Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Coffee Beanery logo

Coffee Beanery Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsMIFranchising since 1985
BAbove averageAbove average54/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$213K – $417K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Limited · 73 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00588Data QualityExcellent81%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Coffee Beanery is a specialty coffee franchise serving espresso drinks, flavored coffees, and pastries plus retail beans. Franchisees run the cafes, managing baristas, inventory, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Coffee Beanery franchise requires a total initial investment of $213K – $417K, including a $10K – $15K franchise fee and an ongoing 4.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$213K – $417K
27th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
4.0%
3rd pct Service Resta…
Units
28
54th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$213K – $417K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$10K – $15K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$20K – $50K
Median $33K
near median
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
4.0%
Median 5.5%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
6.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited · 73 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 73 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units
System Size
28 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
3.6%
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
2 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $213K – $417K including a $10K franchise fee, 4.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 54/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (1 opened, 1 closed); 5 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
The Coffee Beanery, Ltd.
Parent company
Shaw Coffee Company
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2024 FDD
CEO title
CEO and President
JoAnne Shaw
CEO experience
48 yrs
Years in role or industry
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
MI
HQ
3429 Pierson Place, Flushing, Michigan 48433
Auditor
Taylor & Morgan, P.C.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$12.7M
vs $12.1M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
JoAnne Shaw
Headquarters
MI
Founded
1976
FDD year
2024
States available
14

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 35% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$213K – $417KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 20 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$10,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 21 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty4.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$20K – $50K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2024 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Coffee Beanery: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$10K$10K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$20K$50K
Equipment, build-out, other$183K$357K
Total initial investment$213K$417K

Source: Coffee Beanery 2024 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$213K – $417K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$20K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$10K – $15K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
4.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
6.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Coffee Beanery: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty4.0% of net sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of net sales
Technology fee$100
Training fee$5K
Transfer fee$8K
Renewal fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$7K – $13K
Total fee load6.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Coffee Beanery makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Coffee Beanery unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $213K–$417K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $20K–$50K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$350K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 146 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.0% — below the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (0.0% 3-year CAGR) with 28 units.

Multi-unit rate

Only 17% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Coffee Beanery Compares

Metric
Coffee Beanery
Category median
vs median
Investment
$315K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
28
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units28Verified — printed on page 52 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+0.0%
Turnover rate3.6% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
28
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
1
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
3.6%
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
96%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
17.4%
Net growth (3-yr)
+0.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+0.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
1
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
5
0.18 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
5
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Termination rate
3.6%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
2021
27
Franchised units
2022
27±0
Franchised units
2023
27±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 13 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 13 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

26 current owners across 13 states.

  • MI 9
  • TN 3
  • TX 3
  • WY 2
  • FL 1
  • GA 1
  • IL 1
  • KY 1
  • MD 1
  • NJ 1
  • NY 1
  • PA 1
  • +1 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
73
Loan volume
$14.5M
Median loan
$199K
average
Charge-off rate
Limited · 73 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 73 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Limited · 73 loans
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
36
Defaults
14

Vintage analysis

Coffee Beanery charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Coffee Beanery charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 20 vintages from 1992 to 2023. Rates range from 0.0% to 100.0%.0%5%10%15%20%25%30%35%40%45%50%55%60%65%70%75%80%85%90%95%100%'92'95'98'01'04'07'20'23

Top lenders financing Coffee Beanery franchisees

U.S. Bank, National Association7 loans57.1%
Readycap Lending, LLC6 loans50.0%
Wells Fargo Bank National Association5 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 36 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Coffee Beanery from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Top SBA lenders

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1U.S. Bank, National Association7$894K57.1%
2Readycap Lending, LLC6$1.7M50.0%
3Wells Fargo Bank National Association5$1.0M0.0%
4KeyBank National Association4$570K0.0%
5JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association4$1.4M0.0%
6GE Capital Small Business Finance Corporation3$526K50.0%
7Bank of America, National Association3$548K0.0%
8First Western SBLC, Inc2$272K0.0%
9Wachovia SBA Lending, Inc.2$350K0.0%
10The Huntington National Bank2$280K0.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
MIMichigan11222.2%
NYNew York7116.7%
VAVirginia6125.0%
TXTexas5120.0%
CACalifornia4150.0%
ILIllinois4375.0%
KYKentucky4125.0%
NJNew Jersey400.0%
PAPennsylvania400.0%
ARArkansas300.0%

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offLimited · 73 loans
Verdict score54/100 (higher is better)
Litigation2 cases · none name the franchisor
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average54Verdict score 54/100

Coffee Beanery presents elevated risk due to undisclosed unit economics, stagnant growth, prior regulatory violations, territorial conflicts, and weak franchisor financial indicators.

Why this reads harsher than the B grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

High confidence±4 pts
5058

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

Administrative proceeding before the Illinois Attorney General (2007-2008, $2,500 fine); Administrative proceeding before the Maryland Securities Commissioner (2005-2006, Consent Order requiring rescission offers).

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Taylor & Morgan, P.C.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $12.7MYr 2: $12.1MNon-royalty: $0.4M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Consolidated audited financial statements of Shaw Coffee Company and Subsidiaries (parent/guarantor, includes The Coffee Beanery, Ltd.) for fiscal year ended June 30, 2024. Total revenue includes retail sales, product/equipment sales to franchisees, franchise royalty revenue and fees, wholesale sales, and other revenue.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 54 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORStagnant unit count at 28 with unknown growth trajectory suggests mature or declining system; no expansion momentum in competitive coffee sector
  2. 02HIGHMaterial litigation history: 2007 Illinois AG investigation into unlicensed brokers and disclosure violations, plus 2006 Maryland Securities Commissioner consent order for registration and antifraud violations—indicates past compliance and sales practice failures
  3. 03MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk; multiple franchisees can operate in same area, diluting individual unit economics
  4. 04MINOR4% royalty is low (suggests weak franchisor revenue model), combined with no going concern statement and financial opacity raises sustainability questions

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 146 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training95 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationFlushing, Michigan (non-binding mediation at franchisor's option)
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawMI
Litigation count2
View Item 3 litigation summary

Administrative proceeding before the Illinois Attorney General (2007-2008, $2,500 fine); Administrative proceeding before the Maryland Securities Commissioner (2005-2006, Consent Order requiring rescission offers).

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
35 hrs
On-the-job training
60 hrs
Training location
Training Center, Flushing, Michigan; Training Store, Flint, Michigan
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
60 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
9 mo
From signing to launch
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Revel POS
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: Revel POS

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

26 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 26 contacts · $49
Free preview
(810) 237-••••MI
Unlock all 26 contacts
(404) 345-••••GA
(423) 437-••••TN
(810) 227-••••MI
(270) 538-••••KY

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Coffee Beanery franchise?

The total investment to open a Coffee Beanery franchise ranges from $213K – $417K, with an initial franchise fee of $10K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Coffee Beanery franchise owners earn?

Coffee Beanery makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Coffee Beanery?

Coffee Beanery is franchised by The Coffee Beanery, Ltd.. Its parent company is Shaw Coffee Company. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Coffee Beanery FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Coffee Beanery FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Coffee Beanery's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Coffee Beanery (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Coffee Beanery franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Coffee Beanery has 28 total units in the United States, including 27 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Coffee Beanery a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Coffee Beanery as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 54 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Coffee Beanery, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.