Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
The Roof Resource logo

The Roof Resource Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Home ServicesMichiganFranchising since 2023
BAbove averageAbove average48/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$120K – $146K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02700FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

The Roof Resource is a home services franchise that advises homeowners on selecting and buying roofing at direct-from-manufacturer pricing without doing installation. Franchisees run local operations, managing consultations and referrals.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A The Roof Resource franchise requires a total initial investment of $120K – $146K, including a $45K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$120K – $146K
45th pct Home Services
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
7.0%
48th pct Home Services
Units
9
17th pct Home Services
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Home Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$120K – $146K
Median $168K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$45K – $45K
Median $50K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$6K – $12K
Median $29K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
7.0%
Median 6.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
11.0% of rev
Median 8.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
9 units
Median 47 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
11.1%
Median 4.3%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
3 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Home Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $120K – $146K including a $45K franchise fee, 7.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 48/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +1 franchised outlets in the latest year (2 opened, 1 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
The Roof Resource Franchising, Inc.
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Michael Harvey
Incorporated in
Michigan
HQ
13400 Canal Road, Sterling Heights, Michigan 48313
Auditor
Metwally CPA PLLC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$202K
Most recent fiscal year

Affiliated brands

  • maintains a pr
  • The Roof Resource
  • operates a Roof Resource business that is similar to the Franchised Business
  • has not in the past and does not now offer franchises in any lines of business
  • The Roof Resource IP

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Michael Harvey
Headquarters
Michigan
Founded
2023
FDD year
2025
States available
2

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 21% below the typical home services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$120K – $146KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$45,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty7.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$6K – $12K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown15 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$75K$75K
Construction and Leasehold Improvements$0$1K
Storage Unit$0$2K
Furniture and Fixtures$0$1K
Utility Deposits$200$300
Signage$650$2K
Computer, Software, and Business Management System$5K$6K
Marketing Launch Package Fee$21K$21K
Advertising Assets$4K$6K
Insurance Deposits - Three Months$64$450
Travel for Initial Training$1K$3K
Professional Fees$5K$11K
Licenses and Permits$250$1K
Printing, Stationery and Office Supplies$2K$4K
Additional Funds - Three Months$6K$12K
Total initial investment$120K$146K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$120K – $146K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$6K – $12K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$45K – $45K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
7.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
11.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

The Roof Resource: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$600
Training fee$500
Transfer fee$23K
Renewal fee$5K
Total fee load11.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

The Roof Resource makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one The Roof Resource unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $120K–$146K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $6K–$12K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$142K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 121 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 11.0% — above the Home Services median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

Net unit growth roughly flat at +0.1%.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Home Services medians

How The Roof Resource Compares

Metric
The Roof Resource
Category median
vs median
Investment
$133K
$168Kmiddle half $122K–$232K · n=283
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$587Kmiddle half $376K–$1.3M · n=79
N/A
Unit Count
9
47middle half 14–137 · n=283
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Home Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units9Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
3-yr growth+0.1% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate11.1% (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
9
Opened
2
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
1
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
11.1%
Company-owned
2
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
78%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+0.1%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+0.1%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
1
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
9
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
0
Franchised units
2023
6+6
Franchised units
2024
7+1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 2 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

2

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score48/100 (higher is better)
Litigation3 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average48Verdict score 48/100

Early-stage franchisor (began 2023) with financial_distress flagged as early-stage and no going-concern note. Revenue of $507,589 and no litigation/bankruptcy. Treated as a minor early-stage concern with limited history.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
3561

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Three pending/resolved franchisee lawsuits alleging fraud, unjust enrichment, breach of contract, rescission, and violations of the Michigan Franchise Investment Law; one settled in March 2024 with a $35,000 refund of the initial franchise fee; two others remain pending as of the FDD issuance date with no trial date set.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Metwally CPA PLLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.2MTotal: $0.5M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 48 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOREarly-stage financial distress (no going-concern note)
  2. 02MINORNo litigation or bankruptcy
  3. 03MINORRevenue $507,589
  4. 04MINORNo Item 19 disclosure; small 7-unit system

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 121 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 11.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training58 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory population175,000
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ2
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMacomb County, Michigan
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMichigan
Litigation count3
View Item 3 litigation summary

Three pending/resolved franchisee lawsuits alleging fraud, unjust enrichment, breach of contract, rescission, and violations of the Michigan Franchise Investment Law; one settled in March 2024 with a $35,000 refund of the initial franchise fee; two others remain pending as of the FDD issuance date with no trial date set.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
30 hrs
On-the-job training
28 hrs
Training location
Detroit, Michigan
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisee, subject to franchisor approval (home-based administrative office permitted; optional operations center requires franchisor approval)
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Asana
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Asana

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

12 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 12 contacts · $49
Free preview
586-232-••••
Unlock all 12 contacts
(586) 303-••••
(248) 763-••••
(248) 943-••••
(248) 758-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a The Roof Resource franchise?

The total investment to open a The Roof Resource franchise ranges from $120K – $146K, with an initial franchise fee of $45K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do The Roof Resource franchise owners earn?

The Roof Resource makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns The Roof Resource?

The Roof Resource is franchised by The Roof Resource Franchising, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the The Roof Resource FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the The Roof Resource FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is The Roof Resource's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for The Roof Resource (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many The Roof Resource franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, The Roof Resource has 9 total units in the United States, including 7 franchised units and 2 company-owned units. 2 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is The Roof Resource a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates The Roof Resource as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 48 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent The Roof Resource, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Home Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Home Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.