Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Mugshots Grill & Bar logo

Mugshots Grill & Bar Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsMSFranchising since 2017
BAbove averageAbove average68/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$848K – $1.7M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (5)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01713FDD 2025Data QualityStandard71%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Mugshots Grill & Bar is a casual-dining franchise serving burgers, American fare, and drinks in a bar-and-grill setting. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing the kitchen, bar, and dining service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Mugshots Grill & Bar franchise requires a total initial investment of $848K – $1.7M, including a $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2025 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - a newer filing may exist

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$848K – $1.7M
31st pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
8th pct Service Resta…
Units
22
20th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$848K – $1.7M
Median $678K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$50K – $50K
Median $40K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$15K – $24K
Median $43K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
6.0% of rev
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (5)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 5 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
22 units
Median 20 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $848K – $1.7M including a $50K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 68/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +1 franchised outlets in the latest year (1 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
CRS Franchising, LLC
CEO title
Owner and CEO
Ron Savell
Incorporated in
MS
HQ
22 Millbranch Suite 800, Hattiesburg, Mississippi 39402

Overview

About

CEO
Ron Savell
Headquarters
MS
Founded
2004
FDD year
2025
States available
3

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 90% above the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$848K – $1.7MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Verified — printed on page 8 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 9 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 9 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$15K – $24K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown13 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$50K$50K
Travel and Living Expenses$36K$56K
Rent or Real Estate (Not including Purchase of Property)$15K$30K
Improvements (Build Out)$300K$1.0M
Furniture & Fixtures$120K$170K
Equipment$230K$280K
Insurance$12K$14K
Signage$15K$30K
Miscellaneous Opening Costs$20K$30K
Opening Inventory$20K$25K
Grand Opening Advertising$3K$6K
Computer Equipment and Software (POS System)$12K$14K
Additional Funds$15K$24K
Total initial investment$848K$1.7M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$848K – $1.7M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$15K – $24K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
6.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Mugshots Grill & Bar: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$25K
Renewal fee$25K
Inventory (initial)$20K – $25K
Total fee load6.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Mugshots Grill & Bar makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Mugshots Grill & Bar unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $848K–$1.7M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $15K–$24K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$1.3M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 113 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.0% (near the Full-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 14.3% CAGR over 3 years across 22 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How Mugshots Grill & Bar Compares

Metric
Mugshots Grill & Bar
Category median
vs median
Investment
$1.3M
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
22
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units22Verified — printed on page 34 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+14.3% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
22
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
6
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
73%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+14.3%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+14.3%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Continuity rate
106.7%
Units that stayed open
2022
14
Franchised units
2023
15+1
Franchised units
2024
16+1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 3 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 3 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

12 current owners across 3 states.

  • MS 9
  • AL 2
  • LA 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 5 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
5
Loan volume
$3.1M
Median loan
$611K
average
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (5)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 5 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (5)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (5)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
4
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (5)
Verdict score68/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average68Verdict score 68/100

Undisclosed profitability metrics combined with modest growth and high capital requirements create material uncertainty around franchisee ROI and system viability.

Moderate confidence±9 pts
5977

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation to disclose

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 references an audited balance sheet, but the only financial statement in Exhibit A is a Restaurant365-generated balance sheet as of 12/29/2024 for CRS Franchising, LLC with no income statement and no identified auditor/CPA firm. No franchisor revenue or net income is disclosed.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 68 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNo Item 19 (Average Unit Volume) disclosed despite $2.17M average revenue claim — inability to verify profitability and actual franchisee performance
  2. 02MEDSlow unit growth of 6.7% YoY with only 22 units suggests limited scalability and potential market saturation concerns
  3. 03MEDHigh capital requirement ($848K-$1.73M) relative to disclosed average revenue creates significant payback period risk without net income transparency
  4. 04MEDSmall franchise system (22 units) indicates limited operational infrastructure and support resources compared to established brands
  5. 05MINOR5% royalty on gross sales (not net) means franchisees pay regardless of profitability, creating cash flow stress in low-margin quarters

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 113 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training200 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ4
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ3 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ5 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMississippi
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawMS
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation to disclose

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Training duration
25 days
Initial training
200 hrs
Training location
Hattiesburg, Mississippi (HQ and/or affiliate-owned restaurant)
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
6 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

12 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 12 contacts · $49
Free preview
(205) 933-••••AL
Unlock all 12 contacts
(601) 329-••••MS
(601) 818-••••MS
(601) 818-••••MS
(601) 818-••••MS

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Mugshots Grill & Bar franchise?

The total investment to open a Mugshots Grill & Bar franchise ranges from $848K – $1.7M, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Mugshots Grill & Bar franchise owners earn?

Mugshots Grill & Bar makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Mugshots Grill & Bar?

Mugshots Grill & Bar is franchised by CRS Franchising, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Mugshots Grill & Bar FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Mugshots Grill & Bar FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Mugshots Grill & Bar's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Mugshots Grill & Bar (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Mugshots Grill & Bar franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Mugshots Grill & Bar has 22 total units in the United States, including 16 franchised units and 6 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Mugshots Grill & Bar a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Mugshots Grill & Bar as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 68 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Mugshots Grill & Bar, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.