Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
BodyBrite logo

BodyBrite Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Personal Care & BeautyMNFranchising since 2016
FWeakest tierWeakest tier26/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$137K – $384K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (8)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00360Data QualityExcellent86%FDD 2022 · 4yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2022 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

BodyBrite is a beauty and wellness franchise offering skin treatments, hair removal, and body services at affordable prices. Franchisees run the studios, managing technicians, appointments, and retail.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A BodyBrite franchise requires a total initial investment of $137K – $384K, including a $39K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: F (Weakest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$137K – $384K
11th pct Personal Care…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
12th pct Personal Care…
Units
14
21st pct Personal Care…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Personal Care & Beauty · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$137K – $384K
Median $402K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$39K – $39K
Median $45K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$15K – $30K
Median $34K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 6.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
6.0% of rev
Median 7.9%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (8)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 8 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
14 units
Median 40 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
14.3%
Median 0.8%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Personal Care & Beauty median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $137K – $384K including a $39K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict F (Weakest tier), verdict score 26/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -2 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 2 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAGAuditor disclosed a going-concern note, which flagged doubt about the franchisor's ability to continue operations. Verify against the latest FDD.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Simply HairFree Franchising II, LLC
Parent company
Simply HairFree Holdings, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2022 FDD
Ultimate parent
EC Franchising, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2022 FDD
Predecessor
Simply HairFree Franchising, LLC (SHF I)
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President and Chief Executive Officer
Christopher Hardy
CEO experience
12 yrs
Years in role or industry
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
MN
HQ
5108 West 74th St., #390425, Minneapolis, MN 55439
Auditor
GTL, LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$297K
vs $261K prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes
⚠ Going-concern note
Disclosed in FDD 2022
Status as of 2022; may have been resolved in a later filing we don't yet have.

Overview

About

CEO
Christopher Hardy
Headquarters
MN
Founded
2016
FDD year
2022
States available
10

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 35% below the typical personal care & beauty franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$137K – $384KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 25 of the 2022 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$39,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 24 of the 2022 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2022 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2022 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$15K – $30K

Source: FDD 2022 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown17 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$39K$39K
Real Estate$1K$12K
Leasehold Improvements$0$65K
Furniture and Fixtures$20K$25K
Signage$5K$7K
Equipment$39K$172K
Initial Inventory and Supplies$3K$4K
Shipping Costs$1K$4K
Grand Opening Advertising$10K$10K
Computer Hardware and Software$2K$4K
Business Permits, Licenses and Other Deposits$300$2K
Insurance$1K$2K
Cost to Attend Training$0$3K
Professional Fees$500$3K
Extension Fee$0$500
Miscellaneous Operating Costs$500$3K
Additional Working Capital - 3 months$15K$30K
Total initial investment$137K$384K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$137K – $384K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$15K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$39K – $39K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
6.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

BodyBrite: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$350
Training fee$3K
Transfer fee$20K
Renewal fee$3K
Inventory (initial)$3K – $4K
Total fee load6.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

BodyBrite makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one BodyBrite unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $137K–$384K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $15K–$30K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$283K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2022 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 147 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.0% — below the Personal Care & Beauty median of 7.9%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -31.2% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Personal Care & Beauty medians

How BodyBrite Compares

Metric
BodyBrite
Category median
vs median
Investment
$260K
$402Kmiddle half $261K–$677K · n=112
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$527Kmiddle half $402K–$892K · n=59
N/A
Unit Count
14
40middle half 8–151 · n=111
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Personal Care & Beauty brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units14Verified — printed on page 49 of the 2022 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-31.2% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate14.3% (caution)

Source: FDD 2022 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
14
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
2
Terminated
1
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
14.3%
Company-owned
3
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
79%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-31.2%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-31.2%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
1
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
1
Franchisor bought back
Projected new
5
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Termination rate
7.1%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
7.1%
Units that stopped operating
2019
16
Franchised units
2020
13-3
Franchised units
2021
11-2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 11 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 11 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

18 current owners across 12 states.

  • FL 3
  • CO 2
  • GA 2
  • NY 2
  • TX 2
  • AC 1
  • IL 1
  • LA 1
  • MI 1
  • MN 1
  • NE 1
  • OR 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 1 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 8 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
8
Loan volume
$833K
Median loan
$111K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (8)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 8 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (8)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (8)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
6
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

The auditor flagged going-concern doubt (Item 21) — the single biggest risk here.

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (8)
Verdict score26/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtYes (worth scrutinizing)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

FWeakest tier26Verdict score 26/100

BodyBrite presents elevated risk due to contracting unit base, undisclosed profitability metrics, litigation history, and lack of transparent financial performance data needed to validate ROI.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
1339

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

WillieJoy, LLC v. Simply HairFree Franchising, LLC (W.D. Tex. Case 5:16-cv-00235-DAE) — former franchisee of predecessor SHF I; claims breach of franchise agreement, warranty breach, Texas Business Opportunity Act and DTPA violations; settled with payment to franchisee in exchange for three machines and mutual release

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · GTL, LLP⚠ Going-concern note flagged

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.3MYr 2: $0.3M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

FY2021 total revenues comprise Royalty Income $176,105, Marketing Fund Income $38,864, Software Fees $12,495, Franchise Fees $70,000, Other Revenue $0. Financial statements audited; entity reports a Member's Deficit (negative equity).

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 26 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDUnit count declined 15.4% YoY (14 units) indicating system contraction and potential viability concerns
  2. 02MEDNo Item 19 (average revenue/net income) disclosed — inability to assess unit profitability or ROI
  3. 03HIGHActive litigation history with settlement requiring franchisor equipment payout suggests operational/contractual disputes
  4. 04MINORHigh investment ceiling ($383,770) paired with declining unit count raises capital recovery risk
  5. 05MINORDual fee structure (4-6% royalty vs. $1,500 flat) lacks transparency on which model most franchisees adopt and actual cost burden

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 147 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training102 hrs

Source: FDD 2022 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory population150,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMinneapolis, Minnesota (AAA office closest to principal executive office)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMN
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

WillieJoy, LLC v. Simply HairFree Franchising, LLC (W.D. Tex. Case 5:16-cv-00235-DAE) — former franchisee of predecessor SHF I; claims breach of franchise agreement, warranty breach, Texas Business Opportunity Act and DTPA violations; settled with payment to franchisee in exchange for three machines and mutual release

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
51 hrs
On-the-job training
51 hrs
Training location
Electronically, Eden Prairie Minnesota, Cocoa Beach Florida, and/or onsite at Franchised Location
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
6 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee with franchisor consent
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
QuickBooks Online
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: QuickBooks Online

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

19 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 19 contacts · $49
Free preview
952-943-••••MN
Unlock all 19 contacts
281-778-••••TX
402-934-••••NE
678-578-••••GA
954-999-••••FL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a BodyBrite franchise?

The total investment to open a BodyBrite franchise ranges from $137K – $384K, with an initial franchise fee of $39K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do BodyBrite franchise owners earn?

BodyBrite makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns BodyBrite?

BodyBrite is franchised by Simply HairFree Franchising II, LLC. Its parent company is Simply HairFree Holdings, LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is EC Franchising, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2022 filing.

What is Item 19 in the BodyBrite FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the BodyBrite FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is BodyBrite's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for BodyBrite (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many BodyBrite franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, BodyBrite has 14 total units in the United States, including 11 franchised units and 3 company-owned units.

Is BodyBrite a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates BodyBrite as a F-grade franchise with a verdict score of 26 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent BodyBrite, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Personal Care & Beauty franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Personal Care & Beauty category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.