Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Oakberry logo

Oakberry Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsFLFranchising since 2022
BAbove averageAbove average54/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$100K – $300K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01808FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent86%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Oakberry is a quick-service franchise specializing in organic acai bowls, smoothies, and juices. Franchisees run compact shops and kiosks, managing fresh prep, inventory, and fast counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Oakberry franchise requires a total initial investment of $100K – $300K, including a $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$100K – $300K
5th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
48th pct Service Resta…
Units
39
62nd pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$100K – $300K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$30K – $30K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $30K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
9.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10
System Size
39 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
8.3%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
2 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $100K – $300K including a $30K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 54/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +3 franchised outlets in the latest year (11 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 60.0% CAGR over 3 years with 39 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Oakberry USA LLC
Parent company
Oakberry Acai Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
CEO / Founder
Georgios Pucetti Frangulis
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
120 NW 25th Street, Unit 202, Miami, Florida 33127
Auditor
Friedman CPA Group
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$518K
vs $279K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Georgios Pucetti Frangulis
Headquarters
FL
Founded
2022
FDD year
2025
States available
3

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 59% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$100K – $300KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 21 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Verified — printed on page 15 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$10K – $30K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Oakberry: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$30K$30K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$10K$30K
Equipment, build-out, other$60K$240K
Total initial investment$100K$300K

Source: Oakberry 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$100K – $300K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Oakberry: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$24K
Renewal fee$30K
Inventory (initial)$4K – $20K
Total fee load9.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Oakberry makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Oakberry unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $100K–$300K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$30K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$220K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 147 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.0% — above the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 60.0% CAGR over 3 years across 39 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Oakberry Compares

Metric
Oakberry
Category median
vs median
Investment
$200K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
39
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units39Verified — printed on page 60 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+60.0% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate8.3% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
39
Opened
11
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
1
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
8.3%
Company-owned
15
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
62%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+60.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+60.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
1
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
40
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
0
Franchised units
2023
21+21
Franchised units
2024
24+3
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 6 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 6 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

12 current owners across 5 states; 1 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

  • HI 5
  • CA 2
  • FL 2
  • NY 2
  • WI 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 1 7(a) loan on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$350K
Median loan
$350K
average
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (1)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
1
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (1)
Verdict score54/100 (higher is better)
Litigation2 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average54Verdict score 54/100

Early-stage açai bowl franchise with active trademark litigation, zero financial transparency, and insufficient unit density to validate business model viability.

Moderate confidence±10 pts
4464

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Two related actions involving former licensee Oakberry SD UTC, LLC: (1) ICDR arbitration filed Sept 2023 alleging breach of trademark license, terminated Jan 2025 due to non-payment; (2) Federal civil suit filed Sept 2023 in S.D. Cal alleging rescission, breach of contract, misrepresentation, stayed pending arbitration as of July 2024.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Friedman CPA Group

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.5MYr 2: $0.3MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Entity: Oakberry USA LLC (single-member LLC, wholly-owned subsidiary of Oakberry Acai Inc.), audited statements for FY ended Dec 31, 2024 (yr1) and Dec 31, 2023 (yr2). Figures in whole US dollars (not scaled). Revenue per Statement of Operations "REVENUES (Note 7)" recognized under ASC 606 (Revenue from Contracts with Customers): upfront franchise fees, master franchise fees, and sales-based royalties. Other revenue is "Other income (expense)" of $2,237 (2024), reported below operating loss, separate from revenue. Net loss 2024 $(2,966,040). Balance sheet reconciles: assets $2,355,919 = liabilities $4,222,970 + member's deficit $(1,867,051). Auditor: Friedman CPA Group, Plantation, FL, report dated March 21, 2025.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 54 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGHActive litigation involving franchisor and licensee over trademark rights and breach of contract creates legal uncertainty and potential brand instability
  2. 02MEDModest unit growth of 14.3% YoY on only 39 total units suggests early-stage/fragile system with limited operational track record and network effects
  3. 03MINORNo Item 19 financial disclosures prevents verification of actual franchisee profitability and viability of claimed investment range
  4. 04MINORTrademark licensing disputes signal potential reputational risk, territory disputes, and ability to enforce franchise agreement protections

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 147 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training31 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius1 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMiami, Florida
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawFL
Litigation count2
View Item 3 litigation summary

Two related actions involving former licensee Oakberry SD UTC, LLC: (1) ICDR arbitration filed Sept 2023 alleging breach of trademark license, terminated Jan 2025 due to non-payment; (2) Federal civil suit filed Sept 2023 in S.D. Cal alleging rescission, breach of contract, misrepresentation, stayed pending arbitration as of July 2024.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
12 hrs
On-the-job training
19 hrs
Training location
Oakberry Headquarters, Miami, Florida and franchisee's Oakberry Store location
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
6 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
QU POS Inc. / Worldpay
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: QU POS Inc. / Worldpay

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

13 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 13 contacts · $49
Free preview
805-284-••••CA
Unlock all 13 contacts
917-675-••••NY
786-309-••••FL
310-968-••••CA
646-477-••••NY

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Oakberry franchise?

The total investment to open a Oakberry franchise ranges from $100K – $300K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Oakberry franchise owners earn?

Oakberry makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Oakberry?

Oakberry is franchised by Oakberry USA LLC. Its parent company is Oakberry Acai Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Oakberry FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Oakberry FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Oakberry's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Oakberry (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Oakberry franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Oakberry has 39 total units in the United States, including 24 franchised units and 15 company-owned units. 11 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Oakberry a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Oakberry as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 54 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Oakberry, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.