Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
986 Pharmacy logo

986 Pharmacy Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

HealthcareCAFranchising since 2018
BAbove averageAbove average69/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$280K – $671K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Limited · 10 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00041FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%Pre-opening
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

986 Pharmacy is an independent community pharmacy franchise offering prescriptions, compounding, and vaccinations. Franchisees own and operate the pharmacies, managing pharmacists, dispensing, insurance billing, and compliance.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A 986 Pharmacy franchise requires a total initial investment of $280K – $671K, including a $75K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$280K – $671K
57th pct Healthcare
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Flat fee
Units
44
53rd pct Healthcare
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Healthcare · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$280K – $671K
Median $321K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$75K – $75K
Median $50K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$130K – $160K
Median $40K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 7.0%
Ongoing Fees
0.3% of rev
Median 8.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited · 10 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 10 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units
System Size
44 units
Median 23 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
2.6%
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
2 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Healthcare median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $280K – $671K including a $75K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 69/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +14 franchised outlets in the latest year (15 opened, 1 closed) (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 333.3% CAGR over 3 years with 44 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
986 Degrees Corporation
Predecessor
None
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Co-Founder, Chief Executive Officer, Director of Training, Director
Khanh-Long Thai
Incorporated in
California
HQ
2476 Huntington Dr., San Marino, CA 91108
Auditor
Mutschler Accountancy Corporation
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$3.5M
vs $1.5M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Khanh-Long Thai
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2014
FDD year
2025
States available
2

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 48% above the typical healthcare franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$280K – $671KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$75,000Verified — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
RoyaltyFlat fee
Ad fund0.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$130K – $160K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Item 7 total vs its own lines

The filing's Item 7 TOTAL row prints $279,700 to $671,000. Its own line items add to $319,700 to $696,000. The total is shown as the franchisor printed it; the lines are listed as printed. Single Item 7 table (heading on p15, rows pp16-17). Printed Total $279,700 to $671,000 = headline.

Full Item 7 breakdown13 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$75K$75K
Furniture Fixtures and Equipment$20K$120K
Tenant Improvements$15K$150K
Computer System$3K$12K
Rent deposit$0$20K
Insurance$2K$8K
Inventory$65K$110K
Professional License fee$1K$2K
Travel, Food and Lodging while attending training$2K$5K
Signage$1K$10K
Pre-opening Advertising$1K$10K
Professional Services$5K$15K
Additional Funds - First 3 months$130K$160K
Total initial investment$320K$696K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$280K – $671K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$130K – $160K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$75K – $75K
Bottom third — review vs category
Royalty
Continuing License Fee: $1,575/month for first 12 months,…
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
0.3%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

986 Pharmacy: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty (flat)Continuing License Fee, monthly flat fee escalating from $1,575 to $2,100 per month
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$2K
Inventory (initial)$65K – $110K
Total fee load0.3% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

986 Pharmacy makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one 986 Pharmacy unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $280K–$671K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $130K–$160K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$620K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 0.3% — below the Healthcare median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 333.3% CAGR over 3 years across 44 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Healthcare medians

How 986 Pharmacy Compares

Metric
986 Pharmacy
Category median
vs median
Investment
$475K
$321Kmiddle half $178K–$530K · n=133
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$676Kmiddle half $496K–$929K · n=48
N/A
Unit Count
44
23middle half 5–101 · n=132
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Healthcare brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units44Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 45 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growthOutlier (see FDD) (caution)
Turnover rate2.6% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
44
Opened
15
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Turnover rate
2.6%
Company-owned
5
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
Outlier (see FDD)
Likely small-sample artifact
3-yr CAGR
Outlier (see FDD)
Likely small-sample artifact

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
10
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
17
Franchised units
2023
25+8
Franchised units
2024
39+14
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 3 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 3 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

36 current owners across 3 states.

  • CA 32
  • NV 3
  • TX 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
10
Loan volume
$5.3M
Median loan
$350K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Limited · 10 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 10 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Limited · 10 loans
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
1
Defaults
0
Typical loan rate
6.4%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
6.7%
n=462 loans
Jobs supported
82
1.8 per loan
Lender concentration
100%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 22% went to startups / new businesses, 78% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in pharmacies and drug stores, franchised businesses charge off at 6.7% vs 6.7% for independents

Top lenders financing 986 Pharmacy franchisees

East West Bank9 loans0.0%

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$793K
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
23

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for 986 Pharmacy from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
0.0%
Avg SBA guarantee
77%
Avg interest rate
6.39%
Lender concentration
100.0%
Job velocity
1.8 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
5.7%
NAICS 446110
Jobs supported
82

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 100% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1East West Bank9$4.5M0.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
CACalifornia700.0%
NVNevada10--
TXTexas100.0%

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2018
1
2019
1
2020
3
2021
2
2022
1
2023
1

Borrower profile

Existing (2+ yr)4 (44%)
Ownership change2 (22%)
Startup2 (22%)
Unanswered1 (11%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offLimited · 10 loans
Verdict score69/100 (higher is better)
Litigation2 cases · none name the franchisor
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average69Verdict score 69/100

986 Pharmacy presents significant financial opacity and regulatory credibility issues, compounded by unprotected territories and escalating fees, making this a high-risk investment without disclosed performance benchmarks.

High confidence±6 pts
6375

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

Two Item-3 disclosures, both California State Board of Pharmacy disciplinary actions against current directors: (1) Quang Khanh Thai — 3-year probation of pharmacist license starting Jan 23, 2020 (Accusation No. 6373), since completed/reinstated; (2) Henry Hung Yat Chang — 5-year probation starting Dec 3, 2019 (Accusation No. 6176), since completed/reinstated.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Mutschler Accountancy Corporation

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $3.5MYr 2: $1.5MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 states audited financial statements for FYE Dec 31 2024/2023/2022 are attached as Exhibit E, but the actual audited statements (balance sheet, income statement, auditor name) are not present in the provided OCR text, so no figures could be extracted.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 69 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo financial disclosure (Item 19) — average revenue and net income not provided, making ROI impossible to validate
  2. 02MINORTwo senior directors (including likely owner/operator) had pharmacy license probation (2019-2020) — raises compliance and management credibility concerns
  3. 03MINORUnprotected territory — franchisees face direct competition from other 986 Pharmacy locations and independent pharmacies
  4. 04MEDHigh initial investment ($279K-$671K) with no disclosed profitability benchmarks to justify risk
  5. 05MINORRapid unit growth (56% YoY) with only 44 total units — suggests aggressive expansion without mature proven model
  6. 06MEDEscalating royalties ($1,650→$2,100/month, 27% increase) may compress already-undisclosed margins

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 0.3% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training125 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice14 days
Curable defaultsℹ7
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationLos Angeles, California
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawCalifornia
Litigation count2
View Item 3 litigation summary

Two Item-3 disclosures, both California State Board of Pharmacy disciplinary actions against current directors: (1) Quang Khanh Thai — 3-year probation of pharmacist license starting Jan 23, 2020 (Accusation No. 6373), since completed/reinstated; (2) Henry Hung Yat Chang — 5-year probation starting Dec 3, 2019 (Accusation No. 6176), since completed/reinstated.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
125 hrs
On-the-job training
80 hrs
Training location
Designated/affiliate pharmacies in the Los Angeles and El Monte, California area; may also be via teleconference
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
12 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Digital Rx
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Digital Rx

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

36 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 36 contacts · $49
Free preview
(626) 798-••••CA
Unlock all 36 contacts
(626) 337-••••CA
(626) 281-••••CA
(626) 850-••••CA
(562) 436-••••CA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a 986 Pharmacy franchise?

The total investment to open a 986 Pharmacy franchise ranges from $280K – $671K, with an initial franchise fee of $75K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do 986 Pharmacy franchise owners earn?

986 Pharmacy makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns 986 Pharmacy?

986 Pharmacy is franchised by 986 Degrees Corporation. The FDD names no parent company. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the 986 Pharmacy FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the 986 Pharmacy FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is 986 Pharmacy's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for 986 Pharmacy (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many 986 Pharmacy franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, 986 Pharmacy has 44 total units in the United States, including 39 franchised units and 5 company-owned units. 15 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is 986 Pharmacy a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates 986 Pharmacy as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 69 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent 986 Pharmacy, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Healthcare franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Healthcare category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.