Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Ruby Hotels logo

Ruby Hotels Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingGAFranchising since 2025
CAverageAverage39/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$8.0M – $38.5M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (4)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02194FDD 2026Data QualityStandard67%Pre-opening
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Ruby Hotels is IHG's upscale lean-luxury hotel franchise offering design-forward urban properties. Franchisees own and operate the hotels, managing guest services, food and beverage, and revenue under brand standards.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Ruby Hotels franchise requires a total initial investment of $8.0M – $38.5M, including a $75K – $100K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2025. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$8.0M – $38.5M
38th pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
0 outlets
Royalty
5.0%
3rd pct Lodging
Units
0
0th pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$8.0M – $38.5M
Median $8.9M
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$75K – $100K
Median $50K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$250K – $1.1M
Median $312K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
26.3% of rev
Median 8.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (4)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 4 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
0 units
Median 60 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
46 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $8.0M – $38.5M including a $75K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 39/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed); 1 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • LEGAL46 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Review the summary for patterns (franchisor-initiated vs. franchisee-initiated).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Holiday Hospitality Franchising, LLC
Parent company
Six Continents Hotels, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2026 FDD
Ultimate parent
InterContinental Hotels Group PLC
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2026 FDD
Predecessor
Ruby Hotel Group (GEM Brand Company Limited)
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer, InterContinental Hotels Group, PLC
Elie W. Maalouf
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
Three Ravinia Drive, Suite 100, Atlanta, Georgia 30346
Auditor
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$38.8M
vs $39.4M prior year

Affiliated brands

  • Six Continents Limited
  • IHG Franchising

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 6

8 other brands on this site name InterContinental Hotels Group PLC as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2026 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Elie W. Maalouf
Headquarters
GA
Founded
1989
FDD year
2026
States available
0

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 161% above the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$8.0M – $38.5MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 58 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$75,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 31 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund3.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 31 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$250K – $1.1M

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Ruby Hotels: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$75K$75K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$250K$1.1M
Equipment, build-out, other$7.7M$37.3M
Total initial investment$8.0M$38.5M

Source: Ruby Hotels 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$8.0M – $38.5M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$250K – $1.1M
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$75K – $100K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
26.3%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Ruby Hotels: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.5% of gross sales
Technology fee$17
Transfer fee$25K
Inventory (initial)$396K – $625K
Total fee load26.3% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Ruby Hotels makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Ruby Hotels unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $8.0M–$38.5M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $250K–$1.1M

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$23.9M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 120 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 26.3% — above the Lodging median of 8.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging medians

How Ruby Hotels Compares

Metric
Ruby Hotels
Category median
vs median
Investment
$23.2M
$8.9Mmiddle half $1.2M–$18.3M · n=96
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.4Mmiddle half $1.0M–$1.8M · n=2
N/A
Unit Count
0
60middle half 6–245 · n=126
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Lodging brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units0Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 97 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
0
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
1
Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2023
0
Franchised units
2024
0±0
Franchised units
2025
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 4 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
4
Loan volume
$2.5M
Median loan
$618K
average
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (4)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 4 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (4)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (4)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
1
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (4)
Verdict score39/100 (higher is better)
Litigation46 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage39Verdict score 39/100

Pre-opening brand (began 2025, 0 units) under strong parent IHG/Holiday: parent net worth $888.9M, net income $69.8M. The 33 disclosed litigations are Holiday/IHG franchisee disputes and class actions - very high count but normal relative to IHG's massive global system and at parent level. Primary concern is no operating history and no Item 19.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
2652

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Holiday/IHG face numerous ongoing and historical franchisee disputes alleging breach of contract, wrongful termination, fraud, unreasonable renovation/PIP demands, kickbacks from suppliers, and class actions over franchise business practices (Sherman Act, state deceptive trade practices). Holiday also regularly sues terminated licensees for unpaid system fees and liquidated damages. Notable settlements include $10.9M paid to a Crowne Plaza licensee (Lenexa) and $699,000 to Hospitality Marketing Concepts. Most concluded matters resulted in no payment by Holiday or dismissal.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $38.8MYr 2: $39.4MNon-royalty: $1.6M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Figures from Exhibit F-1, the audited financial statements OF THE FRANCHISOR Holiday Hospitality Franchising, LLC (fiscal years ended Dec 31, 2025/2024/2023), stated in whole US dollars. Balance sheet reconciles: total assets 1,011,118,965 = total liabilities 122,195,307 + member's equity 888,923,658. yr1=2025 total revenues 38,788,364; yr2=2024 total revenues 39,444,877. Other revenue is OLCC fees 1,551,180 (non-royalty). A separate larger consolidated statement for the parent SCH exists in Exhibit F-2 but was NOT used. Auditor CPA firm name not printed in the extracted text (signature block redacted; opinion dated Atlanta, GA, April 2, 2026).

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 39 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORPre-opening, 0 units, no track record
  2. 02HIGH33 litigations but normal for IHG's massive system, parent-level
  3. 03MINORParent net worth $888.9M, net income $69.8M
  4. 04MINORNo Item 19 disclosure

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 120 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 26.3% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
Renewal termNot extracted
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training1,036 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Allowed renewalsℹ0
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawGeorgia
Litigation count46
View Item 3 litigation summary

Holiday/IHG face numerous ongoing and historical franchisee disputes alleging breach of contract, wrongful termination, fraud, unreasonable renovation/PIP demands, kickbacks from suppliers, and class actions over franchise business practices (Sherman Act, state deceptive trade practices). Holiday also regularly sues terminated licensees for unpaid system fees and liquidated damages. Notable settlements include $10.9M paid to a Crowne Plaza licensee (Lenexa) and $699,000 to Hospitality Marketing Concepts. Most concluded matters resulted in no payment by Holiday or dismissal.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
604 hrs
On-the-job training
432 hrs
Training location
On-site and off-site
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisee
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Premium OPERA Cloud PMS or HotelKey Cloud PMS
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support

Technology: Premium OPERA Cloud PMS or HotelKey Cloud PMS

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

10 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 10 contacts · $49
Free preview
770.750.••••
Unlock all 10 contacts
678-746-••••
877-765-••••
404-735-••••
158228••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Ruby Hotels franchise?

The total investment to open a Ruby Hotels franchise ranges from $8.0M – $38.5M, with an initial franchise fee of $75K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Ruby Hotels franchise owners earn?

Ruby Hotels makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Ruby Hotels?

Ruby Hotels is franchised by Holiday Hospitality Franchising, LLC. Its parent company is Six Continents Hotels, Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is InterContinental Hotels Group PLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Ruby Hotels FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Ruby Hotels FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Ruby Hotels's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Ruby Hotels (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

Is Ruby Hotels a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Ruby Hotels as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 39 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Ruby Hotels, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.