Top lenders financing Curves franchisees

PNC Bank, National Association23 loans17.4%
Bank of America, National Association18 loans22.2%
BMO Bank National Association16 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 206 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Curves from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
23.1%
Avg SBA guarantee
73%
Avg interest rate
6.28%
Avg chargeoff amount
$118K
Lender concentration
5.4%
Job velocity
3.6 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
12.5%
NAICS 713940
Jobs supported
1,459

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 5% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1PNC Bank, National Association23$3.7M17.4%
2Bank of America, National Association18$614K22.2%
3BMO Bank National Association16$1.5M0.0%
4TD Bank, National Association15$1.4M6.7%
5JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association14$993K7.1%
6Wells Fargo Bank National Association14$1.1M7.1%
7Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company11$585K0.0%
8U.S. Bank, National Association10$1.3M30.0%
9Fifth Third Bank8$544K50.0%
10The Huntington National Bank7$430K0.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
TXTexas29620.7%
CACalifornia28414.3%
PAPennsylvania21419.0%
IAIowa20315.0%
ILIllinois20210.0%
MNMinnesota19421.1%
WIWisconsin1900.0%
FLFlorida17741.2%
MDMaryland17635.3%
MOMissouri17211.8%

SBA 7(a) lending trend

1996
2
1997
1
1998
2
1999
11
2000
21
2001
27
2002
58
2003
57
2004
67
2005
56
2006
52
2007
26
2008
18
2009
7
2010
5
2011
5
2012
1
2013
6
2014
2
2015
1

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 19.0% — 19% above the 16.0% national norm, i.e. higher lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off19.0% · 499 loans
Verdict score25/100 (higher is better)
Litigation7 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

FWeakest tier25Verdict score 25/100
High confidence±8 pts
1733

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

7 cases: 1 consumer class action (email spam, settled $15k); 1 franchisee class action (fraud/misrepresentation, settled ~$11,765/plaintiff); 1 former franchisee action (dismissed on appeal pending); 1 former franchisee breach of support claim (pending); 3 plaintiff suits by Curves NA against former franchisees for non-payment (default judgments obtained).

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Jaynes Reitmeier Boyd & Therrell, P.C.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $2.9MYr 2: $4.5MNon-royalty: $1.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Revenues for FYE Dec 31, 2021 per audited Statements of Operations: Franchise $1,022,817; Product sales $51,541; Membership sales $803,165; Other $983,460; total $2,860,983. Entity: Curves NA, Inc. (a subsidiary of Curves DF Holdings, Inc.).

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 25 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORSystem declining 23.6% YoY (154 units) indicates accelerating franchisee exits and potential business model deterioration
  2. 02MINORNo average revenue or net income disclosure (Item 19) prevents assessment of actual profit potential and unit economics
  3. 03HIGHMultiple litigation patterns: class action for customer privacy violations, breach of contract suits from franchisees, and default judgments suggest systemic franchisor-franchisee relationship problems
  4. 04MEDHigh franchise fee ($50,000) relative to initial investment cap ($101,245 max) with 7.5% royalty on undisclosed revenue creates unfavorable risk-reward ratio

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 145 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training40 hrs

Source: FDD 2022 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory population60,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice20 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationTexas
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawTX
Litigation count7
View Item 3 litigation summary

7 cases: 1 consumer class action (email spam, settled $15k); 1 franchisee class action (fraud/misrepresentation, settled ~$11,765/plaintiff); 1 former franchisee action (dismissed on appeal pending); 1 former franchisee breach of support claim (pending); 3 plaintiff suits by Curves NA against former franchisees for non-payment (default judgments obtained).

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
28 hrs
On-the-job training
12 hrs
Training location
Austin/Waco, Texas or virtual locations designated by franchisor
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
12 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
4 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects, franchisor must approve
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Curves required operating system
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Curves required operating system

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

88 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 88 contacts · $49
Free preview
(406) 293-••••MT
Unlock all 88 contacts
(720) 339-••••CO
(770) 237-••••GA
(209) 622-••••CA
(714) 893-••••CA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Curves franchise?

The total investment to open a Curves franchise ranges from $72K – $101K, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Curves franchise owners earn?

Curves makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Curves?

Curves is franchised by Curves NA, Inc.. Its parent company is Curves DF Holdings, Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Curves Holdings Co., Ltd.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2022 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Curves FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Curves FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Curves's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Curves has a charge-off rate of 19.0% across 499 loans, meaning 19.0% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Curves franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Curves has 154 total units in the United States, including 154 franchised units and 0 company-owned units.

Is Curves a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Curves as a F-grade franchise with a verdict score of 25 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Curves, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Health & Fitness franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Health & Fitness category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.