Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Maple Bear logo

Maple Bear Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

EducationTXFranchising since 2019
DBelow averageBelow average36/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$799K – $2.4M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (3)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01568FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Maple Bear is an early education franchise operating Canadian-curriculum bilingual preschools and schools. Franchisees run the schools, managing teachers, curriculum, enrollment, and licensing.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Maple Bear franchise requires a total initial investment of $799K – $2.4M, including a $85K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$799K – $2.4M
69th pct Education
Avg gross sales
N/A
1 outlet
Royalty
6.0%
7th pct Education
Units
1
2nd pct Education
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Education · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$799K – $2.4M
Median $194K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$85K – $85K
Median $45K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$150K – $200K
Median $25K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (3)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 3 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
1 units
Median 20 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
100.0%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Education median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $799K – $2.4M including a $85K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 36/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative, pipeline stalled: 4 agreements signed but not yet open against 1 open outlets (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Maple Bear USA, Inc.
Parent company
Maple Bear Global Schools, Ltd. (MBGS)
Ultimate parent
High Sailing Platform, Inc. / SEB Group
CEO title
CEO
Arno Krug
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
2451 West Grapevine Mills Circle, Suite #322, Grapevine, TX 76051
Auditor
Monis J. Siddiqui, CPA P.C.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$149K
vs $60K prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Arno Krug
Headquarters
TX
Founded
2015
FDD year
2025
States available
2

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 722% above the typical education franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$799K – $2.4MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$85,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$150K – $200K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown20 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Franchise Fee1$85K$85K
Real Estate/Rent2$36K$144K
Lease Security Deposit3$18K$96K
Utility Deposits4$5K$10K
Leasehold Improvements5$55K$879K
Initial Inventory (marketing collateral and curriculum resources)6$30K$64K
Computer Equipment (Hardware/Software)7$15K$32K
Insurance8$6K$11K
Office Equipment and Supplies9$15K$32K
Initial Academic Training 10$13K$33K
Signage11$12K$25K
Interior Branding12$30K$75K
Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment (Outside)13$52K$179K
Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment (Inside)14$115K$290K
Architect 15$40K$60K
Construction & Architectural Project Management Fees16$101K$118K
Grand Opening Advertisement17$15K$48K
Licenses & Permits (including construction permit and others)18$3K$10K
Legal & Accounting19$3K$5K
Additional Funds (3 months) 20$150K$200K
Total initial investment$799K$2.4M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$799K – $2.4M
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$150K – $200K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$85K – $85K
Bottom third — review vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Maple Bear: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$250
Training fee$8K
Transfer fee$11K
Inventory (initial)$30K – $64K
Total fee load8.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Maple Bear makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Maple Bear unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $799K–$2.4M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $150K–$200K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$1.8M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 144 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Education median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

Net unit growth roughly flat at 0.0%.

Multi-unit rate

Only 1% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Education medians

How Maple Bear Compares

Metric
Maple Bear
Category median
vs median
Investment
$1.6M
$194Kmiddle half $94K–$625K · n=164
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$408Kmiddle half $269K–$1.2M · n=72
N/A
Unit Count
1
20middle half 6–79 · n=164
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Education brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units1Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 44 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth+0.0%
Turnover rate100.0% (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
1
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
100.0%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
1.0%
Net growth (3-yr)
+0.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+0.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Signed, not yet open
4
4.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
2
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Continuity rate
100.0%
Units that stayed open
2022
3
Franchised units
2023
2-1
Franchised units
2024
1-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 2 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

2

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 3 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
3
Loan volume
$3.3M
Median loan
$1.1M
average
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (3)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 3 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (3)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (3)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
0
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (3)
Verdict score36/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average36Verdict score 36/100

Early-stage preschool franchise with only 3 units, undisclosed financials, and unproven unit economics presents significant risk despite protected territory and no litigation.

Moderate confidence±10 pts
2646

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Monis J. Siddiqui, CPA P.C.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.1MYr 2: $0.1MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

FY2022 audited: Royalty fees $144,211 + Franchise fees $4,400 = Total Revenues $148,611. Going concern doubt noted; stockholder's deficit.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 36 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDOnly 3 units in system indicates extremely limited scale and unproven business model replicability
  2. 02MINORNo average revenue or net income disclosure (Item 19) prevents ROI validation and obscures unit economics
  3. 03MINORMinimal franchisee base (3 units) makes territory protection claim difficult to enforce and territory disputes more likely
  4. 04MINOR10-year term is unusually long without demonstrated profitability track record to justify commitment length
  5. 05MEDEarly-stage system with only 3 franchisees creates high business model risk and limited peer support network

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 144 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training80 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationDelaware
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawDE
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
51 hrs
On-the-job training
29 hrs
Training location
Via conference calls, video conferencing, and/or on-site at approved location; MBGS headquarters or US training centers
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
12 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee proposes site, franchisor must approve; franchisor designates Designated Area if location not yet determined
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Procare Software
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: Procare Software

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

7 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 7 contacts · $49
Free preview
480-474-••••
Unlock all 7 contacts
940-243-••••
972-317-••••
877 731 ••••
778-798-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Maple Bear franchise?

The total investment to open a Maple Bear franchise ranges from $799K – $2.4M, with an initial franchise fee of $85K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Maple Bear franchise owners earn?

Maple Bear makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Maple Bear?

Maple Bear is franchised by Maple Bear USA, Inc.. Its parent company is Maple Bear Global Schools, Ltd. (MBGS). The ultimate parent named in the FDD is High Sailing Platform, Inc. / SEB Group. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Maple Bear FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Maple Bear FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Maple Bear's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Maple Bear (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Maple Bear franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Maple Bear has 1 total units in the United States, including 1 franchised units and 0 company-owned units.

Is Maple Bear a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Maple Bear as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 36 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Maple Bear, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Education franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Education category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.