Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
United Check Cashing logo
FV-02848FDD 2025Data Quality·Excellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

United Check Cashing Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Financial ServicesNJFranchising since 1991CEOPaul Del BorrelloWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

DBelow average28/100

United Check Cashing is a financial services franchise offering check cashing, prepaid cards, money orders, and bill pay. Franchisees run retail centers, managing transactions, cash handling, and compliance for underbanked customers.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A United Check Cashing franchise requires a total initial investment of $226K – $297K, including a $10K – $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 1.0% royalty[2]. The 2025 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. SBA 7(a) loans show a 25.0% charge-off rate across 46 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2025 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$226K – $297K
84th pct Financial Ser…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Projection
Royalty
1.0%
0th pct Financial Ser…
Units
48
41st pct Financial Ser…
SBA charge-off
25.0%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Financial Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$226K – $297K
Avg $123K
above avg ↑
Franchise Fee
$10K – $30K
Avg $39K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$15K – $25K
Avg $17K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Non-annual metric
Royalty Rate
1.0%
Avg 13.5%
Ongoing Fees
1.0% of rev
Avg 16.9%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
25.0%
Avg 11.1%
above avg ↑
System Size
48 units
Avg 673 units
Turnover Rate
8.3%
Avg 12.7%
Territory
Protected
Exclusive zone granted
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Financial Services avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $226K – $297K including a $30K franchise fee, 1.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 discloses "Actual Volume of Checks Cashed" (face amount of checks/instruments processed) for 39 franchised Centers in operation 24+ months for all of 2024, presented in quartiles across 10 rows each; this is transaction volume, not franchisee revenue or gross sales. Excludes electronic deposit, utility payment, phone card, and debit card revenue.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 28/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 25.0% across 46 loans (well above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -32.4% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
United Financial Services Group, Inc.
Predecessor
United Check Cashing Co., Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Paul Del Borrello
Incorporated in
Pennsylvania
HQ
Laurel Oak Corporate Center, Suite 302, 1010 Haddonfield - Berlin Road, Voorhees, New Jersey 08043
Auditor
CliftonLarsonAllen LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.3M
vs $1.4M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Paul Del Borrello
Headquarters
NJ
Founded
1991
FDD year
2025
States available
8

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 112% above the typical financial services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$226K – $297KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Verified — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty + ad fund1.0%
Working capital$15K – $25K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

United Check Cashing: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$30K$30K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$15K$25K
Equipment, build-out, other$181K$242K
Total initial investment$226K$297K

Source: United Check Cashing 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$226K – $297K
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$15K – $25K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$10K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
1.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
$1,000 annually
Total fee load
1.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

United Check Cashing: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty1.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$4K
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$10K
Total fee load1.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Item 19 typeActual Volume of Checks Ca…
Sample size39

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for United Check Cashing is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one United Check Cashing unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $226K–$297K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $15K–$25K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$282K
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

Item 19 discloses "Actual Volume of Checks Cashed" (face amount of checks/instruments processed) for 39 franchised Centers in operation 24+ months for all of 2024, presented in quartiles across 10 rows each; this is transaction volume, not franchisee revenue or gross sales. Excludes electronic deposit, utility payment, phone card, and debit card revenue.

Not a revenue figure

Item 19 type
Actual Volume of Checks Cashed
Sample size
39
vs category median 94 · small
Reporting year
2024
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2025
Disclosed in the 2025 filing, covering 2024
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank84th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank0th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank41th
vs Financial Services peers
Risk score rank98th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 45 Financial Services brands

Showing the headline figures — all 143 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 1.0% — below the Financial Services average of 16.9%.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports Actual Volume of Checks Cashed rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Operator retention

System contracting at -32.4% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Financial Services averages

How United Check Cashing Compares

Metric
United Check Cashing
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$262K
$123K
Revenue
N/A
$243K
Unit Count
48
673.368

Is the system healthy?

Total units48Verified — printed on page 46 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-32.4%
Turnover rate8.3%

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
48
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
4
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
8.3%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-32.4%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-32.4%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
0
Closed (3yr)
7
Terminated (3yr)
0
Non-renewed (3yr)
0
Transfers (3yr)
1
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
2022
64
Franchised units
2023
52-12
Franchised units
2024
48-4
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 8 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

8

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

F
SBA Lending Health
Weak SBA lending record · 25.0% charge-off
Total loans
46
Loan volume
$8.0M
Median loan
$130K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
25.0%
rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
75.0%
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
12
Defaults
8
Typical loan rate
9.5%
avg rate to borrowers
vs industry
N/A
NAICS 522390
Jobs supported
20
1.2 per loan
Lender concentration
50%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 0% went to startups / new businesses, 100% to established operators

Top lenders financing United Check Cashing franchisees

Brookline Bank, a Division of Beacon Bank and Trust2 loans
Live Oak Banking Company2 loans

Showing 3 of 12 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into United Check Cashing's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 2 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 2 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
  • 2-year lending trend
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

Lending insight

A 25.0% charge-off rate means roughly 1 in 4 franchisees failed to repay their SBA loan. Investigate what changed.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 25.0% — 56% above the 16.0% national norm, i.e. higher lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off25.0%
Verdict score28/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average28Verdict score 28/100
High confidence±3 pts
7581

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · CliftonLarsonAllen LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.3MYr 2: $1.4MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 28 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNegative net worth: -$32,855
  2. 02HIGHLitigation alleging civil conspiracy and conversion
  3. 03MINORSystem contraction: net growth -32.4%
  4. 04MINORfinancial_distress=true

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 143 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 1.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term15 yrs
Renewal term15 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training40 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term15 years
Renewal term15 years
Allowed renewals1
Territory typeRadius
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryNo
Territory radius1.5 mi
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)2 years
Non-compete (miles)15 mi
Right of first refusalYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice7 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationAmerican Arbitration Association, Voorhees, New Jersey (mediation, at franchisor's option, before litigation)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawNew Jersey
Litigation count1

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
40 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisee with optional franchisor assistance; franchisor must approve site
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Tellermetrix or Cashwise
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: Tellermetrix or Cashwise

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

58 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 58 contacts · $49
Free preview
(215) 765-••••
Unlock all 58 contacts
202-719-••••
(610) 543-••••
(215) 739-••••
(215) 755-••••

FDD download

United Check Cashing · FDD (2025) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a United Check Cashing franchise?

The total investment to open a United Check Cashing franchise ranges from $226K – $297K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do United Check Cashing franchise owners earn?

No average owner earnings figure for United Check Cashing is on file. Item 19 — where a franchisor may disclose what its outlets earn — is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and we have not established what this brand's FDD says. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the United Check Cashing FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the United Check Cashing FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is United Check Cashing's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, United Check Cashing has a charge-off rate of 25.0% across 46 loans, meaning 25.0% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many United Check Cashing franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, United Check Cashing has 48 total units in the United States, including 48 franchised units and 0 company-owned units.

Is United Check Cashing a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates United Check Cashing as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 28 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent United Check Cashing, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Financial Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Financial Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.