Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict

Barrio Burrito Bar Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsVAFranchising since 2024
CAverageAverage41/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$432K – $773K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (5)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00246Data QualityStandard67%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Barrio Burrito Bar is a fast-casual franchise serving made-to-order burritos, bowls, and Mexican fare. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing food prep, staffing, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Barrio Burrito Bar franchise requires a total initial investment of $432K – $773K, including a $25K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2024. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: partial✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$432K – $773K
68th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
48th pct Service Resta…
Units
4
18th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$432K – $773K
Median $486K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$32K – $54K
Median $33K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
7.5% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (5)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 5 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
4 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $432K – $773K including a $25K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 41/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +2 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Sandhu Restaurant Group of Virginia LLC
Parent company
BurritoBar USA, Inc. (BBU)
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2024 FDD
Predecessor
Sandhu Restaurant Group of Maryland
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Manager and President
Surinder Singh Sandhu
Incorporated in
VA
HQ
9516-C Lee Highway, Fairfax, Virginia 22031
Auditor
Kezos & Dunlavy
Unaudited
Franchisor revenue
$103K
vs $27K prior year

Affiliated brands

  • BarBurrito Restaurants
  • BarNaan Franchising

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Surinder Singh Sandhu
Headquarters
VA
Founded
2024
FDD year
2024
States available
2

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 24% above the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$432K – $773KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2024 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$32K – $54K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown18 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$25K$25K
Leasehold Improvements$193K$281K
Pre-Opening Rent$12K$48K
Wages, Travel, and Living Expenses for You and Your Management Staff During Training$9K$12K
Furniture, Fixtures, Supplies, Decor, Inventory, and Equipment$98K$125K
Kiosk Ordering System$13K$20K
Design and Drawing Fee$5K$5K
Architectural, Engineering Fees$10K$14K
Signage$9K$23K
Point-of-Sale, Digital Loyalty and Coupon Programs, Online Ordering Applications, and Computer System$4K$4K
Security System and Telephone System$300$3K
General Licenses (excluding liquor licenses) and Permits$4K$10K
Liquor License$0$100K
Uniforms$1K$1K
Deposits and Miscellaneous Site Development Fees$10K$40K
Grand Opening$6K$8K
Pre-paid Insurance$1K$2K
Additional Funds - 3 Months$32K$54K
Total initial investment$432K$773K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$432K – $773K
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$32K – $54K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Barrio Burrito Bar: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.5% of gross sales
Transfer fee$13K
Renewal fee$13K
Total fee load7.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Barrio Burrito Bar makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Barrio Burrito Bar unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $432K–$773K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $32K–$54K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$645K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 144 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.5% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

Net unit growth of +100.0% over 3 years (0 opened, 0 closed).

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Barrio Burrito Bar Compares

Metric
Barrio Burrito Bar
Category median
vs median
Investment
$602K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
4
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units4Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 46 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth+100.0% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
4
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+100.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+100.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2021
2
Franchised units
2022
2±0
Franchised units
2023
4+2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 2 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

2

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 5 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
5
Loan volume
$1.4M
Median loan
$274K
average
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (5)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 5 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (5)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (5)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
0
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (5)
Verdict score41/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage41Verdict score 41/100

Extremely early-stage franchise with opaque financials, no franchisee performance data, franchisor stability concerns, and high capex relative to unverified revenue potential.

Moderate confidence±11 pts
3052

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

0 case reference(s): 0 pending, 0 settled.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

No audited financials on file

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.1MYr 2: $0.0MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 audited financial statements are those of the master franchisor, BurritoBar USA, Inc. (BBU), for fiscal years ended April 30, 2024/2023/2022. FY2024 total operating revenue $102,704 = royalty fees $62,987 + franchise fees $39,717 (other_revenue). The direct franchisor, Sandhu Restaurant Group of Virginia LLC (SRG), provided only an unaudited opening balance sheet dated 12/31/2024 (total assets $110,148, total liabilities $250, member's equity/total equity $109,898, YTD net income -$1,093.75, total revenue $15.89).

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 41 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNo Item 19 financial performance data disclosed — unable to verify claimed 100% YoY unit growth translates to profitability
  2. 02MINOROnly 4 units in system represents extremely small, unproven franchise model with minimal track record
  3. 03MEDHigh investment range ($431K–$773K) with no disclosed average revenue creates ROI uncertainty and payback risk
  4. 04MED6% royalty on undisclosed revenue makes it impossible to model actual net income or breakeven timeline
  5. 05MINOR100% YoY growth from 2 to 4 units is statistically unreliable — could indicate brand is pre-revenue or franchisor-owned units masking franchisee performance

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 144 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training120 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius1 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ3 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ2 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationFairfax County, Virginia
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawVA
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

0 case reference(s): 0 pending, 0 settled.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
32 hrs
On-the-job training
88 hrs
Training location
Barrio Burrito Bar Business in Virginia, or at another location designated by franchisor; pre-opening at franchisee's location
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
12 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee with franchisor approval required
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
our approved POS system
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: our approved POS system

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Barrio Burrito Bar franchise?

The total investment to open a Barrio Burrito Bar franchise ranges from $432K – $773K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Barrio Burrito Bar franchise owners earn?

Barrio Burrito Bar makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Barrio Burrito Bar?

Barrio Burrito Bar is franchised by Sandhu Restaurant Group of Virginia LLC. Its parent company is BurritoBar USA, Inc. (BBU). Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Barrio Burrito Bar FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Barrio Burrito Bar FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Barrio Burrito Bar's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Barrio Burrito Bar (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Barrio Burrito Bar franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Barrio Burrito Bar has 4 total units in the United States, including 4 franchised units and 0 company-owned units.

Is Barrio Burrito Bar a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Barrio Burrito Bar as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 41 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Barrio Burrito Bar, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.