Lice Lifters Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026
- Investment
- $68K – $80K
- Disclosed sales
- not disclosed
- SBA charge-off
- Under 10 loans (3)
Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records
Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology
Lice Lifters is a healthcare franchise operating head lice treatment centers offering non-toxic removal services. Franchisees run the clinics, managing technicians, appointments, and treatments.
FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026
A Lice Lifters franchise requires a total initial investment of $68K – $80K, including a $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →
Sources, dates and evidence
FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file
Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.
Overview
- Investment
- $68K – $80K
- 9th pct Healthcare
- Avg gross sales
- N/A
- Royalty
- 5.0%
- 4th pct Healthcare
- Units
- 11
- 31st pct Healthcare
- SBA charge-off
- N/A
Quick verdict · Healthcare · color = vs category peers
Green = favorable by >10% vs Healthcare median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)
Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology
Bottom line
- COSTTotal investment $68K – $80K including a $35K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
- RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
- RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 45/100 (higher is better).
- GROWTHPositive: net +5 franchised outlets in the latest year (5 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
- FLAGAuditor disclosed a going-concern note, which flagged doubt about the franchisor's ability to continue operations. Verify against the latest FDD.
Item 1 · who you're contracting with
The Franchisor
Corporate structure & franchisor financials
- Legal entity
- Lice Lifters Franchising, LLC
- Predecessor
- None
- Prior franchisor entity
- CEO title
- President and Chief Operating Officer
- Michele Barrack
- Incorporated in
- PA
- HQ
- 280 Gossett Road, Spartanburg, South Carolina 29307
- Auditor
- Divine Blalock Martin Sellari, LLC
- Audited financials
- Franchisor revenue
- $251K
- vs $91K prior year
- ⚠ Going-concern note
- Disclosed in FDD 2025
- Auditor flagged doubt about continued operations. Verify against the latest FDD before deciding.
Overview
About
- CEO
- Michele Barrack
- Headquarters
- SC
- Founded
- 2011
- FDD year
- 2025
- States available
- 4
Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?
Entry cost runs 77% below the typical healthcare franchise.
Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7
Full Item 7 breakdown14 line items
Initial investment breakdown
| Line item | Low | High | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Feenot refundable | $35K | $35K | |
| Initial Rent Outlaysnot refundable | $3K | $5K | |
| Leasehold Improvements (including Fixtures and Furnishings)not refundable | $3K | $5K | |
| Signagenot refundable | $700 | $900 | |
| Suppliesnot refundable | $800 | $1K | |
| Training Expensesnot refundable | $500 | $1K | |
| Opening Inventorynot refundable | $5K | $5K | |
| Computer/Software and Phone Systemsnot refundable | $3K | $5K | |
| Prepaid Insurance Premiumsnot refundable | $250 | $300 | |
| Utility Costs & Depositsnot refundable | $500 | $800 | |
| Permits & Licensesnot refundable | $750 | $2K | |
| Advertisingnot refundable | $5K | $5K | |
| Miscellaneous Opening Expensesnot refundable | $1K | $3K | |
| Additional Funds for 3 monthsnot refundable | $10K | $13K | |
| Total initial investment | $68K | $81K |
Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.
Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate
The Vitals
- Total investment
- $68K – $80K
- Top 40% of category vs category
- Liquid capital req'd
- $10K – $13K
- Top 40% of category vs category
- Franchise fee
- $35K – $35K
- Top 40% of category vs category
- Royalty
- 5.0%
- Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
- Ad fund
- 0.0%
- typical 3–5%
- Total fee load
- 7.0%
- vs 9–13% typical
Ongoing fees · Item 6
| Fee | Amount |
|---|---|
| Royalty | 5.0% of gross sales |
| Marketing / ad fund | 0.0% |
| Training fee | $750 |
| Transfer fee | $15K |
| Renewal fee | $50 |
| Inventory (initial) | $5K – $5K |
| Total fee load | 7.0% of rev |
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Lice Lifters makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.
Returns model · single-unit ROIC
What would one Lice Lifters unit return on the cash you put in?
Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.
Unlevered ROIC · per unit
Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.
—
An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.
These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.
Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD
Financial Performance
No financial performance representation
This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.
Operator outlook
What the numbers say
Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.
Fee burden
Total ongoing fee load of 7.0% (near the Healthcare median).
Disclosure
This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.
Operator retention
System expanding at 800.0% CAGR over 3 years across 11 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.
Multi-unit rate
29% of franchisees own multiple units, a moderate multi-unit rate.
Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.
vs Healthcare medians
How Lice Lifters Compares
Category median of published Healthcare brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.
Is the system healthy?
Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20
Unit growth
Item 20 · unit dynamics
The Growth Chart
- Total units
- 11
- Opened
- 5
- Last reporting year
- Closed
- 0
- Terminated
- 0
- Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
- Non-renewed
- 0
- Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
- Turnover rate
- N/A
- Company-owned
- 2
- Corporate units in the system
- % franchised
- 82%
- vs corporate-owned
- Multi-unit owners
- 28.6%
Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers
- Terminated
- 0
- Not renewed
- 0
- Transferred
- 0
- Reacquired
- 0
- Franchisor bought back
Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.
Item 20 · 4 states with active franchisees
The Territory Map
Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).
States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.
Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list
6 current owners across 4 states.
- FL 2
- NJ 2
- NY 1
- PA 1
Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.
Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.
SBA loan performance
Government records
SBA Loan Data
Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 3 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.
- Total loans
- 3
- Loan volume
- $636K
- Median loan
- $135K
- 50th percentile
- Charge-off rate
- Under 10 loans (3)
- Insufficient SBA coverage: 3 loans, rate hidden below 10
Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated
- Repayment rate (PIF)
- Under 10 loans (3)
- 5-yr charge-off
- Under 10 loans (3)
- Loans approved 2021+
- Active lenders
- 1
- Defaults
- N/A
Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.
What could kill this investment?
The auditor flagged going-concern doubt (Item 21) — the single biggest risk here.
Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21
Risk analysis
FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21
Risk & Legal
Small, litigious system with opaque financials and growth from minimal base creates visibility and viability concerns.
Litigation (Item 3)
Subject: the franchisor is a named party (plaintiff).
Lice Lifters Franchising, LLC v. Lice Lifters of Harrisburg, LLC and Latoya Wright (AAA Case No. 01-17-0002-9099): franchisor-initiated action alleging breach of in-term and post-termination non-compete covenants and trademark/trade dress infringement; franchisor obtained TRO, preliminary injunction, and arbitration award including a permanent injunction and $61,520.80 in fees/costs, confirmed as judgment in favor of franchisor.
Bankruptcy (Item 4)
None disclosed
Audited financials (Item 21)
Yes · Divine Blalock Martin Sellari, LLC⚠ Going-concern note flagged
Franchisor revenue (Item 21)
Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)
No audited financial statements present in the supplied page images. p147-p150 contain an SBA Addendum (Exhibit I to the Franchise Agreement) and Exhibit F (list of Lice Lifters Treatment Centers and franchisees who left in FY2023). No Item 21 financial statements, balance sheet, income statement, or Independent Auditor's Report appear in this folder, so all figures are null.
Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16
- Franchisor sells you products: Yes
- Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
- Must buy proprietary products: Yes
- Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
- Can negotiate own supplier terms: No
Score breakdown · what drove the 45 / 100 verdict
- 01MEDNo Item 19 financial disclosure (average revenue and net income not disclosed) prevents ROI validation
- 02HIGHActive litigation history demonstrates franchisor-franchisee conflict and enforcement costs that may burden system
- 03MEDOnly 11 units with 125% YoY growth is modest absolute growth in small system, suggesting limited scalability or market validation
- 04MED5% royalty on undisclosed revenue makes unit economics impossible to assess relative to $35,000 franchise fee
- 05HIGHGoing Concern status indicates potential financial instability at corporate level affecting franchisor support
Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification
What are you signing up for?
Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.
Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17
FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal
Contract & Territory Detail
| Initial term | 5 years |
|---|---|
| Renewal term | 5 years |
| Allowed renewalsℹ | 3 |
| Territory type | Exclusive territory |
| Protected territory | Yes |
| Exclusive territoryℹ | Yes |
| Territory population | 500,000 |
| Online sales rightsℹ | Restricted |
| Franchisor can compete | Yes |
| Hire a manager? | Allowed |
| Owner-operator | Optional |
| Non-compete (years)ℹ | 2 years |
| Non-compete (miles)ℹ | 25 mi |
| Right of first refusalℹ | Yes |
| Transfer requires consent | Yes |
| Termination notice | 30 days |
| Mandatory arbitration | Yes |
| Arbitration location | Philadelphia, Pennsylvania |
| Jury trial waiver | Yes |
| Governing law | PA |
| Litigation count | 1 |
View Item 3 litigation summary
Lice Lifters Franchising, LLC v. Lice Lifters of Harrisburg, LLC and Latoya Wright (AAA Case No. 01-17-0002-9099): franchisor-initiated action alleging breach of in-term and post-termination non-compete covenants and trademark/trade dress infringement; franchisor obtained TRO, preliminary injunction, and arbitration award including a permanent injunction and $61,520.80 in fees/costs, confirmed as judgment in favor of franchisor.
Items 10, 11
Training & Operations
- Classroom training
- 21 hrs
- On-the-job training
- 17 hrs
- Training location
- Spartanburg, South Carolina; Bucks/Montgomery County, Pennsylvania; or Palm Beach County, Florida
- Ongoing training
- Required
- Field support
- 20 hrs/yr
- On-site visits per year
- Time to open
- 6 mo
- From signing to launch
- POS system
- POS System
- Operating tech stack
Items 5 & 11
Franchisor Support
Technology: POS System
Item 20 · call current owners
Franchisee Contacts
6 owners to call
Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20
Frequently asked questions
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does it cost to open a Lice Lifters franchise?
The total investment to open a Lice Lifters franchise ranges from $68K – $80K, with an initial franchise fee of $35K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).
What do Lice Lifters franchise owners earn?
Lice Lifters makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.
Who owns Lice Lifters?
Lice Lifters is franchised by Lice Lifters Franchising, LLC. The FDD names no parent company. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.
What is Item 19 in the Lice Lifters FDD?
The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Lice Lifters FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.
What is Lice Lifters's franchise failure rate?
SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Lice Lifters (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.
How many Lice Lifters franchise locations are there?
As of their most recent FDD filing, Lice Lifters has 11 total units in the United States, including 9 franchised units and 2 company-owned units. 5 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.
Is Lice Lifters a good franchise to buy?
FranchiseVerdict rates Lice Lifters as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 45 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.
Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.
For franchisors
Are you the franchisor?
If you represent Lice Lifters, you can request corrections or provide updated information.
Other Healthcare franchises
Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Healthcare category
Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.