Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Compass by Margaritaville logo

Compass by Margaritaville Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingFLFranchising since 2018
CAverageAverage41/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$10.2M – $37.4M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00608Data QualityStandard71%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Compass by Margaritaville is a lifestyle hotel franchise offering laid-back, coastal-themed properties under the Margaritaville brand. Franchisees own and operate the hotels, managing guest services, amenities, and revenue.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Compass by Margaritaville franchise requires a total initial investment of $10.2M – $37.4M and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2024 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - figures are from a filing two or more years old

Evidence: partial✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$10.2M – $37.4M
43rd pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
2 outlets
Royalty
5.0%
3rd pct Lodging
Units
2
11th pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$10.2M – $37.4M
Median $8.9M
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
N/A
Median $50K
Fee not disclosed
Liquid Capital Req'd
$300K – $500K
Median $312K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
6.5% of rev
Median 8.5%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
2 units
Median 60 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.7%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
3 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $10.2M – $37.4M, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 41/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative, pipeline stalled: 14 agreements signed but not yet open against 2 open outlets (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Compass Margaritaville, L.L.C.
Parent company
Margaritaville Enterprises, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2024 FDD
Ultimate parent
Margaritaville Holdings LLC
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2024 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
John Cohlan
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
6900 Turkey Lake Road, Suite 200, Orlando, Florida 32819
Auditor
Ernst & Young LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$92.5M
vs $74.9M prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 9

2 other brands on this site name Margaritaville Holdings LLC as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2024 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
John Cohlan
Headquarters
FL
Founded
2018
FDD year
2024
States available
2

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 168% above the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$10.2M – $37.4MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 32 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise feeNot extracted
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$300K – $500K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

The filing conditions this fee

The filing does not state an initial franchise fee.

Full Item 7 breakdown23 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Application Feenot refundable$65K$65K
PIP fee (Property Improvement Plan)not refundable$0$5K
TIP fee (Technology Improvement Plan)not refundable$0$10K
Professional services fees (architect, design, market study, engineering)not refundable$450K$700K
Insurance and Permits, licenses, deposits, and related feesnot refundable$50K$150K
Training fees and expenses vendor and brand trainingnot refundable$35K$150K
Construction, improvements, remodeling, and decorating costsnot refundable$5.0M$30.0M
Technologynot refundable$550K$830K
Website Set-Upnot refundable$12K$30K
CRS Set Upnot refundable$5K$5K
CRM Set-Upnot refundable$13K$13K
Loyalty Program Set-Upnot refundable$5K$5K
Furniture, fixtures, other fixed assets, and equipment (FF&E)not refundable$1.8M$2.1M
Operational Supplies and Equipment (OSE)not refundable$500K$1.0M
Exterior signsnot refundable$200K$250K
Financial, tax, and legal costsnot refundable$600K$750K
Pre-opening Sales and Marketingnot refundable$150K$250K
Photography and Videographynot refundable$40K$125K
Medallia Set-Upnot refundable$3K$3K
Financial Reporting System Set-Upnot refundable$10K$16K
Total initial investment$10.2M$37.4M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$10.2M – $37.4M
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$300K – $500K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
N/A
Fee not disclosed
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
6.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Compass by Margaritaville: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.5% of gross sales
Training fee$150K
Renewal fee$30K
Inventory (initial)$500K – $1.0M
Total fee load6.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Compass by Margaritaville makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Compass by Margaritaville unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $10.2M–$37.4M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $300K–$500K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$24.2M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.5% — below the Lodging median of 8.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

Net unit growth of +100.0% over 3 years (1 opened, 0 closed).

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging medians

How Compass by Margaritaville Compares

Metric
Compass by Margaritaville
Category median
vs median
Investment
$23.8M
$8.9Mmiddle half $1.2M–$18.3M · n=96
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.4Mmiddle half $1.0M–$1.8M · n=2
N/A
Unit Count
2
60middle half 6–245 · n=126
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Lodging brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units2Verified — printed on page 65 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+100.0% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
2
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+100.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+100.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
14
7.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
2
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2021
1
Franchised units
2022
2+1
Franchised units
2023
2±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 2 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

2

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score41/100 (higher is better)
Litigation3 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage41Verdict score 41/100

A capital-intensive resort/hospitality franchise with only 2 units, undisclosed financials, multiple legal disputes, regulatory compliance failures, and no territory protection represents extreme execution risk with questionable franchisor financial stability.

Low confidence±18 pts
2359

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Three matters: (1) Boss Investments Ltd. v. Margaritaville entities — trademark sub-license dispute, settled January 2021 with corporate defendants paying 50% of future food/beverage royalties from Bahamian Hotel; (2) Shultz et al. v. Margaritaville Enterprises et al. — cottage owner tort claims, dismissed with prejudice April 2023, mutual walk-away; (3) California DFPI consent order against Margaritaville Hotels & Resorts for failure to file exemption notices for three California franchise sales, resolved March 2020 with $7,500 penalty.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Ernst & Young LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $92.5MYr 2: $74.9MNon-royalty: $7.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Audited consolidated statements of Margaritaville Holdings LLC (parent), Ernst & Young LLP, years ended Dec 31, 2023 and 2022. Total partners' deficit (negative net worth) of $(101,014,475) at Dec 31, 2023. Revenue comprises restaurant/retail sales plus restaurant, resort, residential/timeshare, and consumer products royalties.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 41 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOROnly 2 operating units with unknown growth trajectory suggests failed or stalled system expansion
  2. 02HIGHMultiple litigation cases including trademark disputes, deceptive practices lawsuits, and regulatory compliance failures (California administrative consent order 2020)
  3. 03MINORNo protected territory means franchisees face direct competition from other Compass locations
  4. 04MINORMargaritaville brand association carries reputational risk given parent company's past financial troubles and casual dining market headwinds

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training40 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ1
Curable defaultsℹ9
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationAtlanta, Georgia
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawDE
Litigation count3
View Item 3 litigation summary

Three matters: (1) Boss Investments Ltd. v. Margaritaville entities — trademark sub-license dispute, settled January 2021 with corporate defendants paying 50% of future food/beverage royalties from Bahamian Hotel; (2) Shultz et al. v. Margaritaville Enterprises et al. — cottage owner tort claims, dismissed with prejudice April 2023, mutual walk-away; (3) California DFPI consent order against Margaritaville Hotels & Resorts for failure to file exemption notices for three California franchise sales, resolved March 2020 with $7,500 penalty.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
7 hrs
On-the-job training
33 hrs
Training location
Franchisor-selected Margaritaville-branded venue (offsite), plus on-site task force training pre-opening
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
18 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects; franchisor approves
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
InfoGenesis
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: InfoGenesis

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Compass by Margaritaville franchise?

The total investment to open a Compass by Margaritaville franchise ranges from $10.2M – $37.4M. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Compass by Margaritaville franchise owners earn?

Compass by Margaritaville makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Compass by Margaritaville?

Compass by Margaritaville is franchised by Compass Margaritaville, L.L.C.. Its parent company is Margaritaville Enterprises, LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Margaritaville Holdings LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Compass by Margaritaville FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Compass by Margaritaville FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Compass by Margaritaville's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Compass by Margaritaville (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Compass by Margaritaville franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Compass by Margaritaville has 2 total units in the United States, including 2 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Compass by Margaritaville a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Compass by Margaritaville as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 41 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Compass by Margaritaville, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.