Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Prep Academy Tutors logo

Prep Academy Tutors Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

EducationFranchising since 2020
BAbove averageAbove average61/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$53K – $66K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02028FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Prep Academy Tutors is a tutoring franchise offering one-on-one and small-group in-home and online tutoring for K-12 students. Franchisees run local operations, managing tutors, scheduling, and enrollment.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Prep Academy Tutors franchise requires a total initial investment of $53K – $66K, including a $43K franchise fee and an ongoing 8.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$53K – $66K
13th pct Education
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
8.0%
44th pct Education
Units
16
36th pct Education
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Education · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$53K – $66K
Median $194K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$43K – $43K
Median $45K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$3K – $8K
Median $25K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
8.0%
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
10.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
16 units
Median 20 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
6.3%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Education median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $53K – $66K including a $43K franchise fee, 8.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 61/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +7 franchised outlets in the latest year (8 opened, 1 closed); 1 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Prep Academy Tutors USA, Inc.
Parent company
2496939 Ontario Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
President and Director
Adrian Dougherty
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
191 Deloraine Avenue, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5M 2B1
Auditor
SRCO, C.P.A., Professional Corporation
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$174K
vs $67K prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Independent Franchisee Association

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Affiliated brands

  • PAT Canada

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Adrian Dougherty
Founded
2020
FDD year
2025
States available
13

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 70% below the typical education franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$53K – $66KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$43,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 8 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty8.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 8 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 8 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$3K – $8K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown9 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$43K$43K
Inventory/Start-up Suppliesnot refundable$2K$2K
Professional/Legal Feesnot refundable$2K$10K
Equipment Purchasenot refundable$1K$1K
Opening Advertisingnot refundable$1K$1K
Insurancenot refundable$500$500
Telephone and Internetnot refundable$600$600
Rentnot refundable——
Additional Funds - 3 Monthsnot refundable$3K$8K
Total initial investment$53K$66K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$53K – $66K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$3K – $8K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$43K – $43K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
8.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
10.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Prep Academy Tutors: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty8.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$200
Transfer fee$2K
Renewal fee$2K
Inventory (initial)$2K – $2K
Total fee load10.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Prep Academy Tutors makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Prep Academy Tutors unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $53K–$66K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $3K–$8K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$64K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 10.0% (near the Education median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 433.3% CAGR over 3 years across 16 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Education medians

How Prep Academy Tutors Compares

Metric
Prep Academy Tutors
Category median
vs median
Investment
$59K
$194Kmiddle half $94K–$625K · n=164
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$408Kmiddle half $269K–$1.2M · n=72
N/A
Unit Count
16
20middle half 6–79 · n=164
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Education brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units16Verified — printed on page 31 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growthOutlier (see FDD) (caution)
Turnover rate6.3% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
16
Opened
8
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
1
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
6.3%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
Outlier (see FDD)
Likely small-sample artifact
3-yr CAGR
Outlier (see FDD)
Likely small-sample artifact

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
1
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
1
0.06 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Ceased ops
0.1%
Units that stopped operating
2022
3
Franchised units
2023
9+6
Franchised units
2024
16+7
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 13 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

13

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score61/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average61Verdict score 61/100

Negative franchisor equity of -$224,190 and a net loss of -$152,345 on $173,992 revenue for a small 16-unit system that began franchising in 2020. No litigation, bankruptcy, or going-concern note, and audited, but negative equity plus operating losses stack as concerns; no Item 19.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
4874

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · SRCO, C.P.A., Professional Corporation

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.2MYr 2: $0.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Total revenue and net income figures are for franchisor Prep Academy Tutors USA, Inc. only (not systemwide franchisee sales); Item 19 discloses no financial performance representation for franchisee outlets.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 61 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNegative net worth -$224,190
  2. 02MINORNet loss -$152,345 on $173,992 revenue
  3. 03MINORNo Item 19; small/young system
  4. 04MINORNo litigation or going-concern; audited

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 10.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training43 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory population50,000
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ50 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window45 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice5 days
Termination groundsℹ7
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Governing lawNew York
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
28 hrs
On-the-job training
15 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisee
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Teachworks
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Teachworks

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

37 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 37 contacts · $49
Free preview
(860) 240-••••
Unlock all 37 contacts
(213) 576-••••
(619) 848-••••
(973) 638-••••
(701) 328-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Prep Academy Tutors franchise?

The total investment to open a Prep Academy Tutors franchise ranges from $53K – $66K, with an initial franchise fee of $43K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Prep Academy Tutors franchise owners earn?

Prep Academy Tutors makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Prep Academy Tutors?

Prep Academy Tutors is franchised by Prep Academy Tutors USA, Inc.. Its parent company is 2496939 Ontario Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Prep Academy Tutors FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Prep Academy Tutors FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Prep Academy Tutors's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Prep Academy Tutors (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Prep Academy Tutors franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Prep Academy Tutors has 16 total units in the United States, including 16 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 8 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Prep Academy Tutors a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Prep Academy Tutors as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 61 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Prep Academy Tutors, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Education franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Education category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.