Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
The Scout Guide logo

The Scout Guide Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Business ServicesVAFranchising since 2012
AStrongest tierStrongest tier75/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$130K – $288K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (3)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02704FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

The Scout Guide is a franchise publishing a curated print-and-digital guide to locally owned businesses in a community. Franchisees run a local edition selling memberships to featured businesses and producing the guide, typically home-based.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A The Scout Guide franchise requires a total initial investment of $130K – $288K, including a $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 10.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$130K – $288K
44th pct Business Serv…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
10.0%
41st pct Business Serv…
Units
95
46th pct Business Serv…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Business Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$130K – $288K
Median $133K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$50K – $50K
Median $48K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$7K – $12K
Median $23K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
10.0%
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
10.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (3)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 3 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
95 units
Median 39 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
7.4%
Median 3.7%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Business Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $130K – $288K including a $50K franchise fee, 10.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 75/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +6 franchised outlets in the latest year (13 opened, 7 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAG5 units terminated last reporting year (5.3% of the system). Ask existing franchisees why.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Scout Guide, LLC
Parent company
TSG Holding Company LLC
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Co-Founder, Creative Director
Christy Ford
Incorporated in
Virginia
HQ
3465 Ivy Road, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Auditor
Hantzmon Wiebel LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$7.3M
vs $6.6M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Christy Ford
Headquarters
VA
Founded
2011
FDD year
2025
States available
33

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 57% above the typical business services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$130K – $288KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty10.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$7K – $12K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

The Scout Guide: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$50K$50K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$7K$12K
Equipment, build-out, other$73K$226K
Total initial investment$130K$288K

Source: The Scout Guide 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$130K – $288K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$7K – $12K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
10.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
100 per month
Total fee load
10.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

The Scout Guide: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty10.0%
Technology fee$2K
Transfer fee$13K
Renewal fee$10K
Total fee load10.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

The Scout Guide makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one The Scout Guide unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $130K–$288K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $7K–$12K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$218K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 121 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 10.0% (near the Business Services median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 28.8% CAGR over 3 years across 95 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Business Services medians

How The Scout Guide Compares

Metric
The Scout Guide
Category median
vs median
Investment
$209K
$133Kmiddle half $79K–$260K · n=193
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$686Kmiddle half $373K–$1.4M · n=61
N/A
Unit Count
95
39middle half 8–116 · n=193
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Business Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units95Verified — printed on page 40 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+28.8% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate7.4% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
95
Opened
13
Last reporting year
Closed
7
Terminated
5
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
2
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
7.4%
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
99%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+28.8%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+28.8%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
5
Not renewed
2
Transferred
10
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
19
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
73
Franchised units
2023
88+15
Franchised units
2024
94+6
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 33 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 33 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

85 current owners across 33 states.

  • TX 13
  • FL 10
  • VA 6
  • AL 5
  • TN 5
  • CO 4
  • NC 4
  • GA 3
  • MS 3
  • AZ 2
  • CA 2
  • IL 2
  • +21 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 3 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
3
Loan volume
$118K
Median loan
$50K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (3)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 3 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (3)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (3)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
2
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (3)
Verdict score75/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier75Verdict score 75/100

Established 95-unit system with strong revenue ($7.3M) and net income ($672,110), no litigation, bankruptcy, or going-concern. Only minor concern is a thin net worth of $144,561 relative to revenue and no Item 19 disclosure. Positive 28.8% growth.

Moderate confidence±10 pts
6585

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

None disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Hantzmon Wiebel LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $7.3MYr 2: $6.6M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

FY2024 audited total revenue $7,299,198 (franchise fees $493,103; royalties $1,816,235; production/printing fees $5,034,723; shipping $100,891; technology fees $172,026; content services $46,600; finance charges $38,612; other income $7,250; less discounts/credits $410,242)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 75 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORThin net worth $144,561 relative to $7.3M revenue
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  3. 03MINORStrong net income $672,110, growth +28.8%
  4. 04MINORNo litigation or bankruptcy

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 121 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 10.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training13 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory population250,000
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ1
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationVirginia (closest court of general jurisdiction to corporate office); Illinois, Maryland, and Washington franchisees must arbitrate
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawVirginia
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

None disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
13 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Ongoing training
Required
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Quickbooks Online
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance

Technology: Quickbooks Online

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

85 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 85 contacts · $49
Free preview
913-645-••••OK
Unlock all 85 contacts
704512••••VA
432-559-••••TX
561-801-••••FL
917-445-••••SC

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a The Scout Guide franchise?

The total investment to open a The Scout Guide franchise ranges from $130K – $288K, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do The Scout Guide franchise owners earn?

The Scout Guide makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns The Scout Guide?

The Scout Guide is franchised by Scout Guide, LLC. Its parent company is TSG Holding Company LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the The Scout Guide FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the The Scout Guide FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is The Scout Guide's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for The Scout Guide (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many The Scout Guide franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, The Scout Guide has 95 total units in the United States, including 94 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 13 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is The Scout Guide a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates The Scout Guide as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 75 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent The Scout Guide, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Business Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Business Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.