Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Tutoring Club logo

Tutoring Club Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

EducationNVFranchising since 2006
AStrongest tierStrongest tier73/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$89K – $163K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Limited · 12 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02816Data QualityStandard76%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Tutoring Club is an after-school tutoring franchise providing K-12 instruction in math, reading, writing, and test prep. Franchisees run a learning center managing tutors, enrollment, and student progress.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Tutoring Club franchise requires a total initial investment of $89K – $163K, including a $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 10.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$89K – $163K
27th pct Education
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
10.0%
65th pct Education
Units
87
62nd pct Education
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Education · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$89K – $163K
Median $194K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$35K – $35K
Median $45K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$11K – $16K
Median $25K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
10.0%
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
11.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited · 12 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 12 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units
System Size
87 units
Median 20 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Education median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $89K – $163K including a $35K franchise fee, 10.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 73/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed); 7 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Tutoring Club, LLC
CEO title
President & Chief Executive Officer
David Hill
CEO experience
20 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
Nevada
HQ
11241 S. Eastern Avenue, Henderson, NV 89052
Auditor
Velez Hardy CPAs and Advisors
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$3.0M
vs $3.0M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
David Hill
Headquarters
NV
Founded
2006
FDD year
2024
States available
19

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 35% below the typical education franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$89K – $163KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$34,500Verified — printed on page 10 of the 2024 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty10.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$11K – $16K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2024 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Tutoring Club: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$35K$35K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$11K$16K
Equipment, build-out, other$44K$112K
Total initial investment$89K$163K

Source: Tutoring Club 2024 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$89K – $163K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$11K – $16K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$35K – $35K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
10.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
11.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Tutoring Club: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty10.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$250
Training fee$300
Transfer fee$17K
Total fee load11.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Tutoring Club makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Tutoring Club unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $89K–$163K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $11K–$16K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$139K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 142 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 11.0% — above the Education median of 9.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (+1.4% 3-year CAGR) with 87 units.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Education medians

How Tutoring Club Compares

Metric
Tutoring Club
Category median
vs median
Investment
$126K
$194Kmiddle half $94K–$625K · n=164
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$408Kmiddle half $269K–$1.2M · n=72
N/A
Unit Count
87
20middle half 6–79 · n=164
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Education brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units87Verified — printed on page 36 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+1.4% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
87
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
13
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
85%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+1.4%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+1.4%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
7
0.08 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
4
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Ceased ops
2.3%
Units that stopped operating
2021
74
Franchised units
2022
74±0
Franchised units
2023
74±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 19 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

19

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
12
Loan volume
$1.8M
Median loan
$150K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Limited · 12 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 12 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Limited · 12 loans
5-yr charge-off
Limited · 12 loans
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
7
Defaults
2
Typical loan rate
6.6%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
23.8%
n=590 loans
Jobs supported
150
8.9 per loan
Lender concentration
18%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 50% went to startups / new businesses, 50% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in exam preparation and tutoring, franchised businesses charge off at 23.8% vs 19.2% for independents — franchising is associated with 24% higher SBA default risk in this category.

Top lenders financing Tutoring Club franchisees

PNC Bank, National Association2 loans50.0%
Celtic Bank Corporation2 loans0.0%
Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company2 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 7 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Tutoring Club from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
9.9%
Avg SBA guarantee
69%
Avg interest rate
6.62%
Avg chargeoff amount
$83K
Lender concentration
18.2%
Job velocity
8.9 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
31.0%
NAICS 611691
Jobs supported
150

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 18% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1PNC Bank, National Association2$90K50.0%
2Celtic Bank Corporation2$300K0.0%
3Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company2$225K0.0%
4United Midwest Savings Bank National Association2$270K100.0%
5Atlantic Union Bank1$154K0.0%
6CNB Bank1$305KN/A
7Merchants Bank of Indiana1$338KN/A

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
VAVirginia5120.0%
CACalifornia200.0%
MSMississippi11100.0%
NVNevada100.0%
OHOhio10--
OKOklahoma10--

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2006
2
2009
1
2016
4
2021
1
2022
1
2024
1
2025
1

Borrower profile

Startup2 (50%)
Ownership change1 (25%)
Existing (2+ yr)1 (25%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offLimited · 12 loans
Verdict score73/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier73Verdict score 73/100

Tutoring Club has positive net worth $84,052 and strong net income $467,799 on $1.54M revenue, audited, no litigation, bankruptcy, or going-concern. The only noted item is an unrelated TTAB trademark cancellation proceeding, not Item-3 litigation. Item 19 not disclosed is a minor gap. 87 units since 2006.

Moderate confidence±9 pts
6482

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation information required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Velez Hardy CPAs and Advisors

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $3.0MYr 2: $3.0MTotal: $1.5M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

2023 total annual revenues of $1,536,585 (per Item 8), of which $122,698 (8%) came from required purchases by franchisees

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 73 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORPositive net worth $84,052, net income $467,799
  2. 02MINORNo Item-3 litigation (only a TTAB trademark proceeding)
  3. 03MINORNo bankruptcy/going-concern
  4. 04MINORMinor: no Item 19

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 142 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 11.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training120 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ4
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius2.5 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ3 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ15 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ2
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationcounty where principal office is located
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawNevada
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation information required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
80 hrs
On-the-job training
40 hrs
Training location
On-site and off-site
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
4 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee (with franchisor approval and site-selection criteria/on-site assistance available)
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
TutorAid
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: TutorAid

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Tutoring Club franchise?

The total investment to open a Tutoring Club franchise ranges from $89K – $163K, with an initial franchise fee of $35K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Tutoring Club franchise owners earn?

Tutoring Club makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Tutoring Club?

Tutoring Club is franchised by Tutoring Club, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Tutoring Club FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Tutoring Club FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Tutoring Club's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Tutoring Club (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Tutoring Club franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Tutoring Club has 87 total units in the United States, including 74 franchised units and 13 company-owned units.

Is Tutoring Club a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Tutoring Club as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 73 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Tutoring Club, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Education franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Education category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.