Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
JOHNSTONE SUPPLY logo

Johnstone Supply Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Home ServicesORFranchising since 2021
AStrongest tierStrongest tier73/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$808K – $3.4M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Limited · 13 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01360Data QualityStandard71%FDD 2022 · 4yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2022 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Johnstone Supply is a wholesale-distribution franchise, a member cooperative, supplying HVAC, refrigeration, and plumbing parts to contractors. Franchisees run a distribution branch managing inventory, order fulfillment, and contractor accounts.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A JOHNSTONE SUPPLY franchise requires a total initial investment of $808K – $3.4M, including a $60K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored2 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$808K – $3.4M
87th pct Home Services
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Not extracted
Units
443
86th pct Home Services
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Home Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$808K – $3.4M
Median $168K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$60K – $60K
Median $50K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$200K – $400K
Median $29K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 6.0%
Ongoing Fees
Not extracted
Median 8.0%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited · 13 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 13 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units
System Size
443 units
Median 47 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
1.4%
Median 4.3%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Home Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $808K – $3.4M including a $60K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 73/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -12 franchised outlets in the latest year (1 opened, 19 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Johnstone Supply, LLC
Parent company
Redwood Holdings, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2022 FDD
Predecessor
Johnstone Supply, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Lance Devin
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
11632 NE Ainsworth Circle, Portland, OR 97220
Auditor
Grant Thornton LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$528.5M
vs $853.4M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Lance Devin
Headquarters
OR
Founded
1981
FDD year
2022
States available
47

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 1152% above the typical home services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$808K – $3.4MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 22 of the 2022 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$60,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
RoyaltyNot extracted
Ad fund0.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$200K – $400K

Source: FDD 2022 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2022 filing

Initial investment breakdown

JOHNSTONE SUPPLY: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$60K$60K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$200K$400K
Equipment, build-out, other$548K$2.9M
Total initial investment$808K$3.4M

Source: JOHNSTONE SUPPLY 2022 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$808K – $3.4M
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$200K – $400K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$60K – $60K
Bottom third — review vs category
Royalty
No royalty fee disclosed; franchisees purchase inventory …
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%

Ongoing fees · Item 6

JOHNSTONE SUPPLY: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Transfer fee$1K
Inventory (initial)$200K – $2.0M
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

JOHNSTONE SUPPLY makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one JOHNSTONE SUPPLY unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $808K–$3.4M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $200K–$400K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$2.4M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2022 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 120 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

Net unit growth of +98.6% over 3 years (1 opened, 19 closed).

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Home Services medians

How Johnstone Supply Compares

Metric
Johnstone Supply
Category median
vs median
Investment
$2.1M
$168Kmiddle half $122K–$232K · n=283
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$587Kmiddle half $376K–$1.3M · n=79
N/A
Unit Count
443
47middle half 14–137 · n=283
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Home Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units443Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 57 of the 2022 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth+98.6% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate1.4% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2022 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
443
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
19
Terminated
3
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
1.4%
Company-owned
17
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
96%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+98.6%
Net unit change over 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
3
Not renewed
0
Transferred
26
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
9
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
5.9%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Continuity rate
97.3%
Units that stayed open
Termination rate
0.7%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
2.7%
Units that stopped operating
2019
0
Franchised units
2020
438+438
Franchised units
2021
426-12
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 49 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 49 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

423 current owners across 49 states.

  • CA 41
  • FL 31
  • TX 27
  • MI 22
  • NC 18
  • IL 16
  • NY 16
  • PA 15
  • MO 13
  • NJ 12
  • OK 12
  • SC 12
  • +37 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
13
Loan volume
$17.0M
Median loan
$400K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Limited · 13 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 13 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Limited · 13 loans
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
2
Defaults
0
Typical loan rate
N/A
vs industry
N/A
Jobs supported
16
4.0 per loan
Lender concentration
100%
top lender's share

Top lenders financing Johnstone Supply franchisees

PNC Bank, National Association1 loans0.0%

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
4
Loan volume
$1.4M
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
66

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Johnstone Supply from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
0.0%
Avg SBA guarantee
75%
Lender concentration
100.0%
Job velocity
4.0 per $100K
Jobs supported
16

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 100% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1PNC Bank, National Association1$400K0.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
OHOhio100.0%

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2000
1

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offLimited · 13 loans
Verdict score73/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier73Verdict score 73/100

Johnstone Supply presents moderate-to-high risk due to declining unit count, missing financial disclosure, opaque fee structure, and high capital requirements in a thin-margin industry.

Why this reads harsher than the A grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
6086

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

0 case reference(s): 0 pending, 0 settled.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Grant Thornton LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $528.5MYr 2: $853.4MNon-royalty: $5.4M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Most recent audited financials are for the six-month period ended October 31, 2021 (pre-Conversion, Johnstone Supply, Inc., an Oregon cooperative). Revenues, net of $528,529,207 covers only that six-month stub period. Prior-year figure ($853,372,572) is the full fiscal year ended April 30, 2021. After the October 29, 2021 conversion to Johnstone Supply, LLC, the franchisor adopted a December 31 fiscal year; an unaudited June 30, 2022 balance sheet was also provided.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 73 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORUnit count declining 2.7% YoY suggests system contraction and potential market saturation or franchisee struggles
  2. 02MINORNo average revenue or net income disclosure (Item 19) prevents ROI validation and raises transparency concerns
  3. 03MINORWide investment range ($808K–$3.4M, 321% spread) indicates highly variable unit economics and unclear cost structure
  4. 04MINORRoyalty rate unknown despite significant franchise fee ($60K) suggests opaque fee structure
  5. 05MEDIndustrial/HVAC supply distribution is capital-intensive with thin margins; high investment coupled with undisclosed profitability is concerning

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 120 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Initial term6 yrs
Renewal term3 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial trainingNot extracted

Source: FDD 2022 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term6 years
Renewal term3 years
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice90 days
Curable defaultsℹ8
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationWilmington, Delaware
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawDE
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

0 case reference(s): 0 pending, 0 settled.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
0 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
6 mo
From signing to launch
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
DDI Inform, Epicor Eclipse, or Infor SXe
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: DDI Inform, Epicor Eclipse, or Infor SXe

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

423 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 423 contacts · $49
Free preview
(704) 267-••••SC
Unlock all 423 contacts
(716) 912-••••AZ
(517) 719-••••MI
(305) 389-••••FL
(859) 619-••••KY

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a JOHNSTONE SUPPLY franchise?

The total investment to open a JOHNSTONE SUPPLY franchise ranges from $808K – $3.4M, with an initial franchise fee of $60K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do JOHNSTONE SUPPLY franchise owners earn?

JOHNSTONE SUPPLY makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns JOHNSTONE SUPPLY?

JOHNSTONE SUPPLY is franchised by Johnstone Supply, LLC. Its parent company is Redwood Holdings, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2022 filing.

What is Item 19 in the JOHNSTONE SUPPLY FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the JOHNSTONE SUPPLY FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is JOHNSTONE SUPPLY's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for JOHNSTONE SUPPLY (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many JOHNSTONE SUPPLY franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, JOHNSTONE SUPPLY has 443 total units in the United States, including 426 franchised units and 17 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is JOHNSTONE SUPPLY a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates JOHNSTONE SUPPLY as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 73 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent JOHNSTONE SUPPLY, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Home Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Home Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.