Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
PopUp Bagels logo

PopUp Bagels Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsCTFranchising since 2024
BAbove averageAbove average48/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$313K – $884K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02005FDD 2025Data QualityStandard71%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

PopUp Bagels is a quick-service franchise serving fresh-baked bagels paired with handcrafted schmears. Franchisees run the shops, managing baking, food prep, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A PopUp Bagels franchise requires a total initial investment of $313K – $884K, including a $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2024. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2025 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - a newer filing may exist

Evidence: partial✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$313K – $884K
51st pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
48th pct Service Resta…
Units
9
35th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$313K – $884K
Median $486K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$35K – $35K
Median $35K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $15K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
9 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $313K – $884K including a $35K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 48/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed); 4 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
PUB Franchisor LLC
Parent company
PopUp Bagels Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Tory Bartlett
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
1391 Post Road E, #200, Westport, Connecticut 06880
Auditor
CohnReznick LLP
Audited financials

Overview

About

CEO
Tory Bartlett
Headquarters
CT
Founded
2024
FDD year
2025
States available
0

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 23% above the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$313K – $884KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 23 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$35,000Verified — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$10K – $15K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown17 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$35K$35K
Construction/Leasehold Improvements/Buildout costsnot refundable$135K$434K
One Month's Rentnot refundable$2K$18K
Security Deposit$2K$72K
Design and Architect Feenot refundable$5K$39K
Fixtures, Furniture, and Equipmentnot refundable$66K$158K
Signage (Exterior including awnings)not refundable$3K$12K
Menu Boards/Graphics/Signagenot refundable$3K$6K
Point-of-Sale / Computer / IT Systemsnot refundable$9K$11K
Opening Inventory, Operating Supplies, and Opening Smallwaresnot refundable$14K$28K
Business and Operating Permitsnot refundable$5K$15K
Initial Training Travel & Living Expensesnot refundable$3K$14K
Utilities$2K$5K
Insurance (3 months)not refundable$500$2K
Professional Feesnot refundable$7K$7K
Grand Opening Marketing Programnot refundable$15K$15K
Additional Funds—3 Monthsnot refundable$10K$15K
Total initial investment$313K$884K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$313K – $884K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $15K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$35K – $35K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

PopUp Bagels: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$750
Training fee$2K
Transfer fee$18K
Renewal fee$4K
Inventory (initial)$14K – $28K
Total fee load8.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

PopUp Bagels makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one PopUp Bagels unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $313K–$884K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$15K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$611K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 140 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Multi-unit rate

Only 5% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How PopUp Bagels Compares

Metric
PopUp Bagels
Category median
vs median
Investment
$598K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
9
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units9Verified — printed on page 64 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
9
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
9
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
0%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
5.0%

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
4
0.44 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
15
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
0
Franchised units
2023
0±0
Franchised units
2024
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score48/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average48Verdict score 48/100

Pre-revenue-disclosure franchise with minimal unit count and undisclosed financials presents elevated due diligence risk; viability cannot be assessed without Item 19 data.

Low confidence±15 pts
3363

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · CohnReznick LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Audited statements are for PUB Franchisor LLC (the franchisor), a Delaware LLC formed 10/17/2024, for the period from inception (11/21/2024) through fiscal year end 12/29/2024. The franchisor had no revenue during this short inception period (total revenue $0) and recorded a net loss of $(160,207). Balance sheet reconciles: total assets $400,000 = total liabilities $160,207 + member's equity $239,793. Figures are in whole US dollars. No prior-year (yr2) comparative period exists. The FDD also includes later UNAUDITED statements as of 3/30/2025 (assets $1,954,432; revenue $52,872; net profit $17,498); these were NOT used since they are unaudited. CPA firm name not present in extracted text (auditor report signed from Melville, NY, 5/22/2025).

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 48 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo Item 19 financial performance disclosure — unable to validate if average revenue/net income justify $312k-$884k investment
  2. 02MINORExtremely small unit count (9 locations) with unknown growth trajectory — suggests nascent or stalled system
  3. 03MINOR6% royalty on weekly gross sales is structure-dependent risk; without Item 19, franchisees cannot assess profitability threshold

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 140 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training50 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory population15,000
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ5 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationConnecticut (within 10 miles of franchisor's principal business address)
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawCT
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
10 hrs
On-the-job training
40 hrs
Training location
Designated Training Facility/Virtual/Electronic
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
6 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Toast
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Toast

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a PopUp Bagels franchise?

The total investment to open a PopUp Bagels franchise ranges from $313K – $884K, with an initial franchise fee of $35K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do PopUp Bagels franchise owners earn?

PopUp Bagels makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns PopUp Bagels?

PopUp Bagels is franchised by PUB Franchisor LLC. Its parent company is PopUp Bagels Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the PopUp Bagels FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the PopUp Bagels FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is PopUp Bagels's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for PopUp Bagels (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many PopUp Bagels franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, PopUp Bagels has 9 total units in the United States.

Is PopUp Bagels a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates PopUp Bagels as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 48 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent PopUp Bagels, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.