Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Chuck Lager Restaurant logo

Chuck Lager Restaurant Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsNJFranchising since 2019
CAverageAverage45/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$1.1M – $3.9M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00536Data QualityExcellent81%FDD 2023 · 3yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2023 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Chuck Lager Restaurant is a casual-dining franchise serving American comfort food with a craft beer focus. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing the kitchen, bar, and dining service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Chuck Lager Restaurant franchise requires a total initial investment of $1.1M – $3.9M, including a $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.5% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$1.1M – $3.9M
33rd pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.5%
23rd pct Service Resta…
Units
4
6th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$1.1M – $3.9M
Median $678K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$50K – $50K
Median $40K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$50K – $100K
Median $43K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.5%
Median 5.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
7.5% of rev
Median 7.0%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10
System Size
4 units
Median 20 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $1.1M – $3.9M including a $50K franchise fee, 5.5% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 45/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed); 2 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Chuck Lager's Franchising, LLC
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder
Craig W. Colby
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
26 Easton Way, Hainesport, New Jersey 08036
Auditor
Haynie CPAs & Management Consultants
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$202K
Most recent fiscal year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Craig W. Colby
Headquarters
NJ
Founded
2016
FDD year
2023
States available
4

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 269% above the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$1.1M – $3.9MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 24 of the 2023 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Verified — printed on page 14 of the 2023 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty5.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2023 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2023 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$50K – $100K

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2023 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Chuck Lager Restaurant: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$50K$50K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$50K$100K
Equipment, build-out, other$955K$3.8M
Total initial investment$1.1M$3.9M

Source: Chuck Lager Restaurant 2023 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$1.1M – $3.9M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$50K – $100K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.5%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Chuck Lager Restaurant: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.5% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$0
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$25K
Inventory (initial)$25K – $100K
Total fee load7.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Chuck Lager Restaurant makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Chuck Lager Restaurant unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $1.1M–$3.9M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $50K–$100K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$2.6M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2023 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 135 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.5% (near the Full-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

Net unit growth of +100.0% over 3 years (0 opened, 0 closed).

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How Chuck Lager Restaurant Compares

Metric
Chuck Lager Restaurant
Category median
vs median
Investment
$2.5M
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
4
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units4Verified — printed on page 62 of the 2023 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+100.0% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2023 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
4
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
3
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
25%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+100.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+0.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Signed, not yet open
2
0.50 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
5
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2020
1
Franchised units
2021
1±0
Franchised units
2022
1±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 4 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 4 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

5 current owners across 4 states.

  • DE 2
  • CO 1
  • MA 1
  • TX 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 1 7(a) loan on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$1.6M
Median loan
$1.6M
average
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (1)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
0
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (1)
Verdict score45/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage45Verdict score 45/100
Low confidence±14 pts
3159

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Haynie CPAs & Management Consultants

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.2M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 45 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOROnly 4 units system-wide indicates minimal scale, network support, and supply chain leverage
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 (Average Unit Volume) disclosure prevents ROI validation and profitability assessment
  3. 03MINORWide investment range ($1.05M–$3.95M) lacks transparency on what drives 276% cost variance
  4. 04MEDNo disclosed average net income makes it impossible to calculate payback period or break-even timeline
  5. 05MINORMicro-franchise system (4 units) creates high risk of system collapse if even one unit fails
  6. 06MEDUnknown unit growth trajectory signals either stagnation or undisclosed closures
  7. 07MINOR15-year term locks franchisee into relationship with unstable franchisor for extended period

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 135 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term15 yrs
Renewal term15 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training430 hrs

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term15 years
Renewal term15 years
Allowed renewalsℹ3
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius2 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Not allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ6
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationAmerican Arbitration Association offices nearest to franchisor's principal place of business (Burlington County, New Jersey)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawNJ
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
1 hrs
On-the-job training
429 hrs
Training location
Wilmington, Delaware (company-owned Chuck Lager Restaurant)
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisee selects from within Designated Area; franchisor must approve site
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Toast
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Toast

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

5 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 5 contacts · $49
Free preview
(302) 547-••••DE
Unlock all 5 contacts
(214) 296-••••TX
(617) 448-••••MA
(302) 636-••••DE
(303) 501-••••CO

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Chuck Lager Restaurant franchise?

The total investment to open a Chuck Lager Restaurant franchise ranges from $1.1M – $3.9M, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Chuck Lager Restaurant franchise owners earn?

Chuck Lager Restaurant makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Chuck Lager Restaurant?

Chuck Lager Restaurant is franchised by Chuck Lager's Franchising, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2023 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Chuck Lager Restaurant FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Chuck Lager Restaurant FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Chuck Lager Restaurant's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Chuck Lager Restaurant (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Chuck Lager Restaurant franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Chuck Lager Restaurant has 4 total units in the United States, including 1 franchised units and 3 company-owned units.

Is Chuck Lager Restaurant a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Chuck Lager Restaurant as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 45 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Chuck Lager Restaurant, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.