ComForCare Home Care Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026
- Investment
- $73K – $164K
- Disclosed sales
- $1.2M
- gross sales, not profit
- SBA charge-off
- 35.7%
- on 47 loans
Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records
Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology
ComForCare Home Care is an in-home care franchise providing non-medical personal care and companionship to seniors and recovering clients. Franchisees run an agency recruiting caregivers, scheduling visits, and managing client care in a territory.
FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026
A ComForCare Home Care franchise requires a total initial investment of $73K – $164K, including a $30K – $59K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. Per the 2024 FDD, average unit revenue was $1.2M[2]. SBA 7(a) loans show a 35.7% charge-off rate across 47 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →
Sources, dates and evidence
FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago
Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored8 of 8 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.
Overview
- Investment
- $73K – $164K
- 17th pct Senior Care
- Avg gross sales
- $1.2M
- Incl. company outlets23rd pct Senior Care
- Royalty
- 5.0%
- 5th pct Senior Care
- Units
- 229
- 85th pct Senior Care
- SBA charge-off
- 35.7%
- % of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category
Quick verdict · Senior Care · color = vs category peers
Green = favorable by >10% vs Senior Care median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)
Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology
Bottom line
- COSTTotal investment $73K – $164K including a $59K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
- RETURNSAverage unit revenue of $1.2M/year (median $754K) (includes company-owned outlets).
- RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 40/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 35.7% across 47 loans (well above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
- GROWTHPositive: net +10 franchised outlets in the latest year (22 opened, 6 closed); 36 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
Item 1 · who you're contracting with
The Franchisor
Corporate structure & franchisor financials
- Legal entity
- ComForCare Franchise Systems, LLC
- Parent company
- Best Life Brands, LLC
- FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2024 FDD
- Ultimate parent
- CFC Holding Company, LLC
- FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2024 FDD
- Predecessor
- ComForCare Health Care Holdings, Inc.
- Prior franchisor entity
- Incorporated in
- MI
- HQ
- 900 Wilshire Drive, Suite 102, Troy, MI 48084-1600
- Auditor
- RSM US LLP
- Audited financials
- Franchisor revenue
- $28.4M
- vs $25.0M prior year
Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 9
4 other brands on this site name CFC Holding Company, LLC as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.
Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2024 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.
Overview
About
- CEO
- J.J. Sorrenti
- Headquarters
- MI
- Founded
- 2000
- FDD year
- 2024
- States available
- 34
Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?
Entry cost runs 13% below the typical senior care franchise.
Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7
Full Item 7 breakdown14 line items
Initial investment breakdown
| Line item | Low | High | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee (Single Unit)not refundable | $30K | $59K | |
| Travel Expenses for Training (Single Unit)not refundable | $0 | $8K | |
| Real Estate & Related Expenses - 3 months (Single Unit)not refundable | $2K | $3K | |
| Office Equipment (Single Unit)not refundable | $2K | $7K | |
| Computer Systems - 3 Months (Single Unit)not refundable | $3K | $5K | |
| Signs (Single Unit)not refundable | $100 | $575 | |
| Miscellaneous Opening Costs (Single Unit)not refundable | $1K | $6K | |
| Licensing Fees (Single Unit)not refundable | $0 | $6K | |
| Accreditation Fees (Single Unit)not refundable | $0 | $10K | |
| Insurance - 3 months (Single Unit)not refundable | $2K | $4K | |
| Office Supplies (Single Unit)not refundable | $1K | $2K | |
| Local Marketing - 3 Months (Single Unit)not refundable | $6K | $6K | |
| Recruiting Expenses - 3 Months (Single Unit)not refundable | $2K | $2K | |
| Additional Funds - 3-6 Months (Single Unit)not refundable | $24K | $46K | |
| Total initial investment | $73K | $164K |
Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.
Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate
The Vitals
- Total investment
- $73K – $164K
- Top 40% of category vs category
- Liquid capital req'd
- $24K – $46K
- Middle of category vs category
- Franchise fee
- $30K – $59K
- Bottom third — review vs category
- Royalty
- 5.0%
- Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
- Ad fund
- 1.0%
- typical 3–5%
- Total fee load
- 6.0%
- vs 9–13% typical
Ongoing fees · Item 6
| Fee | Amount |
|---|---|
| Royalty | 5.0% of gross sales |
| Marketing / ad fund | 1.0% |
| Technology fee | $100 |
| Transfer fee | $10K |
| Renewal fee | $8K |
| Inventory (initial) | $1K – $2K |
| Total fee load | 6.0% of rev |
A 6.0% total fee load is unusually lean. More of each revenue dollar stays with the franchisee.
What do units actually make?
Average unit sales run 12% above the senior care norm.
Includes company-owned outlets
Source: FDD 2024 · Item 19
Single-unit · not modelled
Returns at a glance
An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit, and the operating costs that turn one into the other are in no filing. We publish no modelled return for ComForCare Home Care until someone supplies them — yours, in the models below.
—
Not modelled yet
An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.
Total invested capital · disclosed
$153K
Item 7 initial investment plus working capital, as filed — the one figure here that needs no assumption.
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
What one unit earns on your invested capital
Model A · Single-Unit Return
Computes unlevered return on invested capital (ROIC) for a single franchise unit, read against the 30–60% reference band · Yale SOM, Post-MBA Path Exhibit 2 (2023). Below that band a passive index fund likely outperforms; above it the franchisor has pricing power you're subsidizing.
Note: Item 19 revenue is what the franchisor discloses, and it is the top line only — gross sales are not profit. No FDD discloses the operating costs that turn one into the other, so those fields start empty and nothing is modelled until you supply them from your own lease quote, labor market and build-out budget.
Returns model · single-unit ROIC
What would one ComForCare Home Care unit return on the cash you put in?
Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.
Unlevered ROIC · per unit
Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.
—
An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.
What 25 units return when you use SBA financing
Model B · Return on Equity: Debt-Financed Acquisition
Models a 25-unit portfolio acquisition financed with an SBA 7(a) loan. Shows equity IRR (your return on cash invested), DSCR (how safely the cash flow covers debt service), and the capital stack (SBA + seller + equity breakdown).
This is the “search fund” or “entrepreneurship through acquisition” scenario: you buy an existing multi-unit operator, use leverage to amplify returns, and either operate or hire management. The 25-unit size is the typical minimum for an SBA-backed franchise portfolio acquisition to pencil as a full-time income.
What “return on equity” means here: if you put in $500K of your own cash and the business generates enough EBITDA to pay down debt and grow, your equity IRR is the annual return on that $500K, including the value created when you eventually sell. Target IRR for a search fund is typically 25–35%.
Not modelled yet
An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.
A 25-unit return is built on a per-unit EBITDA. Fill in the operating costs in Model A above and this model runs on that figure, or take the whole scenario to the full ROI workbench, where the portfolio and LBO models accept your own per-unit economics directly.
These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.
Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD
Financial Performance
Includes company-owned outlets
- Avg gross sales
- $1.2M
- Per unit, per year
- Median gross sales
- $754K
Gross sales are revenue before expenses — not profit. Actual owner earnings depend on rent, labor, royalties, marketing fees, and debt service.
- Item 19 type
- gross sales by tenure cohort
- Sample size
- 190 territories
- vs category median 22 · large
- Range (low → high)
- $8K→$18.4MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 66 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
- Cohort dispersion (min → max)
- Reporting year
- 2023
- Fiscal year the figures cover
- Source filing
- FDD 2024
- Disclosed in the 2024 filing, covering 2023
- Transparency
- 4 / 10
- vs category median 4 / 10 · typical
Compared against 79 Senior Care brands
Revenue is 10.1x the investment midpoint. At typical franchise margins, this suggests a payback under 3 years.
Operator outlook
What the numbers say
Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.
Unit economics
Average unit generates $1.2M/year in gross sales. Median is $754K — top performers pull the average up, so a typical unit earns less. Revenue-to-investment ratio: 10.1x. Includes company-owned outlets.
Fee burden
Total ongoing fee load of 6.0% (near the Senior Care median).
Disclosure
Transparency score 4/10 — this franchisor discloses detailed breakdowns (quartiles, segments, or cohort data). Buyers can model unit economics with higher confidence.
Operator retention
System expanding at 7.5% CAGR over 3 years across 229 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.
Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.
vs Senior Care medians
How ComForCare Home Care Compares
Category median of published Senior Care brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.
Is the system healthy?
Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20
Unit growth
Item 20 · unit dynamics
The Growth Chart
- Total units
- 229
- Opened
- 22
- Last reporting year
- Closed
- 6
- Terminated
- 1
- Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
- Non-renewed
- 2
- Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
- Turnover rate
- 3.9%
- Company-owned
- 1
- Corporate units in the system
- % franchised
- 100%
- vs corporate-owned
- Net growth (3-yr)
- +7.5%
- Net unit change over 3 years
- 3-yr CAGR
- +7.5%
- Compounded over last 3 years
Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers
- Terminated
- 1
- Not renewed
- 2
- Transferred
- 12
- Reacquired
- 1
- Franchisor bought back
- Signed, not yet open
- 36
- 0.16 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
- Projected new
- 24
- Franchisor's next-year forecast
- Termination rate
- 10.0%
- Franchisor-initiated terminations
- Ceased ops
- 70.0%
- Units that stopped operating
Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.
Item 20 · 21 states with active franchisees
The Territory Map
Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).
States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.
Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list
99 current owners across 21 states.
- CA 17
- MI 16
- FL 10
- NJ 10
- IL 6
- CO 5
- MA 5
- MD 5
- AZ 4
- CT 4
- GA 3
- IN 3
- +9 more states
Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.
SBA loan performance
Government records
SBA Loan Data
Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.
- Total loans
- 47
- Loan volume
- $15.1M
- Median loan
- $150K
- 50th percentile
- Charge-off rate
- 35.7%
- on 47 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology
Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated
- Repayment rate (PIF)
- 64.3%
- 5-yr charge-off
- 16.7%
- Loans approved 2021+
- Active lenders
- 15
- Defaults
- 5
- Typical loan rate
- 8.4%
- avg rate to borrowers
- Franchised industry avg
- 7.5%
- brand above franchise avg ↑
- Jobs supported
- 1,028
- 6.8 per loan
- Lender concentration
- 26%
- top lender's share
Borrower mix: 62% went to startups / new businesses, 38% to established operators
Franchise vs independent — in home health care services, franchised businesses charge off at 7.5% vs 11.5% for independents — franchising is associated with 35% lower SBA default risk in this category.
Top lenders financing ComForCare Home Care franchisees
Showing 3 of 15 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.
Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.
Lender network · 7(a) + 504
SBA Lending Report
Full lending analysis for ComForCare Home Care from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.
- Principal loss rate
- 3.9%
- Avg SBA guarantee
- 75%
- Avg interest rate
- 8.41%
- Avg chargeoff amount
- $118K
- Lender concentration
- 25.5%
- Job velocity
- 6.8 per $100K
- NAICS benchmark
- 5.7%
- NAICS 621610
- Jobs supported
- 1,028
Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 26% of loans
| # | Lender | Loans | Volume | Default % |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | United Midwest Savings Bank National Association | 12 | $1.8M | 60.0% |
| 2 | The Huntington National Bank | 8 | $1.5M | 0.0% |
| 3 | Live Oak Banking Company | 7 | $3.4M | N/A |
| 4 | Stearns Bank National Association | 4 | $1.1M | 33.3% |
| 5 | CIBC Bank USA | 4 | $2.8M | N/A |
| 6 | ChoiceOne Bank | 2 | $165K | 0.0% |
| 7 | First Bank of the Lake | 2 | $932K | 0.0% |
| 8 | Celtic Bank Corporation | 1 | $150K | 100.0% |
| 9 | Wells Fargo Bank National Association | 1 | $830K | N/A |
| 10 | South Eastern Economic Development Corporation | 1 | $100K | N/A |
Geographic failure vector
| State | Loans | Defaults | Rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| MIMichigan | 10 | 1 | 16.7% |
| CACalifornia | 5 | 2 | 100.0% |
| ILIllinois | 5 | 0 | 0.0% |
| TXTexas | 5 | 0 | -- |
| FLFlorida | 3 | 1 | 50.0% |
| VAVirginia | 3 | 0 | -- |
| AZArizona | 2 | 0 | -- |
| MDMaryland | 2 | 0 | 0.0% |
| NVNevada | 2 | 0 | -- |
| PAPennsylvania | 2 | 0 | -- |
SBA 7(a) lending trend
Borrower profile
Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict
A 35.7% charge-off rate means roughly 1 in 3 franchisees failed to repay their SBA loan. Investigate what changed.
What could kill this investment?
SBA loans charge off at 35.7% — 123% above the 16.0% national norm, i.e. higher lender-observed risk.
Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21
Risk analysis
FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21
Risk & Legal
ComForCare presents elevated risk due to active multi-jurisdictional litigation, absence of earnings disclosure, anemic growth, and wage compliance concerns endemic to the home care business model.
Litigation (Item 3)
Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).
1 defendant case (Podolak wage class action, damages >$35K); 2 plaintiff cases (Platinum Care and Dahlia Home Care for unpaid fees); 1 administrative action (Maryland 2010 consent order re: unregistered franchise sales). Additional affiliate litigation disclosed separately.
Largest disclosed settlement: $2,500
Bankruptcy (Item 4)
None disclosed
Audited financials (Item 21)
Yes · RSM US LLP
Franchisor revenue (Item 21)
Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)
Audited consolidated financial statements of CFC Holding Company, LLC and Subsidiaries (parent of parent Best Life Brands, LLC), FY ended December 31, 2023. CFC Holding guarantees the franchisor's performance. Total revenues include franchise fees, franchise royalties, national advertising fund revenue, marketing fees, technology fees, patient service revenue, and other revenue.
ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.
Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16
- Franchisor sells you products: Yes
- Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
- Must buy proprietary products: No
- Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
- Can negotiate own supplier terms: No
Score breakdown · what drove the 40 / 100 verdict
- 01HIGHMultiple active litigation cases including FTC complaint, wage violation class action, and state regulatory non-compliance—suggests systemic operational or compliance issues
- 02MEDNo disclosed average net income (Item 19) despite $1.19M average revenue—inability or unwillingness to share profitability raises earnings claim transparency concerns
- 03MINORSlow unit growth of 4.6% YoY with 229 units is anemic for home care franchise sector—suggests market saturation, franchisee struggle, or brand stagnation
- 04MEDHigh initial investment ($59K franchise fee + up to $163.9K total) paired with undisclosed net income creates unfavorable risk-reward ratio
- 05MINORWage violation class action in home care sector is particularly damaging—home care is labor-intensive; wage liability directly impacts franchisee profitability and legal exposure
Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification
Litigation case detail8 matters · Item 3
Litigation cases
The franchisor
Pending (1)
Deborah Podolak v. ComForCare Health Care Holdings, Inc, et. al.
pendingThird-party plaintiff · In the Court of Common Pleas, Allegheny County, Pennsylvania Civil Division · GD-19-2022
“Case No. GD-19-2022; In the Court of Common Pleas, Allegheny County, Pennsylvania Civil Division The plaintiff alleges a violation of Pennsylvania Wage Payment as well as the Pennsylvania Minimum Wage Act in a class action against one of ComForCare’s independently owned and operated franchisees and included ComForCare (the Franchisor) as a defendant under a vicarious liability theory.”Page 17 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3
Concluded (1)
Administrative Proceeding before the Securities Commissioner of Maryland: Case No. 2010-0082
concludedGovernment or regulatory action · Securities Commissioner of Maryland · 2010-0082
“Administrative Proceeding before the Securities Commissioner of Maryland: Case No. 2010-0082 In 2007, ComForCare filed a franchise renewal application in Maryland that was effectuated December 10, 2007, and subsequently, in 2008, filed an amendment application that was effectuated October 7, 2008.”Page 17 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3
Outcome:“On April 15, 2010, ComForCare and the Maryland Securities Commissioner, reached an agreement to enter a Consent Order pursuant to which ComForCare agreed to cease and desist from offering or selling franchises in violation of Maryland Franchise Law and agreed to offer rescission to the three Maryland franchises. One franchisee elected to rescind.”
Status not stated in the filing (2)
ComForCare Franchise Systems, LLC v. Dahlia Home Care, Inc., et. al.
Brought against a franchisee · filed 2024 · Superior Court of the State of California, County of Fresno · 24CECG00550
“Case No. 24CECG00550; Superior Court of the State of California, County of Fresno On or about February 7, 2024, ComForCare filed suit against Defendant for failing to timely pay fees owed under its Franchise Agreement, failing to provide access to its books and records, and breaching the confidentiality terms of the Franchise Agreement as well as the Confidentiality Agreement.”Page 17 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3
ComForCare Franchise Systems, LLC v. Platinum Care, Inc. d/b/a ComForCare Home Care - Chester South, et. al.
Brought against a franchisee · filed 2023 · State of Michigan Circuit Court for the County of Oakland · 2023-203856
“Case No. 2023-203856; State of Michigan Circuit Court for the County of Oakland On or about November 15, 2023, ComForCare filed suit against Defendant for failing to timely pay fees owed under its Franchise Agreement. On or about March 14, 2024, Defendant filed a counterclaim claiming that ComForCare was in breach of contract and is seeking damages in excess of $75,000.”Page 17 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3
Parent, affiliates and predecessor
Concluded (3)
Vezeto Enterprises, Inc., et. al., v. Blue Moon Franchise Systems, LLC
settledBrought by a franchisee · Blue Moon Franchise Systems, LLC (a Common Controlled Affiliate) · filed 2023 · In the Court of Common Pleas, Franklin County, Ohio · 23CV-008200
“Vezeto Enterprises, Inc., et. al., v. Blue Moon Franchise Systems, LLC, Case No. 23CV-008200; In the Court of Common Pleas, Franklin County, Ohio On or about November 20, 2023. Blue Moon noticed Plaintiff that it was in material default of its Franchise Agreement because it had failed to make timely royalty payments and had apparently ceased operations without notice.”Page 17 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3
Outcome:“about January 16, 2024 the parties agreed to settle the matter and release Plaintiff from the Franchise Agreement in exchange for Plaintiff paying its past due balances of $2,500.” (page 18)
Administrative Proceeding before the State of Minnesota Department of Commerce: 70650-BD
concludedGovernment or regulatory action · the predecessor franchisor to the Common Controlled Affiliate Next Day Access, LLC · filed 2022 · State of Minnesota Department of Commerce · 70650-BD
“Administrative Proceeding before the State of Minnesota Department of Commerce: 70650-BD On February 11, 2022, the predecessor franchisor to our Common Controlled Affiliate, Next Day Access, LLC, consented to the entry of a Consent Order by the State of Minnesota Department of Commerce based upon the allegation that it sold two unregistered franchises in violation of Minn.”Page 18 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3
Outcome:“In that Consent Order, Next Day agreed to pay a civil penalty of $1,000 to the State of Minnesota and $180 in investigative cost”
Federal Trade Commission Docket No C-4379
concludedGovernment or regulatory action · CAREPATROL, Inc., the predecessor franchisor to the Common Controlled Affiliate CarePatrol Franchise Systems, LLC · filed 2012-12-03 · Federal Trade Commission (administrative) · C-4379
“Federal Trade Commission Docket No C-4379 On December 3, 2012, the Federal Trade Commission (“FTC”) issued an administrative complaint against CAREPATROL, Inc. (which is not an existing entity but was incorrectly named), the predecessor franchisor to our Common Controlled Affiliate, CarePatrol Franchise Systems, LLC, alleging issues with certain wording on CarePatrol”Page 18 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3
Outcome:“The FTC sought to have CarePatrol change the website. In compliance, CarePatrol modified the wording on its website pursuant to FTC instructions. No consumer was involved nor made any complaint. There was no fine or penalty imposed.”
Status not stated in the filing (1)
Blue Moon Franchise Systems, LLC v. Dawn and Mark Martin
Brought against a franchisee · Blue Moon Franchise Systems, LLC (a Common Controlled Affiliate) · filed 2024 · State of Michigan; Circuit Court for The County of Oakland · 2024-205720-CB
“Blue Moon Franchise Systems, LLC v. Dawn and Mark Martin, Case No. 2024-205720-CB; State of Michigan; Circuit Court for The County of Oakland On or about February 16, 2024, Blue Moon filed suit against Defendant for failing to pay its initial franchise fee and abandoning the business in breach of the Franchise Agreement.”Page 18 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3
Item 3 lists the litigation the franchisor must disclose; a matter against a parent, an affiliate or a named officer is not a matter against the franchisor, and pending claims are allegations, not findings.
What are you signing up for?
Ongoing fees run about 6.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.
Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17
FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal
Contract & Territory Detail
| Initial term | 10 years |
|---|---|
| Renewal term | 10 years |
| Allowed renewalsℹ | 1 |
| Territory type | Protected territory |
| Protected territory | Yes |
| Exclusive territoryℹ | No |
| Territory population | 35,000 |
| Online sales rightsℹ | Restricted |
| Franchisor can compete | Yes |
| Hire a manager? | Not allowed |
| Owner-operator | Required |
| Non-compete (years)ℹ | 2 years |
| Non-compete (miles)ℹ | 75 mi |
| Right of first refusalℹ | Yes |
| Transfer requires consent | Yes |
| Termination notice | 30 days |
| Termination groundsℹ | 5 |
| Curable defaultsℹ | 6 |
| Mandatory arbitration | No |
| Arbitration location | Michigan |
| Jury trial waiver | No |
| Governing law | MI |
| Litigation count | 8 |
View Item 3 litigation summary
1 defendant case (Podolak wage class action, damages >$35K); 2 plaintiff cases (Platinum Care and Dahlia Home Care for unpaid fees); 1 administrative action (Maryland 2010 consent order re: unregistered franchise sales). Additional affiliate litigation disclosed separately.
Items 10, 11
Training & Operations
- Classroom training
- 53 hrs
- On-the-job training
- 51 hrs
- Training location
- Phase 1 & 3: franchisee's location/territory; Phase 2: Corporate Headquarters, Troy, Michigan (or virtual); Phase 4: franchisee's location
- Ongoing training
- Required
- Field support
- 34 hrs/yr
- On-site visits per year
- Time to open
- 3 mo
- From signing to launch
- Site selection
- Franchisee selects; franchisor provides input/recommendations but does not select or approve location unless outside Protected Territory
- Franchisor financing
- Offered
- Item 10
- POS system
- SwyftOps (client management software)
- Operating tech stack
Items 5 & 11
Franchisor Support
Technology: SwyftOps (client management software)
Item 20 · call current owners
Franchisee Contacts
99 owners to call
Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20
Frequently asked questions
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does it cost to open a ComForCare Home Care franchise?
The total investment to open a ComForCare Home Care franchise ranges from $73K – $164K, with an initial franchise fee of $59K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).
What do ComForCare Home Care franchise owners earn?
According to Item 19 of the ComForCare Home Care FDD, the average gross sales per unit is $1.2M. The median is $754K. Important context: Includes company-owned outlets. Note: this is gross revenue, not profit. Actual owner earnings vary based on location, operating costs, and management.
Who owns ComForCare Home Care?
ComForCare Home Care is franchised by ComForCare Franchise Systems, LLC. Its parent company is Best Life Brands, LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is CFC Holding Company, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.
What is Item 19 in the ComForCare Home Care FDD?
The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the ComForCare Home Care FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.
What is ComForCare Home Care's franchise failure rate?
Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, ComForCare Home Care has a charge-off rate of 35.7% across 47 loans, meaning 35.7% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.
How many ComForCare Home Care franchise locations are there?
As of their most recent FDD filing, ComForCare Home Care has 229 total units in the United States, including 228 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 22 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.
Is ComForCare Home Care a good franchise to buy?
FranchiseVerdict rates ComForCare Home Care as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 40 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.
Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.
For franchisors
Are you the franchisor?
If you represent ComForCare Home Care, you can request corrections or provide updated information.
Other Senior Care franchises
Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Senior Care category
Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.