Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
The Paterson Center logo

The Paterson Center Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

EducationNCFranchising since 2023
AStrongest tierStrongest tier70/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$20K – $107K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02689FDD 2025Data QualityStandard71%
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

The Paterson Center is a B2B franchise whose consultants facilitate strategic-planning and life-planning processes, such as LifePlan and StratOp, for leaders and organizations. Franchisees run a facilitation-and-coaching practice serving business and individual clients.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A The Paterson Center franchise requires a total initial investment of $20K – $107K, including a $15K – $38K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2025 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - a newer filing may exist

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$20K – $107K
1st pct Education
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Not extracted
Units
98
64th pct Education
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Education · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$20K – $107K
Median $194K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$15K – $38K
Median $45K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$0 – $55K
Median $25K
near median
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 7.0%
Ongoing Fees
Not extracted
Median 9.0%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
98 units
Median 20 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Education median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $20K – $107K including a $15K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 70/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +16 franchised outlets in the latest year (20 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
The Paterson Center, LLC
Parent company
Paterson Holdings, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 11 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
CEO and Partner
Jason Baker
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
PO Box 5386, Mooresville, NC 28117
Auditor
DJJCPA, LLC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$509K
vs $242K prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Independent Franchisee Association

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Affiliated brands

  • is The Paterson Group
  • has owned and operated businesses similar to the type you will be operating s
  • The Paterson Group

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Jason Baker
Headquarters
NC
Founded
2023
FDD year
2025
States available
30

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 67% below the typical education franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$20K – $107KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 22 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$15,000Verified — printed on page 17 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
RoyaltyNot extracted
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$0 – $55K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown7 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$15K$38K
Additional Costs to Attend Trainingnot refundable$500$2K
Computer Technology and Hardwarenot refundable$500$2K
Insurancenot refundable$2K$3K
Miscellaneous 1st Year Expensesnot refundable$2K$5K
Accounting and Professional Feesnot refundable$1K$3K
Additional Funds for First 6 Months of Operationnot refundable$0$55K
Total initial investment$20K$107K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$20K – $107K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$0 – $55K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$15K – $38K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
None during current term
Ad fund
Not currently assessed

Ongoing fees · Item 6

The Paterson Center: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty (flat)Annual Membership Fee (non-royalty, flat fee based on IP license type): $6,000 for LifePlan, $12,000 for StratOp, or $18,000 for both, due annually or quarterly
Renewal fee$6K
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

The Paterson Center makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one The Paterson Center unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $20K–$107K (midpoint used)
Item 7 didn't break this out. Enter your pre-opening cash burn

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$91K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 102 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

Net unit growth of +22.2% over 3 years (20 opened, 0 closed).

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Education medians

How The Paterson Center Compares

Metric
The Paterson Center
Category median
vs median
Investment
$64K
$194Kmiddle half $94K–$625K · n=164
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$408Kmiddle half $269K–$1.2M · n=72
N/A
Unit Count
98
20middle half 6–79 · n=164
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Education brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units98Verified — printed on page 55 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+22.2% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
98
Opened
20
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
10
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
90%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+22.2%
Net unit change over 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Transferred
0
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
11
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Ceased ops
88.9%
Units that stopped operating
2022
0
Franchised units
2023
72+72
Franchised units
2024
88+16
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 30 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

30

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

2 current owners across 1 state.

  • CO 2

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score70/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier70Verdict score 70/100

Single regulatory matter: an affiliate signed a WA Securities Division consent order (2024) over unregistered franchise-like offers. Franchisor itself is sound: positive equity $455,399, net income $14,351, 98 units, audited. Regulatory consent order plus no Item 19 are the concerns.

Low confidence±15 pts
5585

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Affiliate Paterson Holdings, LLC signed a Consent Order (effective July 29, 2024) with Washington State's Securities Division after the Division alleged Holdings offered franchise-like agreements to two Washington persons in 2021 without registering as a franchise or providing an FDD, violating RCW 19.100.020 and 19.100.080. Holdings neither admitted nor denied findings, agreed to cease and desist and paid $750 in investigative costs.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · DJJCPA, LLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.5MYr 2: $0.2MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Franchisor revenue consists of Franchise Fees, Training Fees, and Other Service Fees

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 70 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORAffiliate WA consent order (unregistered offers, 2024)
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  3. 03MINORPositive equity $455,399, 98 units, audited

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 102 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Initial term3 yrs
Renewal term3 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training233 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term3 years
Renewal term3 years
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Right of first refusalℹNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ2
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationState and county where franchisor is headquartered at time dispute arises (currently Iredell County, North Carolina)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawDelaware
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

Affiliate Paterson Holdings, LLC signed a Consent Order (effective July 29, 2024) with Washington State's Securities Division after the Division alleged Holdings offered franchise-like agreements to two Washington persons in 2021 without registering as a franchise or providing an FDD, violating RCW 19.100.020 and 19.100.080. Holdings neither admitted nor denied findings, agreed to cease and desist and paid $750 in investigative costs.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
120 hrs
On-the-job training
113 hrs
Training location
On-site and off-site
Ongoing training
Required
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

2 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 2 contacts · $49
Free preview
(303) 346-••••CO
Unlock all 2 contacts
(720) 542-••••CO

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a The Paterson Center franchise?

The total investment to open a The Paterson Center franchise ranges from $20K – $107K, with an initial franchise fee of $15K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do The Paterson Center franchise owners earn?

The Paterson Center makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns The Paterson Center?

The Paterson Center is franchised by The Paterson Center, LLC. Its parent company is Paterson Holdings, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the The Paterson Center FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the The Paterson Center FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is The Paterson Center's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for The Paterson Center (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many The Paterson Center franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, The Paterson Center has 98 total units in the United States, including 88 franchised units and 10 company-owned units. 20 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is The Paterson Center a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates The Paterson Center as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 70 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent The Paterson Center, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Education franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Education category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.