Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Mrs. Fields logo

Mrs. Fields Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsUTFranchising since 2004
BAbove averageAbove average64/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$312K – $496K
Disclosed sales
$378K
gross sales, not profit
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01711FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent86%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Mrs. Fields is a franchise selling fresh-baked cookies, brownies, and cookie cakes from mall and kiosk locations. Franchisees run shops managing baking, counter service, and gifting orders.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Mrs. Fields franchise requires a total initial investment of $312K – $496K, including a $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. Per the 2025 FDD, average unit revenue was $378K[2]. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored8 of 8 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$312K – $496K
51st pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
$378K
1st pct Service Resta…
Royalty
6.0%
48th pct Service Resta…
Units
113
78th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$312K – $496K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$35K – $35K
Median $35K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$8K – $12K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
$378K
Median $975K
below median ↓, worse than category
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
9.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10
System Size
113 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
11.5%
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $312K – $496K including a $35K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSAverage unit revenue of $378K/year (median $332K).
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 64/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -12 franchised outlets in the latest year (5 opened, 13 closed); 1 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -9.6% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Mrs. Fields Franchising, LLC
Parent company
Mrs. Fields Franchising Holdco, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
Famous Brands International Holdings, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Interim Chief Executive Officer
James Carnrite
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
1717 S. 4800 W., Salt Lake City, Utah 84104
Auditor
Not specified (Cincinnati, Ohio)
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.6M
Most recent fiscal year

Affiliated brands

  • TCBY Systems
  • Famous Brands Franchising

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 8

1 other brand on this site name Famous Brands International Holdings, LLC as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2025 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
James Carnrite
Headquarters
UT
Founded
2004
FDD year
2025
States available
25

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 17% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$312K – $496KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$35,000Verified — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund3.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$8K – $12K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown13 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee (Note 1)$35K$35K
Travel and living expenses while training (Note 2)$2K$3K
Real estate lease (Note 3)——
Improvements and Equipment (Note 4)$230K$387K
Opening Product and Soft Goods Inventory (Note 5)$5K$10K
Grand opening promotion, if opening a new store (Note 6)$10K$10K
Local Store Marketing (Note 7)$2K$2K
Deposits and other prepaid expenses (Note 8)$4K$5K
Professional fees (Note 9)$9K$10K
Insurance (3 months) (Note 10)$3K$4K
Coffee preparation and serving equipment$3K$10K
Computer hardware and software (Note 11)$2K$8K
Additional funds (3 months) (Note 12)$8K$12K
Total initial investment$312K$496K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$312K – $496K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$8K – $12K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$35K – $35K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Mrs. Fields: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$0
Transfer fee$18K
Renewal fee$7K
Inventory (initial)$5K – $10K
Total fee load9.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Average unit sales run 61% below the quick-service restaurants norm.

Avg gross sales$378KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 41 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Median gross sales$332KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 41 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Item 19 typegross revenue
Sample size75 outlets

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 19

Single-unit · not modelled

Returns at a glance

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit, and the operating costs that turn one into the other are in no filing. We publish no modelled return for Mrs. Fields until someone supplies them — yours, in the models below.

—

Not modelled yet

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.

Total invested capital · disclosed

$414K

Item 7 initial investment plus working capital, as filed — the one figure here that needs no assumption.

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

What one unit earns on your invested capital

Model A · Single-Unit Return

Computes unlevered return on invested capital (ROIC) for a single franchise unit, read against the 30–60% reference band · Yale SOM, Post-MBA Path Exhibit 2 (2023). Below that band a passive index fund likely outperforms; above it the franchisor has pricing power you're subsidizing.

Note: Item 19 revenue is what the franchisor discloses, and it is the top line only — gross sales are not profit. No FDD discloses the operating costs that turn one into the other, so those fields start empty and nothing is modelled until you supply them from your own lease quote, labor market and build-out budget.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Mrs. Fields unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearFDD
FDD Item 19 reports $378,393 per unit
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $312K–$496K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $8K–$12K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$414K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

What 25 units return when you use SBA financing

Model B · Return on Equity: Debt-Financed Acquisition

Models a 25-unit portfolio acquisition financed with an SBA 7(a) loan. Shows equity IRR (your return on cash invested), DSCR (how safely the cash flow covers debt service), and the capital stack (SBA + seller + equity breakdown).

This is the “search fund” or “entrepreneurship through acquisition” scenario: you buy an existing multi-unit operator, use leverage to amplify returns, and either operate or hire management. The 25-unit size is the typical minimum for an SBA-backed franchise portfolio acquisition to pencil as a full-time income.

What “return on equity” means here: if you put in $500K of your own cash and the business generates enough EBITDA to pay down debt and grow, your equity IRR is the annual return on that $500K, including the value created when you eventually sell. Target IRR for a search fund is typically 25–35%.

Not modelled yet

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.

A 25-unit return is built on a per-unit EBITDA. Fill in the operating costs in Model A above and this model runs on that figure, or take the whole scenario to the full ROI workbench, where the portfolio and LBO models accept your own per-unit economics directly.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

Avg gross sales
$378K
Per unit, per year
Median gross sales
$332K

Gross sales are revenue before expenses — not profit. Actual owner earnings depend on rent, labor, royalties, marketing fees, and debt service.

Item 19 type
gross revenue
Sample size
75 outlets
vs category median 19 · large
Range (low → high)
$113K→$1.0MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 41 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Cohort dispersion (min → max)
Quartile band
$184K→$647K
Bottom 25% → top 25%
Reporting year
2024
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2025
Disclosed in the 2025 filing, covering 2024
Transparency
4 / 10
vs category median 4 / 10 · typical
Gross sales rank1th
Item 19 reporting methods vary across brands
Investment cost rank51th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank48th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank78th
vs Quick-Service Restaurants peers
Risk score rank25th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 781 Quick-Service Restaurants brands

Showing the headline figures — all 150 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →
Revenue insight

Revenue is only 0.9x the investment. This means each unit may take 5+ years to recoup the initial outlay at typical margins.

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Unit economics

Average unit generates $378K/year in gross sales. Revenue-to-investment ratio: 0.9x.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.0% — above the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

Transparency score 4/10 — this franchisor discloses detailed breakdowns (quartiles, segments, or cohort data). Buyers can model unit economics with higher confidence.

Operator retention

System contracting at -9.6% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Mrs. Fields Compares

Metric
Mrs. Fields
Category median
vs median
Investment
$404K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
$378K
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
Below median, worse than category
Unit Count
113
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units113Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 43 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth-9.6% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate11.5% (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
113
Opened
5
Last reporting year
Closed
13
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
11.5%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-9.6%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-9.6%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
3
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
1
0.01 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
8
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
2.6%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Continuity rate
89.7%
Units that stayed open
Ceased ops
11.5%
Units that stopped operating
2022
125
Franchised units
2023
125±0
Franchised units
2024
113-12
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 10 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 10 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

0 current owners across 0 states; 13 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

    Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

    SBA loan performance

    Government records

    SBA Loan Data

    Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 1 7(a) loan on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

    Total loans
    1
    Loan volume
    $516K
    Median loan
    $516K
    50th percentile
    Charge-off rate
    Under 10 loans (1)
    Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10

    Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

    Repayment rate (PIF)
    Under 10 loans (1)
    5-yr charge-off
    Under 10 loans (1)
    Loans approved 2021+
    Active lenders
    1
    Defaults
    N/A

    Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

    What could kill this investment?

    SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (1)
    Verdict score64/100 (higher is better)
    Litigation0 cases
    Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

    Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

    Risk analysis

    FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

    Risk & Legal

    BAbove average64Verdict score 64/100

    Mrs. Fields presents elevated risk due to a contracting franchise system, undisclosed profitability metrics, unprotected territories, and historical financial concerns that obscure true franchisee earnings potential.

    Why this reads harsher than the B grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

    Moderate confidence±10 pts
    5474

    Litigation (Item 3)

    Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

    0 case reference(s): 0 pending, 0 settled.

    Bankruptcy (Item 4)

    None disclosed

    Audited financials (Item 21)

    Yes · Not specified (Cincinnati, Ohio)

    Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

    Yr 1: $1.6MTotal: $2.5MNon-royalty: $0.3M

    Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

    Audited consolidated financials are for Mrs. Fields Franchising Holdco, LLC (MFF Holdco), the parent guarantor, covering only the period from August 1, 2024 (date of formation) to December 31, 2024. Following the October 2023 Transaction the franchisor cannot provide three years of statements. Total revenues of $1,608,571 comprise royalty fees $1,008,872, marketing/advertising fees $256,241, franchise related fees $32,239, and other income $311,219. Net income $216,777; comprehensive income $244,752.

    ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

    Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

    • Franchisor sells you products: No
    • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
    • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
    • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
    • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

    Score breakdown · what drove the 64 / 100 verdict

    1. 01MINORFranchise system declining 9.6% YoY with only 113 units remaining—indicates shrinking brand relevance and market headwinds
    2. 02MEDNet income not disclosed in Item 19—prevents accurate ROI assessment and suggests franchisees may not be highly profitable
    3. 03MINORNo protected territory—franchisee revenue is vulnerable to cannibalization by company-owned or other franchised locations
    4. 04MINORWide revenue variance (avg $378k) with no net income disclosure suggests highly inconsistent unit economics across franchise base

    Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

    Showing the headline figures — all 150 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

    What are you signing up for?

    Ongoing fees run about 9.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

    Initial term10 yrs
    Renewal term10 yrs
    TerritoryNone (caution)
    Initial training41 hrs

    Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

    FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

    Contract & Territory Detail

    Initial term10 years
    Renewal term10 years
    Allowed renewalsℹ1
    Territory typeNo territory protection
    Protected territoryNo
    Exclusive territoryℹNo
    Online sales rightsℹRestricted
    Franchisor can competeYes
    Hire a manager?Allowed
    Owner-operatorOptional
    Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
    Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
    Right of first refusalℹYes
    RoFR response window60 days
    Transfer requires consentYes
    Termination notice30 days
    Termination groundsℹ2
    Curable defaultsℹ3
    Mandatory arbitrationYes
    Arbitration locationWilmington, Delaware
    Jury trial waiverNo
    Governing lawDE
    Litigation count0
    View Item 3 litigation summary

    0 case reference(s): 0 pending, 0 settled.

    Items 10, 11

    Training & Operations

    Classroom training
    24 hrs
    On-the-job training
    17 hrs
    Training location
    LMS (online), Salt Lake City, Utah or other designated locations
    Ongoing training
    Required
    Time to open
    3 mo
    From signing to launch
    Site selection
    Franchisee with franchisor approval; franchisor-designated real estate broker required
    Franchisor financing
    Not offered
    Item 10

    Items 5 & 11

    Franchisor Support

    ✓Site selection assistance
    ✓Grand opening support
    ✓Lease negotiation help

    Item 20 · call current owners

    Franchisee Contacts

    13 owners to call

    Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

    Unlock 13 contacts · $49

    Frequently asked questions

    Frequently Asked Questions

    How much does it cost to open a Mrs. Fields franchise?

    The total investment to open a Mrs. Fields franchise ranges from $312K – $496K, with an initial franchise fee of $35K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

    What do Mrs. Fields franchise owners earn?

    According to Item 19 of the Mrs. Fields FDD, the average gross sales per unit is $378K. The median is $332K. Note: this is gross revenue, not profit. Actual owner earnings vary based on location, operating costs, and management.

    Who owns Mrs. Fields?

    Mrs. Fields is franchised by Mrs. Fields Franchising, LLC. Its parent company is Mrs. Fields Franchising Holdco, LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Famous Brands International Holdings, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

    What is Item 19 in the Mrs. Fields FDD?

    The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Mrs. Fields FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

    What is Mrs. Fields's franchise failure rate?

    SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Mrs. Fields (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

    How many Mrs. Fields franchise locations are there?

    As of their most recent FDD filing, Mrs. Fields has 113 total units in the United States, including 113 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 5 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

    Is Mrs. Fields a good franchise to buy?

    FranchiseVerdict rates Mrs. Fields as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 64 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

    Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

    For franchisors

    Are you the franchisor?

    If you represent Mrs. Fields, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

    Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

    Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

    Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.