Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Broadway Pizza logo

Broadway Pizza Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsMinnesotaFranchising since 1990
CAverageAverage44/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$860K – $1.4M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (5)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00394Data QualityStandard76%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Broadway Pizza is a pizza restaurant franchise serving pizza and Italian fare for dine-in, carryout, and delivery. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing food prep, staffing, and service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Broadway Pizza franchise requires a total initial investment of $860K – $1.4M, including a $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 4.5% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2024 filing · Data extracted: · Staleness risk: high - figures are from a filing two or more years old

Evidence: partial✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored0 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$860K – $1.4M
90th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
4.5%
11th pct Service Resta…
Units
12
41st pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$860K – $1.4M
Median $486K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$30K – $30K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$8K – $25K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
4.5%
Median 5.5%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
5.5% of rev
Median 7.5%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (5)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 5 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
12 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $860K – $1.4M including a $30K franchise fee, 4.5% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 44/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Broadway Station Restaurants, Inc.
Predecessor
Eddy Peck's Broadway Pizza, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President
James A. Kruizenga
Incorporated in
Minnesota
HQ
1818 Wooddale Drive, Suite 202, Woodbury, MN 55125
Auditor
Bauman Associates, Ltd.
Unaudited
Franchisor revenue
$1.2M
vs $1.1M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
James A. Kruizenga
Headquarters
Minnesota
Founded
1990
FDD year
2024
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 128% above the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$860K – $1.4MNot cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Franchise fee$30,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty4.5%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Ad fund1.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$8K – $25K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2024 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Broadway Pizza: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$30K$30K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$8K$25K
Equipment, build-out, other$823K$1.3M
Total initial investment$860K$1.4M

Source: Broadway Pizza 2024 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$860K – $1.4M
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$8K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
4.5%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
5.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Broadway Pizza: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty4.5% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$15K
Renewal fee$3K
Inventory (initial)$20K – $30K
Total fee load5.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Broadway Pizza makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Broadway Pizza unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $860K–$1.4M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $8K–$25K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$1.1M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 105 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 5.5% — below the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -7.7% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Broadway Pizza Compares

Metric
Broadway Pizza
Category median
vs median
Investment
$1.1M
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
12
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units12Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
3-yr growth-7.7% (worth scrutinizing)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
12
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-7.7%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-7.7%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2021
13
Franchised units
2022
12-1
Franchised units
2023
12±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 5 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
5
Loan volume
$1.8M
Median loan
$325K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (5)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 5 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (5)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (5)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
3
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
4
Loan volume
$3.4M
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
129

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (5)
Verdict score44/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage44Verdict score 44/100

No litigation, bankruptcy, or going-concern. Audited financials with no distress. Minor gaps: no Item 19 disclosure and a small -7.7% net unit decline on a 12-unit base.

Moderate confidence±11 pts
3355

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Disclosure Document.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

No audited financials on file

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.2MYr 2: $1.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 44 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORZero litigation
  2. 02MINORNo bankruptcy or going-concern, audited
  3. 03MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  4. 04MINOR-7.7% net growth on 12 units (minor)

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 105 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 5.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training240 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory radius1 mi
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ10 years
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window15 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMinneapolis, Minnesota
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawMinnesota
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Disclosure Document.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
30 hrs
On-the-job training
230 hrs
Training location
Woodbury, Minnesota (classroom) and an operational Broadway Pizza restaurant plus the Franchised Location (on-the-job)
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisee
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
FoodTec POS System
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: FoodTec POS System

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Broadway Pizza franchise?

The total investment to open a Broadway Pizza franchise ranges from $860K – $1.4M, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Broadway Pizza franchise owners earn?

Broadway Pizza makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Broadway Pizza?

Broadway Pizza is franchised by Broadway Station Restaurants, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Broadway Pizza FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Broadway Pizza FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Broadway Pizza's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Broadway Pizza (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Broadway Pizza franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Broadway Pizza has 12 total units in the United States, including 12 franchised units and 0 company-owned units.

Is Broadway Pizza a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Broadway Pizza as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 44 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Broadway Pizza, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.