Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Trapped logo

Trapped Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Recreation & EntertainmentDEFranchising since 2025
FWeakest tierWeakest tier26/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$538K – $958K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02784FDD 2025Data QualityStandard71%Pre-opening
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Trapped is a recreation franchise operating themed escape rooms where groups solve puzzles to escape in time. Franchisees run the venues, managing game rooms, bookings, staffing, and events.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Trapped franchise requires a total initial investment of $538K – $958K, including a $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.5% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: F (Weakest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2025. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$538K – $958K
35th pct Recreation & …
Avg gross sales
N/A
0 outlets
Royalty
7.5%
41st pct Recreation & …
Units
0
0th pct Recreation & …
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Recreation & Entertainment · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$538K – $958K
Median $560K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$35K – $35K
Median $49K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$75K – $100K
Median $40K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
7.5%
Median 7.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
8.5% of rev
Median 8.0%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
0 units
Median 11 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Recreation & Entertainment median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $538K – $958K including a $35K franchise fee, 7.5% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict F (Weakest tier), verdict score 26/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAGAuditor disclosed a going-concern note, which flagged doubt about the franchisor's ability to continue operations. Verify against the latest FDD.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Trapped US Franchise, Inc.
Parent company
Trapped Franchise Holdco, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Director and Co-Founder
Vic Zhou
CEO experience
10 yrs
Years in role or industry
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
614 N. DuPont Hwy, Suite 210, Dover, DE 19901
Auditor
DA Advisory Group PLLC
Audited financials
⚠ Going-concern note
Disclosed in FDD 2025
Auditor flagged doubt about continued operations. Verify against the latest FDD before deciding.

Overview

About

CEO
Vic Zhou
Headquarters
DE
Founded
2024
FDD year
2025
States available
0

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 34% above the typical recreation & entertainment franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$538K – $958KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$35,000Verified — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty7.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$75K – $100K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Trapped: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$35K$35K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$75K$100K
Equipment, build-out, other$428K$823K
Total initial investment$538K$958K

Source: Trapped 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$538K – $958K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$75K – $100K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$35K – $35K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
7.5%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Trapped: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.5% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0%
Technology fee$1K
Training fee$500
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$5K
Total fee load8.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Trapped makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Trapped unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $538K–$958K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $75K–$100K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$836K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 140 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.5% (near the Recreation & Entertainment median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Recreation & Entertainment medians

How Trapped Compares

Metric
Trapped
Category median
vs median
Investment
$748K
$560Kmiddle half $268K–$1.5M · n=91
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$794Kmiddle half $424K–$1.6M · n=25
N/A
Unit Count
0
11middle half 3–64 · n=91
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Recreation & Entertainment brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units0Verified — printed on page 40 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
0
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
0
Franchised units
2023
0±0
Franchised units
2024
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

The auditor flagged going-concern doubt (Item 21) — the single biggest risk here.

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score26/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtYes (worth scrutinizing)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

FWeakest tier26Verdict score 26/100

Pre-opening escape-room startup (began franchising 2025) with 0 units and no revenue. A going-concern note is flagged but this is an early-stage franchisor with minimal history and only $50,091 net worth. No litigation, no bankruptcy, audited financials; no Item 19.

Low confidence±15 pts
1141

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · DA Advisory Group PLLC⚠ Going-concern note flagged

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 26 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORPre-opening: 0 units, no operating history
  2. 02MEDGoing-concern note present but on a brand-new franchisor (limited history)
  3. 03MINORThin net worth $50,091, no Item 19 disclosure

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 140 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training72 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory population150,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice15 days
Termination groundsℹ15
Curable defaultsℹ6
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationKent County, Delaware
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawDelaware
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
24 hrs
On-the-job training
48 hrs
Training location
On-site and off-site
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisee, subject to franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Required POS software platform (proprietary)
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Required POS software platform (proprietary)

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

18 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 18 contacts · $49
Free preview
(100) 018-••••
Unlock all 18 contacts
(416) 400-••••
(778) 819-••••
(236) 484-••••
(343) 588-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Trapped franchise?

The total investment to open a Trapped franchise ranges from $538K – $958K, with an initial franchise fee of $35K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Trapped franchise owners earn?

Trapped makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Trapped?

Trapped is franchised by Trapped US Franchise, Inc.. Its parent company is Trapped Franchise Holdco, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Trapped FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Trapped FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Trapped's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Trapped (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

Is Trapped a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Trapped as a F-grade franchise with a verdict score of 26 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Trapped, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Recreation & Entertainment franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Recreation & Entertainment category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.