Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict

Crazy Otto’s Diner Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsCAFranchising since 2008
BAbove averageAbove average53/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$563K – $760K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00656FDD 2025Data QualityStandard71%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Crazy Otto's Diner is a family restaurant franchise serving classic American diner breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing the kitchen, table service, and staffing.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Crazy Otto’s Diner franchise requires a total initial investment of $563K – $760K, including a $25K franchise fee and an ongoing 4.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: partial✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$563K – $760K
26th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
4.0%
3rd pct Service Resta…
Units
3
5th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$563K – $760K
Median $678K
near median
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$72K – $112K
Median $43K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
4.0%
Median 5.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
4.5% of rev
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
3 units
Median 20 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $563K – $760K including a $25K franchise fee, 4.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 53/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +1 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Engine No.9, Inc.
Predecessor
None
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President, Chief Executive Officer, and Chief Financial Officer
Jin Hur
CEO experience
20 yrs
Years in role or industry
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
CA
HQ
41008 43rd Street West, Palmdale, CA 93551
Auditor
JHK CPAs, AC.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$130K
vs $121K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Jin Hur
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2008
FDD year
2025
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost is about typical for a full-service restaurants franchise (near the category median).

Total investment (Item 7)$563K – $760KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty4.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund0.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$72K – $112K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Crazy Otto’s Diner: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$25K$25K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$72K$112K
Equipment, build-out, other$466K$623K
Total initial investment$563K$760K

Source: Crazy Otto’s Diner 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$563K – $760K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$72K – $112K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
4.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
4.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Crazy Otto’s Diner: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty4.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.5%
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$0
Inventory (initial)$8K – $12K
Total fee load4.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Crazy Otto’s Diner makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Crazy Otto’s Diner unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $563K–$760K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $72K–$112K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$754K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 147 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 4.5% — below the Full-Service Restaurants median of 7.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

Net unit growth of +50.0% over 3 years (0 opened, 0 closed).

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How Crazy Otto’s Diner Compares

Metric
Crazy Otto’s Diner
Category median
vs median
Investment
$662K
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Near median
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
3
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units3Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
3-yr growth+50.0% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
3
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
67%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+50.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+0.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Continuity rate
100.0%
Units that stayed open
2022
2
Franchised units
2023
1-1
Franchised units
2024
2+1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score53/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average53Verdict score 53/100

Financially distressed franchisor with minimal system scale, no performance disclosure, and unclear path to profitability makes this a high-risk investment.

Low confidence±15 pts
3868

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · JHK CPAs, AC.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.1MYr 2: $0.1MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Franchisor Engine No. 9, Inc. revenue is solely franchise (royalty) revenue. FY2024 Revenue-Franchise $130,095.07 plus interest income $7,213.91; Subchapter S corporation, no federal income tax provision.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 53 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOROnly 5 units systemwide suggests minimal scale, market validation failure, or recent contraction
  2. 02MEDNo Item 19 (average unit revenue/profitability) disclosed — prevents ROI assessment on $563k-$760k investment
  3. 03MINORRoyalty structure (4% dine-in + 2% outside vendor) lacks transparency on actual cost burden without revenue disclosure
  4. 04MINOR5-year term is relatively short; typically indicates franchisor uncertainty or struggling brand repositioning
  5. 05MEDNo disclosed growth trajectory or expansion plans despite small unit count

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 147 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 4.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term20 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training160 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term20 years
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius3 mi
Territory population50,000
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ5 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice10 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationLos Angeles County, California
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawCA
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
40 hrs
On-the-job training
120 hrs
Training location
Corporate headquarters, Lancaster, California
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
10 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects, franchisor must approve
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Crazy Otto’s Diner franchise?

The total investment to open a Crazy Otto’s Diner franchise ranges from $563K – $760K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Crazy Otto’s Diner franchise owners earn?

Crazy Otto’s Diner makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Crazy Otto’s Diner?

Crazy Otto’s Diner is franchised by Engine No.9, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Crazy Otto’s Diner FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Crazy Otto’s Diner FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Crazy Otto’s Diner's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Crazy Otto’s Diner (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Crazy Otto’s Diner franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Crazy Otto’s Diner has 3 total units in the United States, including 2 franchised units and 1 company-owned units.

Is Crazy Otto’s Diner a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Crazy Otto’s Diner as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 53 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Crazy Otto’s Diner, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.