Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Radisson RED logo

Radisson RED Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingMNFranchising since 2014
DBelow averageBelow average34/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$7.1M – $41.8M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (5)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02093Data QualityExcellent81%FDD 2022 · 4yr old
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2022 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Radisson RED is an upscale, design-forward lifestyle hotel franchise. Franchisees own and operate the hotels, managing guest services, food and beverage, and revenue under Radisson standards.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Radisson RED franchise requires a total initial investment of $7.1M – $41.8M, including a $75K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$7.1M – $41.8M
35th pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
2 outlets
Royalty
5.0%
3rd pct Lodging
Units
2
11th pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$7.1M – $41.8M
Median $8.9M
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$75K – $75K
Median $50K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$1.5M – $2.0M
Median $312K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
7.0% of rev
Median 8.5%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (5)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 5 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
2 units
Median 60 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.7%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
6 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $7.1M – $41.8M including a $75K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 34/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +1 franchised outlets in the latest year (1 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Radisson Hotels International, Inc.
Parent company
Radisson Hospitality, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2022 FDD
Ultimate parent
Shanghai State-Owned Assets Supervision and Administration Commission (via Jinjiang International Holdings Co., Ltd.)
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2022 FDD
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
1601 Utica Avenue South, Suite 700, St. Louis Park, Minnesota 55416
Auditor
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$221.6M
vs $198.3M prior year

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 9

1 other brand on this site name Shanghai State-Owned Assets Supervision and Administration Commission (via Jinjiang International Holdings Co., Ltd.) as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2022 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
M. Thomas Buoy
Headquarters
MN
Founded
1983
FDD year
2022
States available
2

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 175% above the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$7.1M – $41.8MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 35 of the 2022 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$75,000Verified — printed on page 22 of the 2022 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 25 of the 2022 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 25 of the 2022 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$1.5M – $2.0M

Source: FDD 2022 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown20 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial License Feenot refundable$75K$75K
Product Improvement Plannot refundable$0$3K
Construction Commencement Date, Renovation Commencement Date or Opening Date Extension Feenot refundable$0$2K
Real Estate——
Improvementsnot refundable$3.5M$30.0M
Design & Engineering Costsnot refundable$500K$1.0M
Furniture, Fixtures & Equipmentnot refundable$675K$6.0M
Interior Design Review Feenot refundable$0$3K
Architectural Plan Review Feenot refundable$0$3K
Technical Services Feenot refundable$0$2K
Exterior Signagenot refundable$50K$200K
Miscellaneous Pre-Opening Costsnot refundable$500K$1.0M
Opening Inventorynot refundable$200K$1.2M
ORACLE Opera Cloud PMS Initial Investmentnot refundable$31K$31K
Training Registration Fees and Expensesnot refundable$5K$10K
WebExtraSM Feenot refundable$150$1K
Start-Up Suppliesnot refundable$10K$12K
SalesForce Community Feesnot refundable$440$440
IDeaS Feesnot refundable$4K$4K
Additional Funds 3 Monthsnot refundable$1.5M$2.0M
Total initial investment$7.1M$41.5M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$7.1M – $41.8M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$1.5M – $2.0M
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$75K – $75K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Radisson RED: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0%
Technology fee$5
Training fee$10K
Transfer fee$75K
Inventory (initial)$200K – $1.2M
Total fee load7.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Radisson RED makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Radisson RED unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $7.1M–$41.8M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $1.5M–$2.0M

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$26.2M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2022 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 102 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.0% — below the Lodging median of 8.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging medians

How Radisson RED Compares

Metric
Radisson RED
Category median
vs median
Investment
$24.4M
$8.9Mmiddle half $1.2M–$18.3M · n=96
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.4Mmiddle half $1.0M–$1.8M · n=2
N/A
Unit Count
2
60middle half 6–245 · n=126
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Lodging brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units2Verified — printed on page 66 of the 2022 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2022 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
2
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
50%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Ceased ops
50.0%
Units that stopped operating
2019
0
Franchised units
2020
0±0
Franchised units
2021
1+1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 4 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 4 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

7 current owners across 4 states.

  • CA 4
  • FL 1
  • MN 1
  • TN 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 5 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
5
Loan volume
$4.4M
Median loan
$886K
average
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (5)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 5 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (5)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (5)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
4
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (5)
Verdict score34/100 (higher is better)
Litigation6 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average34Verdict score 34/100

Radisson RED presents extreme risk: a collapsing franchise system (2 units) with existential solvency concerns, active multi-front litigation, and zero financial transparency.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
2147

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

No litigation required to be disclosed for the Radisson RED brand specifically. Disclosed cases relate to the Radisson brand: (1) Radisson v. AIL Hospitality, LLC & Ailawadi (D. Minn., breach of license/guaranty; counterclaims); (2) Norma Knuth v. Radisson et al. (Saskatchewan class action re destination marketing fees); (3) Radisson v. 205 Wolf Holdings/Inner Circle Licensees (D. Minn./Hennepin Cty., breach of license/global settlement; counterclaims; some defendants in Ch.11); plus 3 Radisson-initiated collection actions in the last fiscal year (Ronit Hospitality; Rochester Airport Hospitality; iBorrow 2945 OKC Owner).

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $221.6MYr 2: $198.3M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

The three provided page images for radisson-red are NOT audited financial statements. They are: p152 = a License Agreement "Key Contract Data" page fragment (Section 21.2 Right of First Negotiation/Notice, Exhibits); p153 = the Radisson RED License Agreement cover page (between Radisson Hotels International, Inc. and the Licensee); p154 = the License Agreement Table of Contents. No balance sheet, income statement, or Independent Auditor's Report is present, so no financial figures or auditor could be extracted. Item 8 states the franchisor's own total revenue as $38,226,847 (FY ending 2021-12-31); the statements above are the parent's.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 34 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOROnly 2 units in entire system with unknown growth trajectory indicates severe contraction or failed concept
  2. 02HIGHActive litigation across multiple categories (breach, class action, fee disputes) suggests systemic franchisor-franchisee conflict
  3. 03MED5% royalty on room revenue with undisclosed destination marketing fees creates hidden cost structure

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 102 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
Renewal termNot extracted
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training48 hrs

Source: FDD 2022 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Allowed renewalsℹ0
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window45 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationHennepin County, Minnesota (litigation forum)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMN
Litigation count6
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed for the Radisson RED brand specifically. Disclosed cases relate to the Radisson brand: (1) Radisson v. AIL Hospitality, LLC & Ailawadi (D. Minn., breach of license/guaranty; counterclaims); (2) Norma Knuth v. Radisson et al. (Saskatchewan class action re destination marketing fees); (3) Radisson v. 205 Wolf Holdings/Inner Circle Licensees (D. Minn./Hennepin Cty., breach of license/global settlement; counterclaims; some defendants in Ch.11); plus 3 Radisson-initiated collection actions in the last fiscal year (Ronit Hospitality; Rochester Airport Hospitality; iBorrow 2945 OKC Owner).

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
32 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Minneapolis, MN; Your Hotel; Regional locations; Online
Ongoing training
Required
POS system
ORACLE Opera Cloud PMS
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: ORACLE Opera Cloud PMS

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

7 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 7 contacts · $49
Free preview
(612) 596-••••MN
Unlock all 7 contacts
(615) 481-••••TN
(310) 554-••••CA
(650) 333-••••CA
(612) 252-••••FL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Radisson RED franchise?

The total investment to open a Radisson RED franchise ranges from $7.1M – $41.8M, with an initial franchise fee of $75K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Radisson RED franchise owners earn?

Radisson RED makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Radisson RED?

Radisson RED is franchised by Radisson Hotels International, Inc.. Its parent company is Radisson Hospitality, Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Shanghai State-Owned Assets Supervision and Administration Commission (via Jinjiang International Holdings Co., Ltd.). Source: FDD Item 1, 2022 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Radisson RED FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Radisson RED FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Radisson RED's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Radisson RED (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Radisson RED franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Radisson RED has 2 total units in the United States, including 1 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Radisson RED a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Radisson RED as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 34 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Radisson RED, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.