Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Uncle Louie G logo

Uncle Louie G Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsNYFranchising since 2007
BAbove averageAbove average53/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$69K – $175K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (2)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02842FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent86%
Manager-run OKYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Uncle Louie G is a dessert franchise serving Italian ices and premium ice cream in a wide range of flavors. Franchisees run the shops, managing product inventory, staffing, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Uncle Louie G franchise requires a total initial investment of $69K – $175K, including a $8K – $20K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$69K – $175K
3rd pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
0.0%
0th pct Service Resta…
Units
30
56th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$69K – $175K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$8K – $20K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$15K – $25K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
0.0%
Median 5.5%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
Not extracted
Median 7.5%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (2)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 2 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
30 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
6.7%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
2 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $69K – $175K including a $20K franchise fee, 0.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 53/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +6 franchised outlets in the latest year (8 opened, 2 closed); 5 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 15.4% CAGR over 3 years with 30 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Uncle Louie Gee I, Inc.
Predecessor
Uncle Louie G Franchise Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President
Melissa Aiello
CEO experience
13 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
New York
HQ
115 Johnson Street, Staten Island, New York 10309
Auditor
Henry Mensah
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.5M
vs $1.1M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Melissa Aiello
Headquarters
NY
FDD year
2025
States available
6

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 75% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$69K – $175KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$20,000Verified — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty0.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$15K – $25K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Uncle Louie G: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$20K$20K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$15K$25K
Equipment, build-out, other$34K$130K
Total initial investment$69K$175K

Source: Uncle Louie G 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$69K – $175K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$15K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$8K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
0.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
No advertising fund maintained; franchisor may conduct it…

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Uncle Louie G: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty0.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$6K
Renewal fee$3K
Inventory (initial)$5K – $6K
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Uncle Louie G makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Uncle Louie G unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $69K–$175K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $15K–$25K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$142K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 145 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

0.0% royalty — lower than the category average.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 15.4% CAGR over 3 years across 30 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Multi-unit rate

Only 15% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Uncle Louie G Compares

Metric
Uncle Louie G
Category median
vs median
Investment
$122K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
30
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units30Verified — printed on page 46 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+15.4% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate6.7% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
30
Opened
8
Last reporting year
Closed
2
Terminated
1
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
1
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
6.7%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
14.8%
Net growth (3-yr)
+15.4%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+15.4%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
1
Not renewed
1
Transferred
4
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
5
0.17 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
17
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
13.3%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Termination rate
6.7%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
6.7%
Units that stopped operating
2022
26
Franchised units
2023
24-2
Franchised units
2024
30+6
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 6 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 6 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

34 current owners across 7 states.

  • NJ 13
  • NY 11
  • FL 5
  • PA 2
  • OH 1
  • RD 1
  • SC 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 2 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
2
Loan volume
$340K
Median loan
$170K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (2)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 2 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (2)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (2)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
1
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (2)
Verdict score53/100 (higher is better)
Litigation2 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average53Verdict score 53/100

Two concluded matters, including a 2014-2015 NY Attorney General investigation into unregistered franchise sales, both resolved. No bankruptcy, no going-concern, audited financials with total revenue of $1.49M and a stable 30-unit all-franchised system. Only lingering concern is no Item 19 disclosure and the historical regulatory matter.

Moderate confidence±10 pts
4363

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Two concluded actions: (1) Basciano v. Uncle Louie Gee I, Inc. - breach of contract claim by former licensee alleging violation of territorial rights and unfulfilled order, settled with license fee refund and brand de-identification; (2) New York Attorney General investigation alleging unlawful franchise sales without registration, settled with agreement not to offer franchises in NY until registered/exempt, rescission offer to prior NY franchisees, and $5,000 in penalties, fees, and costs.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Henry Mensah

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.5MYr 2: $1.1MNon-royalty: $0.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Franchisor revenue from sale of Uncle Louie G Products/Supplies & Equipment to franchisees was $1,342,022 (90% of total revenue of $1,491,136) in FY2024 (Item 8)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 53 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORConcluded NY AG investigation into unregistered franchise sales (2014-2015)
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  3. 03HIGHBoth litigation matters concluded, not active

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 145 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training24 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory radius0.1 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ14
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationNew York
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawNew York
Litigation count2
View Item 3 litigation summary

Two concluded actions: (1) Basciano v. Uncle Louie Gee I, Inc. - breach of contract claim by former licensee alleging violation of territorial rights and unfulfilled order, settled with license fee refund and brand de-identification; (2) New York Attorney General investigation alleging unlawful franchise sales without registration, settled with agreement not to offer franchises in NY until registered/exempt, rescission offer to prior NY franchisees, and $5,000 in penalties, fees, and costs.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
14 hrs
On-the-job training
10 hrs
Training location
Staten Island, New York
Ongoing training
Optional
Site selection
franchisee (subject to franchisor's written notice of no objection)
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

34 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 34 contacts · $49
Free preview
(917) 710-••••NJ
Unlock all 34 contacts
(347) 465-••••NY
(412) 916-••••PA
(718) 744-••••FL
(203) 948-••••NY

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Uncle Louie G franchise?

The total investment to open a Uncle Louie G franchise ranges from $69K – $175K, with an initial franchise fee of $20K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Uncle Louie G franchise owners earn?

Uncle Louie G makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Uncle Louie G?

Uncle Louie G is franchised by Uncle Louie Gee I, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Uncle Louie G FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Uncle Louie G FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Uncle Louie G's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Uncle Louie G (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Uncle Louie G franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Uncle Louie G has 30 total units in the United States, including 30 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 8 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Uncle Louie G a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Uncle Louie G as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 53 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Uncle Louie G, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.