Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
CoolVu logo

CoolVu Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Home ServicesGAFranchising since 2021
BAbove averageAbove average50/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$68K – $107K
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
Limited · 16 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00624FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

CoolVu is a home- and auto-services franchise installing window films and graphics for glare, heat, security, and privacy on homes, businesses, and vehicles. Franchisees run a mobile installation operation handling consultations and jobs in a territory.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A CoolVu franchise requires a total initial investment of $68K – $107K, including a $20K franchise fee. The 2025 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$68K – $107K
14th pct Home Services
Avg gross sales
N/A
Projection
Royalty
Flat fee
Units
110
60th pct Home Services
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Home Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$68K – $107K
Median $168K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$20K – $20K
Median $50K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $20K
Median $29K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 6.0%
Ongoing Fees
Not extracted
Median 8.0%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited · 16 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 16 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units
System Size
110 units
Median 47 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 4.3%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Home Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $68K – $107K including a $20K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports average invoice price per project rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 50/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +26 franchised outlets in the latest year (26 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 174.4% CAGR over 3 years with 110 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
CoolVu Franchise Concepts, Inc.
Parent company
FutureVu Brands, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 10 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Founder and CEO
Jeff Franson
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
GA
HQ
4939 Lower Roswell Road, Marietta GA 30068
Auditor
Aprio, LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$2.4M
vs $885K prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Jeff Franson
Headquarters
GA
Founded
2021
FDD year
2025
States available
29

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 48% below the typical home services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$68K – $107KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$19,900Verified — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
RoyaltyFlat fee
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$10K – $20K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

CoolVu: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$20K$20K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$10K$20K
Equipment, build-out, other$39K$67K
Total initial investment$68K$107K

Source: CoolVu 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$68K – $107K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$20K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
Flat monthly fee: $400/mo yr 1, $800/mo yr 2, $1,200/mo y…
Ad fund
$250/month (Brand Marketing Fund not yet established; may…

Ongoing fees · Item 6

CoolVu: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty (flat)$400/month year 1; $800/month year 2; $1,200/month year 3; $1,600/month years 4-10; begins 5th day of 3rd month after initial training
Technology fee$250
Transfer fee$8K
Renewal fee$5K

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typeper-transaction figures
Sample size79

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for CoolVu is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one CoolVu unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $68K–$107K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$20K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$103K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

Reported per transaction, not per outlet

Item 19 type
per-transaction figures
Sample size
79
vs category median 32 · large
Reporting year
2024
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2025
Disclosed in the 2025 filing, covering 2024
Transparency
3 / 10
vs category median 4 / 10 · below
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank14th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank
No comparison data
Unit count rank60th
vs Home Services peers
Risk score rank61th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 319 Home Services brands

Showing the headline figures — all 122 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports average invoice price per project rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Operator retention

System expanding at 174.4% CAGR over 3 years across 110 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Home Services medians

How CoolVu Compares

Metric
CoolVu
Category median
vs median
Investment
$88K
$168Kmiddle half $122K–$232K · n=283
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$587Kmiddle half $376K–$1.3M · n=79
N/A
Unit Count
110
47middle half 14–137 · n=283
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Home Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units110Verified — printed on page 44 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it one way.
3-yr growth+174.4% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
110
Opened
26
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
3
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
97%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+174.4%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+174.4%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
16
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
0.9%
Owners selling to other franchisees
2022
39
Franchised units
2023
81+42
Franchised units
2024
107+26
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 5 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 5 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

5 current owners across 5 states.

  • CA 1
  • FL 1
  • NC 1
  • NV 1
  • TX 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 74 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
16
Loan volume
$2.2M
Median loan
$150K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Limited · 16 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 16 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Limited · 16 loans
5-yr charge-off
Limited · 16 loans
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
2
Defaults
0
Typical loan rate
10.9%
avg rate to borrowers
vs industry
0.0%
NAICS 449122
Jobs supported
63
2.9 per loan
Lender concentration
88%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 100% went to startups / new businesses, 0% to established operators

Top lenders financing CoolVu franchisees

United Midwest Savings Bank National Association14 loans—
Zions Bank, A Division of2 loans—

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for CoolVu from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
0.0%
Avg SBA guarantee
85%
Avg interest rate
10.91%
Lender concentration
87.5%
Job velocity
2.9 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
0.0%
NAICS 449122
Jobs supported
63

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 88% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1United Midwest Savings Bank National Association14$1.9MN/A
2Zions Bank, A Division of2$270KN/A

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
FLFlorida30--
AZArizona20--
NCNorth Carolina20--
CACalifornia10--
CTConnecticut10--
IAIowa10--
IDIdaho10--
ILIllinois10--
MIMichigan10--
TNTennessee10--

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2023
6
2024
4
2025
6

Borrower profile

Startup16 (100%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offLimited · 16 loans
Verdict score50/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average50Verdict score 50/100

CoolVu shows growth momentum but represents a CAUTION-level risk due to absent net income disclosure, unclear profitability relative to investment size, and royalty structures that may exceed franchisee earnings.

High confidence±6 pts
4456

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Aprio, LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $2.4MYr 2: $0.9M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Audited statements of operations for fiscal years ended December 31, 2024 and 2023. Revenue is total revenue (single line). The franchisor has a stockholders' deficit and going-concern considerations were noted by the auditor.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 50 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNet income not disclosed in FDD Item 19 — impossible to validate ROI claims or compare to $68k-$107k investment
  2. 02MINORAverage revenue of $3,591.15 appears monthly but unverified; if annual, would indicate severe underperformance relative to investment
  3. 03MINORRoyalty structure ($400-$1,600/month) consumes 13-53% of stated average revenue, creating negative cash flow risk
  4. 04MINOR32% YoY unit growth is strong but insufficient to offset profitability opacity and high fee burden
  5. 05MINORTerritory protection is positive, but lack of net income disclosure prevents assessment of territorial value

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 122 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training41 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory population70,000
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ50 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationFulton County, Georgia
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawGA
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
35 hrs
On-the-job training
6 hrs
Training location
Marietta, GA, online or at other designated locations
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
16 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
CoolVuPRO
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: CoolVuPRO

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

79 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 79 contacts · $49
Free preview
608-621-••••
Unlock all 79 contacts
224-472-••••
864-908-••••
888-692-••••
702-852-••••NV

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a CoolVu franchise?

The total investment to open a CoolVu franchise ranges from $68K – $107K, with an initial franchise fee of $20K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do CoolVu franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the CoolVu FDD discloses figures for part of the system but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns CoolVu?

CoolVu is franchised by CoolVu Franchise Concepts, Inc.. Its parent company is FutureVu Brands, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the CoolVu FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the CoolVu FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is CoolVu's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for CoolVu (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many CoolVu franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, CoolVu has 110 total units in the United States, including 107 franchised units and 3 company-owned units. 26 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is CoolVu a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates CoolVu as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 50 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent CoolVu, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Home Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Home Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.