Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict

Tiger Sugar Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsNYFranchising since 2020
CAverageAverage60/100⚠ cappedEditorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$307K – $550K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02736FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Tiger Sugar is a bubble tea franchise known for its signature brown sugar boba milk drinks. Franchisees run the shops, managing drink preparation, ingredient inventory, and counter service in high-traffic spots.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Tiger Sugar franchise requires a total initial investment of $307K – $550K, including a $85K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$307K – $550K
49th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
7.0%
90th pct Service Resta…
Units
63
69th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$307K – $550K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$85K – $85K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$60K – $100K
Median $33K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
7.0%
Median 5.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10
System Size
63 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
9.5%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $307K – $550K including a $85K franchise fee, 7.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 60/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -1 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 6 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAGAuditor disclosed a going-concern note, which flagged doubt about the franchisor's ability to continue operations. Verify against the latest FDD.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Tiger Sugar Franchise USA Inc.
Parent company
Tiger Sugar International Co., Ltd.
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
President and Chief Executive Officer
Ming-Tsung Yang
Incorporated in
NY
HQ
14223 37th Ave., Unit 5A, Flushing, NY 11354
Auditor
JTC Accountancy Corp
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.9M
vs $1.6M prior year
⚠ Going-concern note
Disclosed in FDD 2025
Auditor flagged doubt about continued operations. Verify against the latest FDD before deciding.

Overview

About

CEO
Ming-Tsung Yang
Headquarters
NY
Founded
2019
FDD year
2025
States available
29

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 12% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$307K – $550KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$85,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty7.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$60K – $100K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Tiger Sugar: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$85K$85K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$60K$100K
Equipment, build-out, other$162K$365K
Total initial investment$307K$550K

Source: Tiger Sugar 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$307K – $550K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$60K – $100K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$85K – $85K
Bottom third — review vs category
Royalty
7.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Tiger Sugar: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.0% of net sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of net sales
Transfer fee$43K
Renewal fee$503K
Inventory (initial)$25K – $30K
Total fee load8.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Tiger Sugar makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Tiger Sugar unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $307K–$550K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $60K–$100K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$509K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 115 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Tiger Sugar Compares

Metric
Tiger Sugar
Category median
vs median
Investment
$429K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
63
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units63Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 50 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Turnover rate9.5% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
63
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
6
Turnover rate
9.5%
Company-owned
18
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
71%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Transferred
0
Reacquired
1
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
10
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
27
Franchised units
2023
46+19
Franchised units
2024
45-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 17 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 17 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

28 current owners across 17 states.

  • FL 4
  • NY 4
  • CA 3
  • GA 2
  • MD 2
  • OH 2
  • CO 1
  • DC 1
  • DE 1
  • IL 1
  • KY 1
  • MA 1
  • +5 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 1 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 1 7(a) loan on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$100K
Median loan
$100K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (1)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
1
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

The auditor flagged going-concern doubt (Item 21) — the single biggest risk here.

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (1)
Verdict score60/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases · none name the franchisor
Auditor going-concern doubtYes (worth scrutinizing)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage60Verdict score 60/100

⚠ Grade capped at C: the auditor disclosed a going-concern note (FDD Item 21). The verdict score reflects the underlying financials before that cap.

63-unit bubble-tea franchisor with one regulatory matter: a Feb 2021 Maryland consent order for selling a franchise before registration approval (cease-and-desist plus rescission). No bankruptcy; financials audited but Item 19 not disclosed. Financial detail is thin.

Moderate confidence±10 pts
5070

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

Feb 10, 2021 Consent Order between Tiger Sugar International Co., Ltd. (Licensor) and Maryland Securities Commissioner (file no. Maryland 2020-0127) for offering/selling a franchise in Maryland before registration was approved; Licensor agreed to cease and desist, offer rescission, and complete Maryland registration.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · JTC Accountancy Corp⚠ Going-concern note flagged

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.9MYr 2: $1.6M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 states audited balance sheets for FYE Dec 31 2024, 2023, 2022 with statements of operations, changes in stockholders' equity and cash flows are attached as Exhibit 8. However, Exhibit 8 is image-based/scanned and contains no machine-readable text in this extract, so no financial figures could be recovered. Franchisor is Tiger Sugar Franchise USA Inc. (NY corp).

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 60 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORRegulatory consent order (Maryland 2020-0127) for pre-registration franchise sale
  2. 02MEDItem 19 not disclosed
  3. 03MINORNo bankruptcy; 63 units; financials not detailed

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 115 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training39 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory sizeℹRadius
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationFlushing, New York (within 5 miles of franchisor's then-current principal place of business)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawNew York
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

Feb 10, 2021 Consent Order between Tiger Sugar International Co., Ltd. (Licensor) and Maryland Securities Commissioner (file no. Maryland 2020-0127) for offering/selling a franchise in Maryland before registration was approved; Licensor agreed to cease and desist, offer rescission, and complete Maryland registration.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
2 hrs
On-the-job training
37 hrs
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisor approves proposed site submitted via SAP within 21 days
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

29 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 29 contacts · $49
Free preview
(646) 288-••••NY
Unlock all 29 contacts
(626) 236-••••CA
(214) 394-••••TX
(352) 792-••••FL
(502) 365-••••KY

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Tiger Sugar franchise?

The total investment to open a Tiger Sugar franchise ranges from $307K – $550K, with an initial franchise fee of $85K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Tiger Sugar franchise owners earn?

Tiger Sugar makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Tiger Sugar?

Tiger Sugar is franchised by Tiger Sugar Franchise USA Inc.. Its parent company is Tiger Sugar International Co., Ltd.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Tiger Sugar FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Tiger Sugar FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Tiger Sugar's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Tiger Sugar (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Tiger Sugar franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Tiger Sugar has 63 total units in the United States, including 45 franchised units and 18 company-owned units.

Is Tiger Sugar a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Tiger Sugar as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 60 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Tiger Sugar, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.