Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
OVERTIME ATHLETICS logo

Overtime Athletics Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

EducationVAFranchising since 2016
BAbove averageAbove average61/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$46K – $59K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (2)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01855FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent86%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Overtime Athletics is a youth sports franchise running multi-sport programs, camps, and after-school classes for kids ages 3 to 14. Franchisees run local programs, managing coaches, scheduling, and school and parent relationships.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A OVERTIME ATHLETICS franchise requires a total initial investment of $46K – $59K, including a $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 2.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$46K – $59K
9th pct Education
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
2.0%
0th pct Education
Units
49
54th pct Education
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Education · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$46K – $59K
Median $194K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$35K – $35K
Median $45K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $25K
Median $25K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
2.0%
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
2.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (2)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 2 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
49 units
Median 20 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
14.3%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Education median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $46K – $59K including a $35K franchise fee, 2.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 61/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +8 franchised outlets in the latest year (15 opened, 7 closed) (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 81.5% CAGR over 3 years with 49 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Overtime Franchise LLC
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Chris Whelan
Incorporated in
VA
HQ
11654 Plaza America Drive, #628, Reston, Virginia 20190
Auditor
Ronald M. Katzen, CPA
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$784K
vs $621K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Chris Whelan
Headquarters
VA
Founded
2016
FDD year
2025
States available
24

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 73% below the typical education franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$46K – $59KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$35,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 8 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 8 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$10K – $25K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Item 7 total vs its own lines

The filing's Item 7 TOTAL row prints $46,400 to $58,500. Its own line items add to $48,400 to $76,500. The total is shown as the franchisor printed it; the lines are listed as printed. Filing's own arithmetic: the ten printed lines sum to $48,400 (Low) and $76,500 (High) but the printed Total is $46,400 / $58,500 - Low understated by $2,000 and High by $18,000 (verified on the rendered page image; every cell read).

Full Item 7 breakdown10 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$35K$35K
Real Property——
Equipment and Supplies$1K$3K
Technology/ Office Equipment$0$2K
Start-Up Marketing$500$3K
Insurance$700$6K
Professional Fees$500$2K
Licenses/Bonds$200$1K
Your Out-of-Pocket Expenses While Attending Training$500$1K
Working Capital (Additional Funds over next 3 months)$10K$25K
Total initial investment$48K$77K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$46K – $59K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$35K – $35K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
2.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
-n/d
Total fee load
2.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

OVERTIME ATHLETICS: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$585
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$5K
Total fee load2.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

OVERTIME ATHLETICS makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one OVERTIME ATHLETICS unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $46K–$59K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$25K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$70K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 115 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 2.0% — below the Education median of 9.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 81.5% CAGR over 3 years across 49 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Education medians

How Overtime Athletics Compares

Metric
Overtime Athletics
Category median
vs median
Investment
$52K
$194Kmiddle half $94K–$625K · n=164
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$408Kmiddle half $269K–$1.2M · n=72
N/A
Unit Count
49
20middle half 6–79 · n=164
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Education brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units49Verified — printed on page 25 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+81.5% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate14.3% (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
49
Opened
15
Last reporting year
Closed
7
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
14.3%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+81.5%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+81.5%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Ceased ops
14.3%
Units that stopped operating
2022
27
Franchised units
2023
41+14
Franchised units
2024
49+8
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 6 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 6 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

6 current owners across 6 states.

  • AZ 1
  • CO 1
  • MO 1
  • OH 1
  • TX 1
  • VA 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 42 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 2 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
2
Loan volume
$66K
Median loan
$33K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (2)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 2 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (2)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (2)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
1
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (2)
Verdict score61/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average61Verdict score 61/100

Overtime Athletics presents elevated risk due to recent regulatory violations, absent financial disclosure, unprotected territory, and rapid growth that may not reflect unit profitability—suitable only for investors with high risk tolerance and verified franchisee references.

Why this reads harsher than the B grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

Moderate confidence±10 pts
5171

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Commonwealth of Virginia SCC v. Overtime Franchise LLC (Case No. SEC-2022-00035): Consent order for offering/selling 5 unregistered franchises in Virginia without required disclosure. Paid $15,000 penalty and $2,400 investigation costs. Case dismissed July 11, 2024.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Ronald M. Katzen, CPA

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.8MYr 2: $0.6MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Figures from audited financial statements of Overtime Franchise, LLC (the franchisor entity Item 21 relies on), fiscal year ended December 31, 2024, in whole US dollars (no scaling). Total Revenue $784,300 includes Franchise Fee $659,773, Service Income $6,350, Technology Fee $18,900, Royalty Fee $93,897, Network Fees $3,496, Product Sales $840, ADP Referrals $669, Other Income $350, and Unapplied Cash Payment $25. Net Ordinary Income (net loss) was -$10,243. other_revenue reflects the 'Other Income' line ($350). Balance sheet reconciles: assets 117,132 = liabilities 42,116 + equity 75,016.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 61 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORRegulatory violation in Virginia (March 2023): unregistered franchise sales and disclosure failures resulting in Consent Order and $17,400 in penalties
  2. 02MEDNo average revenue or net income disclosed in FDD Item 19, preventing realistic ROI assessment on $46,400–$58,500 investment
  3. 03MINORZero territory protection creates direct competition risk from other franchisees and company-owned locations
  4. 04MINOR2% royalty only triggers above $250,000 annual revenue threshold, suggesting many units may operate below profitability or disclosure visibility
  5. 05MINORRapid 19.5% YoY unit growth (49 total) may indicate recruitment-driven model rather than sustainable unit economics
  6. 06MINORLow franchise fee ($35,000) relative to initial investment range suggests thin margins and potential undercapitalization

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 115 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 2.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training38 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ100 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationVirginia
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawVA
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

Commonwealth of Virginia SCC v. Overtime Franchise LLC (Case No. SEC-2022-00035): Consent order for offering/selling 5 unregistered franchises in Virginia without required disclosure. Paid $15,000 penalty and $2,400 investigation costs. Case dismissed July 11, 2024.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
32 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Virtual/Virginia
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
6 mo
From signing to launch
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
OTA Hub
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: OTA Hub

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

48 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 48 contacts · $49
Free preview
434-942-••••
Unlock all 48 contacts
606-682-••••
203-505-••••
315.730.••••
781-879-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a OVERTIME ATHLETICS franchise?

The total investment to open a OVERTIME ATHLETICS franchise ranges from $46K – $59K, with an initial franchise fee of $35K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do OVERTIME ATHLETICS franchise owners earn?

OVERTIME ATHLETICS makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns OVERTIME ATHLETICS?

OVERTIME ATHLETICS is franchised by Overtime Franchise LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the OVERTIME ATHLETICS FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the OVERTIME ATHLETICS FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is OVERTIME ATHLETICS's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for OVERTIME ATHLETICS (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many OVERTIME ATHLETICS franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, OVERTIME ATHLETICS has 49 total units in the United States, including 49 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 15 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is OVERTIME ATHLETICS a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates OVERTIME ATHLETICS as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 61 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent OVERTIME ATHLETICS, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Education franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Education category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.