Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Jazen Tea® logo

Jazen Tea® Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsCAFranchising since 2014
BAbove averageAbove average53/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$183K – $390K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01337Data QualityExcellent81%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Jazen Tea is a bubble tea franchise serving flavored teas, smoothies, and boba drinks. Franchisees run the shops, managing drink prep, ingredient inventory, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Jazen Tea® franchise requires a total initial investment of $183K – $390K, including a $10K franchise fee and an ongoing 4.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$183K – $390K
18th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
4.0%
3rd pct Service Resta…
Units
13
43rd pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$183K – $390K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$10K – $10K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $35K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
4.0%
Median 5.5%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
6.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
13 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
7.7%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $183K – $390K including a $10K franchise fee, 4.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 53/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -1 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 1 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
South Bay Soup Corporation
Parent company
Aureflam Corporation
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2024 FDD
Incorporated in
CA
HQ
2372 Maritime Drive, Elk Grove, CA 95758
Auditor
Katz Cassidy
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.2M
vs $1.3M prior year

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 8

1 other brand on this site name Aureflam Corporation as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2024 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Quoc Phan
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2005
FDD year
2024
States available
4

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 41% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$183K – $390KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 35 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$10,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2024 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty4.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$10K – $35K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2024 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Jazen Tea®: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$10K$10K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$10K$35K
Equipment, build-out, other$163K$345K
Total initial investment$183K$390K

Source: Jazen Tea® 2024 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$183K – $390K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $35K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$10K – $10K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
4.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
6.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Jazen Tea®: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty4.0%
Marketing / ad fund2.0%
Transfer fee$3K
Renewal fee$3K
Total fee load6.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Jazen Tea® makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Jazen Tea® unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $183K–$390K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$35K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$309K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.0% — below the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -16.7% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Multi-unit rate

40% of franchisees own multiple units, a moderate multi-unit rate.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Jazen Tea® Compares

Metric
Jazen Tea®
Category median
vs median
Investment
$286K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
13
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units13Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
3-yr growth-9.1% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate7.7% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
13
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Turnover rate
7.7%
Company-owned
3
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
77%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
40.0%
Net growth (3-yr)
-9.1%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-16.7%
Compounded over last 3 years
2021
12
Franchised units
2022
11-1
Franchised units
2023
10-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 5 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 5 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

16 current owners across 5 states.

  • CA 9
  • WA 4
  • IN 1
  • LA 1
  • TX 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score53/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average53Verdict score 53/100

Jazen Tea presents HIGH RISK due to a contracting unit base (-9.1% YoY), hidden financial metrics (no Item 19 disclosure), questionable franchisor going concern status, and a capital-intensive model lacking transparent return projections.

Why this reads harsher than the B grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

Low confidence±15 pts
3868

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Katz Cassidy

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.2MYr 2: $1.3M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Score breakdown · what drove the 53 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDSystem contracting sharply: 13 units with -9.1% YoY decline indicates deteriorating franchise health and market viability
  2. 02MINORNo financial performance disclosure (Item 19): Absence of average unit revenue and net income prevents ROI validation and hides profitability concerns
  3. 03MEDHigh capital requirement ($182.6K–$389.9K) paired with undisclosed returns creates significant investment risk without performance benchmarks
  4. 04MINORLack of transparency on unit economics: 4% royalty structure cannot be evaluated without knowing actual sales figures or net margins
  5. 05MINORShrinking franchisee base suggests high failure rate, poor unit support, or unsustainable business model in beverage retail sector

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training72 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Territory sizeℹRadius
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Right of first refusalℹYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawCalifornia
Litigation count0

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
16 hrs
On-the-job training
56 hrs
POS system
Toast POS
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Toast POS

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

16 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 16 contacts · $49
Free preview
(916) 779-••••CA
Unlock all 16 contacts
(916) 484-••••CA
(213) 633-••••CA
(360) 302-••••WA
(408) 366-••••CA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Jazen Tea® franchise?

The total investment to open a Jazen Tea® franchise ranges from $183K – $390K, with an initial franchise fee of $10K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Jazen Tea® franchise owners earn?

Jazen Tea® makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Jazen Tea®?

Jazen Tea® is franchised by South Bay Soup Corporation. Its parent company is Aureflam Corporation. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Jazen Tea® FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Jazen Tea® FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Jazen Tea®'s franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Jazen Tea® (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Jazen Tea® franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Jazen Tea® has 13 total units in the United States, including 10 franchised units and 3 company-owned units.

Is Jazen Tea® a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Jazen Tea® as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 53 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Jazen Tea®, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.